We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, don't believe the recent negative reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jade Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, don't believe the recent negative reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at Jade Mountain for 7 nights at the beginning of December. Pre-arrival was a little frustrating because it took multiple emails to the hotel before they would respond to requests such as the arrangement of airport transfers. Everything after that was excellent. I booked a Star Sanctuary but was upgraded to a Sun Sanctuary, specifically room JA1. The room was spectacular. It had a view of the Pitons to the left and the bay to the right. Being a lower level room, the sunsets over the bay were partially obstructed. However, the advantage of sanctuary JA1 was that the toilet was in a separate room whereas it was out in the open in the other sanctuaries. All of the infinity pools in the sanctuaries are different. Ours was a perfect circle and medium sized and simply beautiful. The water was a tad cold but not prohibitive for a swim. The sun deck to the left of the pool had a couple of loungers which would catch the sun for most of the day. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub and a shower with full body jets. Molton Brown bathroom amenities were nice. Each day a complimentary bento box of snacks is brought to your sanctuary. Housekeeping was OK, although they tend to do their turndown fairly early and should learn to coordinate it with your dinner reservation time. The bed was comfortable and underneath a ceiling fan which provided a nice breeze at night given that there is no air conditioning in the sanctuary. This is, of course, because the sanctuary is open to the environment. You will wake up to the sunrise and the sounds of birds chirping. If you are adverse to that, they provide eye masks and ear plugs in the sanctuary. If it's too dark for you at night, they have little reading lights that you can clip onto your book. Also, if you are prone to mosquito bites you will probably be bitten a few times so use the mosquito repellent coils that they provide and bring your own DEET spray. WiFi in the room was spotty and needs improvement. Certain areas of the sanctuary had a better signal and it was on the sun deck by the open wall in ours. Breakfast was delivered to our sanctuary by calling our butler and we had dinner at the Jade Mountain Club every night. The food was pretty good, especially for a Caribbean resort, but the menu selections were a bit limited. You can, however, head over to the restaurants at Anse Chastenet for more variety and less expensive options. I would suggest getting a meal plan and at the very least their MAP plan (breakfast and dinner) if not their all-inclusive. Dinner alone at Jade Mountain Club would average $250 for 2 people with a couple of glasses of wine. Anse Chastenet is their sister hotel and also where the beach is located. It is a 5 minute walk down but to get back up, use the cell phone they provide to call your butler for a shuttle. The beach service was great and you simply had to put a flag up if you wanted to order food or drinks. Fruit, popsicles, cold towels and misting sprays were brought around every once in a while. When one of the beach attendants, Abo, saw that the sand under our beach hut was too high, he spent an hour and a half in the hot sun digging out the sand. The second beach, Anse Mamin, was another 5-10 minute walk away or you could also get there by a scheduled shuttle boat. This beach was quieter and home to the world's best burger (overrated.) The spa was average and the treatment rooms are pretty mundane and a definite step down from the sanctuaries. Some of the recent criticism of Jade Mountain, in particular by ChelseaMom33 and rick e, are simply not true. First of all, contrary to the suspicions of ChelseaMom33, I have stayed at numerous 5 star hotels and even at the 7 star Burj Al-Arab, in addition to many other hotels with personal butlers and in-room infinity pools. Your assertion that Anse Chastenet is 10% of the cost of Jade Mountain is just not true and furthermore, Anse Chastenet is consistently ranked as one of the top hotels in the Caribbean and the world. So the service provided by the Anse Chastenet staff was not really inferior. In fact, the "Anse Chastenet" beach attendants were some of the hardest working and most pleasant staff on the resort. Also, the sand on the beach is not "coal black." If you want to see coal black sand then google Wai'anapanapa beach in Maui. I did not find the butlers intrusive nor did they make any unsolicited calls just to check on me. The cell phone they provided was a great way to get a hold of your butler at any time in case you needed anything. The checkin process did not involve having to "fill in 20 min worth of forms." There was a standard name and address form that was already mostly pre-filled and a couple of waivers that required a signature, promising not to do stuff like dive into your infinity pool. This was done in your sanctuary, on your couch while sipping your welcome drink so I don't consider this too much of a hardship. Sure, if you ordered food or drinks you had to sign a bill with your name and room number but that is hardly a "form." The drive to and from the airport (UVF) was not over an hour. The last section of road was pretty rough but the cab drivers seem to take it very slow and in my case, almost too slow. Lastly, a 10% service charge is included with your room charge. This is supposed to be distributed to all of the staff so it did NOT feel like that "everyone has their hands out for a tip." Case in point: At most hotels, if you order room service, they will add in a service charge AND provide a line for you to leave an additional gratuity. At Jade Mountain, there is no such gratuity line on the bill. All in all, Jade Mountain is a unique and beautiful hotel. The sanctuaries are perfect for a relaxing vacation and my only regret is that I only stayed for a week.

Room Tip: Sun Sanctuary JA1 is on a lower level but has a toilet in a separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zoltrix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    94
    23
    20
    6
See reviews for
27
763
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Anyone who writes a negative review about Jade Mountain should have their head checked. This place is something removed from another world. Truly magnificent and awe-astoundingly brilliant!!

We are staying in the low level room - the Star Infinity- and it is still the most grand room and view any person will ever experience in their lifetime. The infinity pool is superb and the view of the Piton Mountains is breath taking. Their food maybe some of the best I've ever eaten and I hail from NYC. Everywhere you look and walk you are taken back by its beauty and remarkable design elements. The only negative would be the mosquitoes at night but yet again, you sleep in a netted bed. The beach is also perfect in so many ways. People who complain in any fashion are either mentally ill or just miserable my nature. Trust me, if you can afford it GO! Jade Mountain is a must for all honeymooners to St Lucia!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Abattista612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

On September 27, 2013 my wife and I married at the beautiful Jade mountain resort. Not to our surprise everything was absolutely perfect, and our every need tended too. We had a small wedding including 10 of our closest friends (all of which are quite high maintenance), and the Jade mountain staff did a wonderful job as our host & catering to our every need.
The beauty of Jade mountain and its surroundings is something that's simply unmatched. My wife and I have traveled extensively, and nowhere have we experienced a room as marvelous as our Jade mountain sanctuary. The beauty, peacefulness, and tranquility of a jade mountain sanctuary is something that should be experienced at least once in your life.
In regards to the staff, what can I say, they lived up to every expectation. First and foremost, Edmond and Angel were the best. They took care of every concern we had, and they handled every request with a smile. Such gracious and eloquent hosts. We love them!
The major domos were always timely, pleasant, and eager to make your day better than the last. What can I say, true professionals.
I could go on for hours about the beauty and perfection of Jade mountain, but its truly a place words cannot justify. Please experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Every room is great in Jade. We had no issues with mosquito's or the night sounds. It was a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Jade Mountain for 2 nights following a 3 night stay in Anse Chastanet's 9A beachside deluxe room. At Jade we were in room JE2. The Jade Mountain room was an AMAZING experience in itself and I am so glad we did not miss out on this opportunity! I wish everyone could experience this once in their lifetime!
Jade Mountain is expensive but honestly one night at Jade Mountain provides the relaxation and rejuvenation of at least 3 nights at any other 5 star luxury resort. The architecture at Jade Mountain is innovative, visually stimulating and soothing to the soul.
With our own pool, bath, and open aired view of the pitons we really did not want to leave the room and we are usully the go,go,go types. Waking up in the morning to the open aired view of the pitons is unbelievable and you feel so special when there is no other hotels in the vista point between you and the pitons. Jade Mountain must have the most amazing view in the entire world!

The in room dinning was very reasonable and in retrospect although the restaurant was very good there was no need to go ( please keep in mind we are not big foodies). Eating in the room felt so exclusive and luxurious and the room service reflected the high price point! It was a pleasant surprise that we had our own butler AND everyone seemed genuinely happy to serve us! Best vacation ever!

Room Tip: JE2 rocked our world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaballetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The resort is built above its low(er)-end sister property, on a cliff. So, if you're staying in a $2k-$3k room, you're sharing staff (and hence service), and most restaurants (and hence quality of food) with a resort where rooms are 10% of the price. If the rooms at Jade were $200-300, I would have given it 4-5 stars. But given the price point, almost everything about the hotel is unacceptable. Some have mentioned that all the glowing positive reviews are probably by people who have never stayed at a proper 5-star hotel, and I would have to agree with that. Either that, or Jade Mountain pays to have the bad reviews deleted off this site. A detailed review of our experience is below. It's my first one, and I'm spending time to write it hoping it will help others avoid making the same mistake that we did.

PROPERTY- POORLY KEPT, TIRED AND AGING
Architecturally the resort is interesting, but what what stands out immediately is how tired and badly-aging it is. The wood is losing its luster, the stone has mold stains everywhere, the tiles in the pool have mineral stains that have never been cleaned (see photos). We stayed in two rooms (moon and star) and each had mosquito nets over the bed where holes were patched up by hand (see photos). A lamp had a burn stain (photo). Five-star property? It is not.

SERVICE - PRETTY UNACCEPTABLE
Upon arrival, you are asked to fill out 20 min worth of forms. In fact, there are forms for everything even during your stay. Only 6 out of the 28 rooms have a mini bar, so if you want a drink in your "sanctuary" (room), you have to call your butler and fill out a form. We wanted a bottle of champagne, it took 40 min and two phone calls to get it. As I said, staff is shared with its sister property that is a 2-3 star hotel, it seemed like, and service reflects this. In the best restaurant on the property we asked for bread and hot sauce when our omlettes arrived, both reached our table well after we finished the dishes. There are no phones in the room and you are given a cell to reach your butler in case you need anything, our butler called us so much for no reason ("just making sure everything is ok" even when we had the privacy sign outside) that we were forced to turn the phone off in order to hope for a few minutes of peace.

BEACH- sad sight
The beach is black sand, with pitiful, aging loungers lined up in a row by the water. The beach is not private and full of hagglers trying to sell you stuff, motorized boats (a lot of taxis), and gasoline stains on top of the water. The second beach - a few min walk away- is cleaner but just as undoable. The beach outside of projects in Coney Island in Brooklyn is more inviting.

FOOD - just ok
The food is decent but not amazing. The restaurant on top of the property is fine, but all the other ones are shared with the sister property. Breakfast buffet was particularly frightening, and appropriate for a 2-3 star property. When you're paying well over $2,000 per day, it's not amusing, nor acceptable.

WiFi- doesn't work
I get that their thing is total detachment - no TV in the room, no phones, no AC, etc. But the WiFi doesn't work, so we couldn't read the news on the iPad or phones, couldn't watch a movie, and couldn't change our flight to cut our trip short without calling the airlines.

INFINITY POOL- so cold
We were only able to use the pool in our room at the peak of the heat during the day because the water was so cold. There is no way to heat the pool.

JACUZZI TUB- didn't work
At least in one of our rooms. We didn't bother trying in the second room.

THE BED- very low quality
The mattress is so soft, it felt like there was a hole in the middle (in both rooms) and the sheets are very low quality, clearly cheap and unpleasant. Surprising, since they use Frette towels.

LIES - all the time
-"The airport is a 45-50min drive." (In fact it's over an hour, on a nightmare of a windy road with the last two miles on what seems a series of potholes on top of each other. If we knew that, we would have taken the helicopter 100%).
-"There are no mosquitos here but there is a coil in the closet just in case." (Within 15 min each one of us had about 10 bites all over our bodies)
-"It hardly ever rains here." (It's a lush rainforest, so it should - and did - rain every day).
-"You have to wait for the water taxi to get to the second beach, have a drink at the bar." (15 min later we were driven to another beach that we could have walked to in about 4-5 min)
-"There are black sand beaches and white sand beaches here. The beach below is mixed." (In fact it's black as coal)
-"The restaurant upstairs is a la carte only." (My salad ended up costing $85 because it was prix fixe)
-"Each room has it's own wifi." (No, it doesn't. And the wifi they have is literally unusable. You can't connect.)

Everything about the property is average or below average, except for the view, which is very pretty. The service, the food, the quality of the materials with which the hotel was built, the beach, the furniture, the bed. I am stunned at all the glowing reviews and rankings ("#1 hotel in Caribbean", "#3 hotel in the world"... It's a joke).


We cut our trip short and lost a lot of money by doing that, but we just couldn't stay there anymore. We hadn't slept, were harrassed by our butler, couldn't enjoy the beach nor the freezing pool, and couldn't even read the news on our ipads or watch a movie. Plus, we were all scratched up from dozens of mosquito bites. We came back exhausted, feeling duped and frankly stupid. I hope others won't waste their money and - more importantly - precious vacation time on this island and hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
78 Thank ChelseaMom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The good are all obvious to all
The bad: The last 15 minutes of the hour ride are hell. Dangerous, tight and chopped up roads deter you from leaving the resort. They dont fix it because they want to keep the locals out. Nights are so dark in the room you cant see your own hands. To keep the bugs out. Early AM the black birds will drive you nuts with their high decibel screeching. Everyone has their hands out for a tip...3 people to carry your luggage? Beach is hideous. Too many steps to everything.
Day time in your room is great but otherwise disappointing for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Difficult to know where to start, rooms with the 3 wall concept are fabulous; view across to the Pitons is incredible. Food in all the restaurants was excellent and the service, particularly from the personal butler could not be faulted.
Walking down to the beach was a pleasure and if you wanted to come back up you rang the butler who arranged a shuttle. We particularly liked the food in the Jade Club and at Apsana on the beach - a great Indian / Caribbean fusion.
We used the spa (excellent) and went jungle mountain biking, great fun and the guide was very informative. Outside the hotel we went on the volcano tour (very enjoyable) and climbed Gross Piton (fabulous views from the top but when they say "strenuous hike they really mean like climbing the stairs for a 2,600 foot skyscraper but the steps are uneven, made of tree routes and rocks and it is in a jungle but great fun)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthShieldsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
15.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Property: Jade Mountain Resort
Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing