We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jade Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

All i can say is from the moment we entered the room, we were taken away. The service, the staff, the food was five star all the way.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyawayfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    94
    23
    20
    6
See reviews for
27
763
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

It's hard to describe a place like this with words. It's the type of place you just have to see for yourself in order to believe. 3 walls, yet ultimate privacy and peace. The most amazing views of the sea and mountains. Private butler at your beck and call, at the click of a button. No need to ever leave your room...but if you do, adventure and beauty await. This resort has amazing restaurants, private beach accomodations, plush tropical rain forests and the clearest water imaginable. Bring your sense of adventure, a bathing suit, and your slippers, and not much else. Leave the world behind, especially your cell phone...it's not allowed. If you are into scuba diving, snorkeling, wine, fine food, serenity, i can promise you....nothing will EVER top this place. I am spoiled from here on out. I cried when i left because i fell in love with this paradise.

We also got married here. Our families and friends flew in to celebrate with us in this paradise. The staff made it stress free for us. All the planning was carried out by our own wedding planner. When i arrived at my reception, i was floored. It was even more than i could have imagined. Candles everywhere, flowers were breathtaking. Even though we were in a tropical setting, i had my heart set on a modern wedding. They made all the arrangments to do modern over tropical, just for me...pain in the butt bride. It was just unbelievable (as i sit here and cry because it took my breath away). I just cant say enough wonderful things about the staff...i never will find the words to express my gratitude, as everything was beyond anythying i would have thought of.

My husband and I would strongly urge anyone even thinkng about traveling here to forget about any other hotels....you will not be sorry. Jade Mountain is the perfect getaway. You dont have to look any farther...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtcap08Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

The short review:
Jade Mountain is a must see. If there is a list of ten resorts you must stay at before you die Jade Mountain is surely on it.

The view from this resort is the most enjoyable of anywhere I have ever stayed. Every time I looked toward the ocean I just had to pick up a camera and take a picture.

There is no wall between you and the world. In exchange for this unobstructed view you get no climate control. There are several high powered ceiling fans that help combat the mild heat.

Although you are not separated from nature bugs were not an issue. There is netting around the bed but it isn’t really needed.

Diving in the area is good. The dive staff is professional and errs on the side of caution. A shore dive is required before you can dive from a boat.

The nearby town of Soufriere does offer a glimpse of real life in St Lucia but not much more. Pan handlers are a nuisance but not a danger.

Jade Mountain Club restaurant has great food and service. The dress code is lax. There was a very talented saxophonist on the Saturday evening we dined there.

Food at all the restaurants is a little expensive. But then this is not the resort for you if you’re a frugal traveler.

The long review:
St Lucia is a challenge to get to from the US. You will likely arrive very late. Most of the planes flying into SLU are 72 passenger (or fewer) turbo props. If your carry on has wheels there is a 90 percent chance it will be taken from you before you board your flight from San Juan. Waiting for your bag to be returned to you at the plane will put you at the tail end of a very slow moving immigration line. Duffle bags and backpacks work best. Travel light.

It is 200+ steps from sea level to the lowest room at Jade Mountain. You might make this trip a couple times a day. Bring some walking shoes. If you are so inclined you can ask an employee to phone for a ride if you don’t want to make the walk.

The French and the English have won and lost control of this island more times than I could calculate. The Britts were victorious in the end so you will be driving on the left hand side of the street. The roads in St Lucia are very good, except for the 2 miles that lead up to Jade Mountain Resort.

Jade Mountain and Anse Chastanet are essentially one resort. They are owned by the same entity. You can use the services of both and make room charges anywhere. Anse Chastanet doesn’t have nearly the view that Jade Mountain does. Jade Mountain does not allow children under the age of 18 on the property. Jade Mountain is above Anse Chastanet. They share the same beach, beach bar and dive shop. To get to the beach from Jade Mountain you walk through the Tree House (Anse Chastanet’s restaurant).

You can catch a water taxi to Soufriere for $40 round trip (or less if there is a regularly scheduled departure) and it’s a 10 minute trip. The same trip is 30+ minutes by car, most of it spent on that first 2 miles.

Castries is a deep water port 12 miles north of Jade Mountain. It is about 30 minutes by twin engine water taxi. We rented one for $200 round trip at the dock in Soufriere. Castries may have a cruise ship or two in port at any time. It is a typical such port with little to offer other than low quality duty free shopping. The advertisements for these shops look appealing in the magazines but the shops themselves are little more than flea market stalls.

If you are looking for a fun way to spend the day check these guys out: oceanangelboattours.com - We had a great time with Brad Pitt and company. Adrian runs a first class operation.

Visa and MasterCard were accepted in many places, but not everywhere. Cash was needed in a few instances. Be sure to ask in you don’t see a sign. I gave up trying to use my American Express card after the second day. Although some service charge is included in the check, any additional tip will need to be paid in cash.

Some of the best quality wood carvings I saw on the Island were at the Anse Chastanet gift shop on the beach. We bought a piece too big to bring with us home. They crated it up and shipped it to Texas for us. It arrived just two days after we did.

For a not so developed nation, some things seem pricey. A light lunch for two at the beach bar without alcohol was $50US. A diet coke was $3.50. Dinner for 2 with wine at the Club restaurant was $286.27.

Nearly everyone we encountered that worked at the property was happy, sincere and helpful. Although tipping is appreciated it was never solicited. Service was prompt and polite. The property was clean and well kept. Even the security staff was friendly.

As you can see from the photos, the pools in the suites are fantastic. They are great for cooling off after walking from the beach to your room in the afternoon. Birds stop by and take a drink once in a while.

If you like being in nature (with all the creature comforts of home) you will love Jade Mountain. At dusk the tree frogs start a harmony in surround sound that doesn't end until sunrise is announced by the very vocal local bird population.

The European influence is obvious in the bathroom. Privacy doesn’t really exist. If you are here for your honeymoon you will really get to know your new spouse.

The spa is good. This is not a spa resort. This property has a small adequate spa and offers a variety of treatments. My wife enjoyed the Bindi herbal wrap very much. An in room massage is an excellent option.

Restaurant Apsara on the beach has good Indian food. The Treehouse , midway between the beach and Jade Mountain, has a breakfast buffet with omelets. The beach bar/Aspara has a continental breakfast buffet and an ala carte menu. We were able to walk in to all of the restaurants without a reservation. We were, however, there during a very slow time.

Wireless Internet is available in your suite if you ask. There was no charge. The connection was a respectable 2.5 mb/s down and 1.1 up. AT&T roams on Digicell in St Lucia. There was no 3G as of 11/09 and very little Edge so good data connections are tough to come by without WiFi.

There is a helipad on the property and there are helicopter tours available. I would advise planning these before you get to the Island as we had no luck on short notice. Communicating by email with the hotel will get you the best result. We arranged diving and spa appointments before we left.

The hotel will arrange transportation to and from the airport. The fee is $85. The drive from Jade Mountain to SJU Airport at 5:30am was one hour five minutes.
A Caribbean sunset can be a beautiful thing. Unfortunately, from the rooftop deck, the setting sun is blocked by a protruding land mass. The view is still fantastic but sunset is best viewed from the beach.

Sulphur Springs Volcano Park is worth a trip. The tour lasts 15 minutes. The park is a 10 minute ride from Soufriere. The best route is to take a water taxi to Soufriere (check with the dive shop) and then a regular taxi round trip to the park. The fee is $5 and the guide will expect a tip.

Rodney Bay is the place for water sports. There is parasailing available and few wave runners for rent. It is about 18 miles by boat from Jade Mountain. That equates to 35-40 minutes by water taxi or an hour by car.

The ride by boat to Martinique (the nearby French island) is about 75 minutes and can get rough midway. You must clear customs in Soufriere if you want to go to Martinique. All customs offices on the French island, except the airport, are closed on Sunday, as is most of the Island unless there's a cruise ship in Fort de France. The charge for a private round trip boat was $1600US. If I had it to do over again, I would take a helicopter.

Electric is 220v. The only adapter found in our suite was being used to charge the firefly (method of communication between hotel staff and guests). Making my wife small appliances (for hair) work was a challenge. My advice – bring a hat.  Shopping for essentials is very limited. So double check that you have bare necessities.

Locks are tricky. Rotate the flap to reveal the lock to your suite. Rotate the key counter clockwise to unlock the deadbolt, then pull on your key as you turn some more to make door handle unlatch.

Being that your room has just 3 walls, the wildlife (at least that with wings) comes and goes as it pleases. Drop a few crumbs of banana bread and fat little birds will be there in a moment to clean up. They are fat because they steal sugar packets from the tables at the restaurants. The blackbirds drink from the pool in your room. None of the animals nearby are too shy. The little black birds with a red breast will drink from your glass and take food right off your plate.

If you have an early flight, settle your tab with Jade Mountain the night before. The only problem we encountered at the hotel was with the night manager. He forgot our wakeup knock at 4:15am and forgot to call our cab. We left the resort 35 minutes late but made our flight.

There are four flights out of SLU between 8am and 10am. Each holds 72 passengers or less. With fewer than 300 passengers in the airport it can be crowded but is rather efficient. In my opinion, arriving an hour before your flight is early enough here. There is free wireless Internet at the airport.

This resort has joined my short ‘must stay at list’:

#1) Tabacon – La Fortuna, Costa Rica
#2) Jade Mountain – Soufriere, St Lucia
#3) Victoria House – San Pedro, Belize
#4) Ritz Carlton, Bachelor Gulch – Beaver Creek, Colorado, USA

Feel free to email with any questions.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank rcullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We recently returned from our honeymoon at Jade Mountain. Wow, what an experience!

We stayed and got married at Anse Chastanet and then moved to Jade Mountain for the honeymoon. Please see my separate review of Anse Chastanet.

Jade Mountain is a truly unique experience. We stayed in a Star Sanctuary, which is one of the least expensive rooms and I can honestly tell you that it was magnificent! We had a wonderful view of the pitons. Not having a fourth wall at all really added to the experience. We had different birds flying in, lizards and even tiny little frogs visiting. I loved it! We loved having the infinity pool in our room. It was so nice to take a dip in the morning or evening and just stare at the breathtaking view! We didn't want to leave the sanctuary!

It was also nice to have a major duomo and firefly cell phone. The phone came in handy when we didn't feel like walking up all the steps to our room. We simply called our major duomo and he had the shuttle pick us up in minutes. We also loved the fact that we had room service. We had breakfast in our room everyday. On a few occasions, we didn't feel like going to the restaurant for dinner. We called our major duomo and he got us the restaurant menu and had dinner served in our room! Wonderful! On our last night, our major duomo set up a bubble bath with candles for us. So romantic! We hadn't asked for this, he did it on his own. Nice touch.

Jade Mountain Club restaurant was excellent! The food was a step up from Anse Chastanet's food. The views from the restaurant were beautiful. There was also live music. It made for a very romantic evening.

The service was wonderful. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. They really went out of their way to make sure that you were happy and enjoying yourself.

As other reviewers have stated, it is not for everyone. There are no TV's, phones or air conditioning. There are also a lot of steps to the beach, but there is a shuttle. None of these things bothered us. In fact we did not miss the TV or air conditioning at all!

Jade Mountain is definitely a unique experience and we did not want it to end! It is such a romantic setting. It was the perfect way to spend our honeymoon after our spectacular wedding at Anse Chastanet. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRIEPRINCESS_1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

The best part of our stay was waking up to the view of the Piton Mountains. The food was absolutely horrible. The service was mediocre at best. Constantly needed to ask for fresh towels which were consistently not replenished during room service. We tried hard to love this hotel, but just couldn't get on board. We truely wonder how this hotel is rated so highly. We found only the butlers do an outstanding job. We now know why some guests don't leave their room during their stay.....the beach is awful and the restaurants are horrific. The hotel made errors in our accounting which stressed out the end of our stay. Moving on with our quest to find our favorite Caribbean getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank houseofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We booked Jade Mountain for our honeymoon and we really were not disappointed.
The hotel is definately off the beaten track and the journey there was a little hair-raising but definately worth it.
The room and hotel itself are breathtaking the first time you see it. We had booked a medium room and it was enormous,the pool was the best thing ever.
The Major Duomos are so attentive and all the staff are friendly and cater to your every need, even before you know about it!
The food was diverse and fabulous, we already miss the breads and sorbets and felt totally spolit.
I would totally recommend this hotel and resort!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 032710a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

If you're reading this review, you've already read about how the sanctuaries are set up with the open wall and infinity pool so I won't repeat that. So while my wife and I knew all of that, we were still blown away by what we saw when we went into the sanctuary. You need to see it to believe it. We could see the Piton Mountains from our bed and each morning it was like watching a movie as the clouds drifted by the Pitons. It was private and quiet.

The service was wonderful. Everyone goes out of their way to accomodate you. The first night we were there, we chatted with another couple at cocktails about their stay so far. They said that if you are not having all the experinces you want, it's your own fault since the staff will accomodate just about anything if you ask for it. We kept that in mind and it was true for us as well.

Truly, it was one of the most romantic times my wife and I ever had. If a stay at Jade Mountain doesn't light your fire, there is not much hope for your relationship. However, Jade Mountain is not for everyone. There is no TV in the room or anywhere on the property that I saw. The rooms obviously aren't air conditioned. There are no elevators so you are always going up or down stairs. If the lack of those items don't bother you and you would appreciate some quiet time alone with your significant other in a beautiful setting, there is no better place on the planet.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrmjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
15.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Resort

Property: Jade Mountain Resort
Address: 100 Anse Chastanet Rd | PO Box 4000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#7 Family Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jade Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically above its 49 room sister resort Anse Chastanet, a 600 acre beach front property, Jade Mountain is a cornucopia of organic architecture celebrating St Lucia’s stunning scenic beauty. The 29 luxury suites are called sanctuaries, sweeping spaces where bedroom, living area and an extravagant private infinity pool glide into one another to form extraordinary platforms floating out into nature. With the fourth wall entirely absent, Jade Mountain’s sanctuaries are stage-like settings from which to embrace the full glory of St Lucia’s Pitons World Heritage Site and the Caribbean Sea. Jade Mountain has set a new standard in the Caribbean whether it is for modern design, luxury living or unique resort and guest service experiences.Wrapped around an infinity pool with a dazzling kaleidoscope of colors, the Jade Mountain Club restaurant caters exclusively to resident guests, celebrating James Beard Award winner Chef Allen Susser’s “Jade Cuisine.” Hovering in space above the Jade Mountain Club is the Celestial Terrace, perfect for sunset cocktails or star-gazing.A wide range of spa services can be enjoyed in the privacy of the Jade Mountain sanctuaries or at Kai en Ciel, Jade Mountain’s boutique spa and fitness studio. The resort major domos and a dedicated resort team ensure outstanding service around the clock.Guests may enjoy the exclusivity and privacy of Jade Mountain plus access to all of Anse Chastanet’s facilities and services: Nestled amidst a lush tropical 600 acre tropical estate with two soft sand beaches bordering pristine coral reefs, Anse Chastanet is right in the heart of the island’s marine reserves with St. Lucia’s legendary twin peaks, the Pitons, as the dramatic backdrop.The active will enjoy the resort’s amazing range of adventure facilities. Facilities include 4 restaurants & 3 bars, professional spa, PADi 5* scuba centre, water sports with kayaking centre, 12 miles of private biking and hiking trails with mountain bike rental, sailing yacht, 3 boutiques, library and art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Jade Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jade Mountain Hotel
Hotel Jade Mountain
Jade Mountain St Lucia
Jade Mountain Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing