We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jade Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fantastic room - very unique, shame about the beach. Went to Sugar Beach and Jade Mountain and thought SB was a better resort overall but the JM room is something to experience with the third wall open.

Room Tip: The galaxy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglishMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    94
    26
    21
    6
See reviews for
30
796
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I could write for ages about the amazing week my husband and I have just spent at Jade Mountain, but to be honest everything has already been said in the reviews below. It was simply the most awesome holiday we have ever had. The service (in particular Keiran, Earl and Al), the food, the location, the rooms etc etc were all unbelievable. Congratulations to Nick and Karolin, the owners: you have created a true paradise in JM. The other thing I want to mention is how incredibly welcoming and genuine the people of St Lucia are. They really are some of the nicest people we have ever met. We have had holidays in over thirty countries over the years, and stayed in some amazing places, but none compares to the experience of Jade Mountain. Never before have we wanted to return to the same destination, believing there are always other wonderful places to find......until now. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are a amazing. We stayed in JA3, which is on the lowest level of rooms with an infinity po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have been to many resorts but Jade Mountain was the best resort we stayed. View was awesome, meals were excellent, and our butlers were so nice. I can't say enough nice things about this resort. It was expensive but it's worth it for once in a life thing. We didn't leave the resort for 7 days. And it was the most relaxing vacation. Just sitting by the infinity pool and looking at the stars at night, and watching humming birds coming into the room to get the nectar from the flowers... Very romantic place and highly recommend it for honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent a week at Anse Chastenet which we loved. Having visited 3 times previously we knew that we would enjoy the fantastic service, food and all the activities. We upgraded to Jade Mountain for the last 3 nights and were delighted by our "sanctuary" which had its own infinity pool. When I saw the view of the Pitons reflected in the pool, it was so beautiful I nearly cried. My husband was right when he said "this is what dreams are made of". The design of the hotel is very clever and nothing has been left to chance. Everything provided in the room is of top quality, the bathroom is wonderful. The butler service and housekeeping are exceptional, whenever we returned to the room we found more piles of fluffy clean towels by the pool. We loved the pool and spent ages plunging in and out of it, day and night, it was deeper than we expected, you could do several stokes or just stare at the view. If you didn't want to leave your sanctuary you would have perfect luxury and privacy, however we enjoyed joining the "real world", on the beach and for evening entertainment at Anse Chastenet. We ate dinner at Jade mountain twice and it was beautifully served and delicious. Breakfast is served in the restaurant or your room. We chose the restaurant, but found the service and choice didn't match the impeccable standards of everything else at Jade Mountain, so on the last day we returned to the excellent self-service buffet at Anse Chastenet, as guests can make good use of all the resort facilities and choices. Yes its very expensive but if you want a romantic, beautiful escape I don't think you will find anywhere better, but my advice is to take an all inclusive package unless money really is no object.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Penonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week in beautiful St. Lucia for our honeymoon. We booked our trip through Danialle Natale at Beach Bum Vacation, and we are so happy we did. With all the wedding planning we were doing, it was great to have Danialle planning the particulars of the vacation for us. In fact, we may have had to postpone our trip if not for Danialle’s help. The day before our trip a snowstorm hit Indianapolis and all flights out of town were cancelled. When I contacted Danialle, she was already on the phone with Delta and remained on the phone for hours until she found us a flight out of Louisville the next morning. Thanks to Danialle, we were able to make our connecting flight in Atlanta and didn’t have to delay our trip! We spent the first 4 days of our trip at Sandals La Toc and the last two days at the Jade Mountain Resort. Jade Mountain was undoubtedly the nicest resort we have ever visited. We stayed in a Star sanctuary (JA1) and loved it. Our room was HUGE and the view was almost too good to be true. I think we only left our room twice during our stay – both times for dinner. The butler service was 5 star and the food was awesome! Jade Mt. is a perfect place for honeymooners- there are very few guests so the campus is very quiet and serene. I don’t think there is anything at Jade Mountain that needs improvement. We have already started thinking about when we can go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdese, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I felt compelled to add a review because we had never visited St. Lucia and the dozens of reviews we read as we were planning, proved to be very helpful in making our trip more enjoyable. I will share the things that made a difference to us:

Our trip overall was a 5 star experience, it was not perfect, no trip is, but we had a grand visit and have
rebooked for this year.

First Jade is very expensive: the views, resort & sanctuarys, service, and privacy come at a premium price, so plan to spend some money!

We realized in the myst of booking that our Hub airport offered only 1 nonstop flight per week, flying to UVF and back only every Saturday. This made a significant difference in our planning as we had originally decided to spend 4-5 nights and we were now looking at 7; spending $2500-$3000 per night at Jade alone. We did not want to risk changing planes and missing a flight, especially during winter travel, and we certainly did not want to switch resorts for 2 nights. As a solution we took advantage of Jade's 1 night free if you stay at least 4 and we decided to travel in December as opposed to January and take advantage of "shoulder season" rates. This made our 7 night stay more affordable considering that we opted for helicopter transfers and hired a private water taxi for a day.

UVF leaves much to be desired, so be prepared to be patient, at least if you are traveling on Saturdays.
It seems most of the arrivals and departures were within a 3 to 4 hour window and the airport was hot, crowded, and busy. Upon arrival we waited in line about 20-30 minutes to get thru immigration/customs but then we were met by folks from Jade who grabbed our luggage and transferred us to our helicopter.
The following Saturday the airport was even more crowded to the point there was no place to sit down and lines at the bathrooms. Do not make the mistake of buying snacks or drinks at the airport cafe as 1 beer, a water and chips were almost $40!

As for the helicopter, the flight was great and I highly recommend it. You get a bird's eye view of the island, the Pitons, beaches and bays. After a 5 hour flight it is nice to transfer to Jade in less than 10 minutes. We transferred via helicopter each way and plan to again when we return.

The hospitality and service began when arrived and did not waiver. We had 3 butlers around the clock who each provided superior service, we used them often, their service is part of what you pay for.

The fantastic views, the great sanctuaries, and the structure of Jade itself are stunning and go hand in hand with the service. There is not a bad santuary at Jade but I would not stay in a room without a pool. The water is fresh and clean due to constant filtering, without chemical additives, and it is very cool. The pools are surprisingly large and beautiful. Depending upon the sanctuary, some pools run the length of the open wall and therefore get more sun as did our pool, which we preferred. Some of the other pools come into the rooms interior and offer a patio with chairs beside the pool at the open wall. Before we left we asked to see several other sanctuaries to compare and we preferred the sanctuary we had. Of course if you can afford a galaxy suite, go for it, as these have enormous punge pools with 2 open walls. We were on level C which suited us well as it is sort of in the middle. The walk up to the Jade Club restaurant is not bad, reception is at level C, and the spa and mid-pick up point for a ride is just down below.

We ate breakfast in the room daily, dinner at Jade Club every night, and most lunches at the beach.
The food was very good, 4 star. I highly recommend the all inclusive plan which was included in our Total Romance package. Every drink, snack, or meal, lists the total on the ticket you sign, even though it is included. All dinners were $250-$350, lunch averaged $150, and snacks/drinks on the beach $60-$120 per order.

We did not use many of our Total Romance perks, but plan to use that package again and do more next trip. The spa treatments were good, 3-4 star, we snorkeled on our own and plan to snorkel more next trip as well as try diving. We enjoyed both beaches and had great service at the huts.

We decided we wanted to see more of the island and do some shopping, so rather than go to Soufriere, we hired a water taxi to take us to Casteries. Our butler strongly suggested that we use someone approved by Jade, which we did, and we will probably go again when we return. The boat captain picked us up at the Jade dock and the trip was about 45 minutes each way. He stayed in Casteries while we shopped, meeting us back at the dock at a pre-arranged time. He then suggested that we stop at Marigot Bay on the return trip for a late lunch which was fantastic.

Our last night at Jade we had reserved a favorite table at Jade Club but when we arrived a couple had not left the table as expected and according to staff looked to being staying indefinitely. In order not to disappoint us they immediately set us up a private dinner on top of Jade Club under the stars which was incredible. They offer this service for a pricey additional fee but provided it with compliments as our table was unavailable. A very nice perk reflecting Jade's great staff and service!

To comment on past reviews:

We had no trouble with insects, staff did light coils in sanctuaries each evening.

Our sanctuary had 12 ceiling fans which provided enough cooling in December, our hottest day was 85. Not sure if I would be as happy in mid summer.

The open bathrooms were not an issue as they are on an elevated level and opposite the living areas.
I enjoyed the cool refreshing plunge pool multiple times thoughout the day but it would be nice to be able to raise the water temp a few degrees in the evenings.

To balance the many pros here are a few cons:

There were 3 to 4 small horizontal tiles missing from the top edge of our pool, just a cosmetic flaw but
one you should not see in a 5 star $2500/night sanctuary. To be fair, I must add that as we were comparing other sanctuaries one afternoon, the general manager and his wife were inspecting a room in which the hardwood floor was being sanded and buffed and a lamp was being replaced, so I must assume each sanctuary is inspected and revamped on a routine basis.

The Firefly phones worked well 90% of the time but showed age and twice required resetting. They should keep up to date equipment and replace regularly. Again this was no big deal as I just walked over to reception and traded phones but why keep old phones to begin with?

The wine selections were fair for wine included in the package. For the price paid better wines should
be included. The included liquor selections were better as you could get Bombay gin, Grey Goose, Jack Daniels or Wild Turkey at no additional charge. I would like to have seen Hendricks Gin and been able to order a Basil Hayden bourbon without a $27 upcharge per drink..........

As I said: no place is perfect but this place is great, it is very expensive but you get what you pay for.
My best compliment is that I rebooked for another week before I checked out.

Room Tip: All sancturies are very nice, plunge pool a must, recommend C level or higher up. Unless you plan t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was a splurge for our honeymoon, and we almost decided not to do it. It's going to be a while before we can afford to go back, but we have raved about this to everyone we know and it was completely worth it.

It was purely and simply a luxurious experience. From the butler to the turn-down service to the bento box in the fridge every day, we felt like millionaires. We highly recommend it.

If you're going to come, pay for a room with a pool. We chose the MAP meal plan that covers breakfast and dinner (not lunch or drinks) and it was very worth it, in our opinions - we would have a light lunch of breakfast leftovers or the bento box, and weren't drinking very much. We had originally thought we'd make it into Soufriere a few times and eat at local restaurants, but it turned out to be a longer ride than we anticipated, and we only did it once.

Room Tip: Go for the Star suites. The Sky suites don't have the in-room pools, but anything bigger than S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harmonictempest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
7.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
2.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
14.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Property: Jade Mountain Resort
Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing