We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great service, Great value”
Review of Villa des Pitons

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soufriere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa des Pitons
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Mission BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, Great service, Great value”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Right off the start Dora and michael made us feel right at home. Any questions about town, hotel,excursions, or any other questions they would help with. Before we left home, I wanted to know about the Friday night street party (jump) in Gros Inlet, Dora gave very accurate info.

The restaurant serves great food, mornings we would have bacon and eggs, pancakes, fruit plate, basket of croissants, orange juice, and coffee/tea. The dinner we had was creole chicken and beef.

If you are on a budget would suggest getting the rate that includes the dinner as it can be expensive to eat in Soufriere.

It has been said before but the previous review proves it needs to be repeated again, the hotel heats its water by the sun, so you will have hot water for bathing and washing hands from the early afternoon on, and luke warm water in the morning. Hotel is on a hill (as you can see from the pictures) so if you do not have a car you will be walking up and down it (we had a car and we still walked back and forth for the first four days). There is numerous stairs, so if you are impaired, this hotel is not for you. The pool is being replaced by a new hot tub, pool and sunning area (away from the cruise ship lunch crowd.

The rooms are plain, with A/C, tv, ( WI FI in restaurant) no phone, safe in office. bathroom has shower.

The week before we came to the Villa we had been staying at the Calabash Cove Resort, and before we left home had made arrangements with Dora for a rental car to be dropped off athe hotel, which it was. Drove from Gros Inlet to Soufriere, which I found thrilling and my better half found nerve racking.

There are numerous restaurants in Soufiere, two of the ones we liked are Gees which is right across the road from the hotel and down the bank, and the Petit Piton Cafe on the ocean by the dock where the cruise ships land (be sure to try their salt fish acora and the banana crumble)

We loved Dora, Michael, the staff, and location so much we are going back December 2010

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripbugBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Where do we begin? We stayed there in January for 7 nights. So this entitled us to the free airport transfers, which to us was a good start. Claudi picked us up from the international airport and he was wonderful and very informative. We stopped the along for BBQ Chicken and a couple Pitons (beer) at a very local bar. We then proceeded to the hotel, where we were welcomed by Dora, who offered us some home made Rum Punch. She was an angel, assisted us with some mishaps. Thank you Dora.

Our room was beautiful, with french double doors, opening on to the balcony, with a spectacular view of the pitons, town and ocean. Our bed was an extra sized four poster bed, beautifully hand crafted. For our first night we had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent. We were also recommended to try they other restaurant in town, called Skippers and it too was fabulous. We tried some local restaurants in the town and really enjoyed it too.

One of the things which we found very helpful was that, they offered us a cell phone, which we were not charged for, to call when we need a lift up the hill, from the beach or any where esle. Most times Claudi fetched us and other times Dora or Michael. We did rental a jeep from them for a couple of days to visit the north part of the Island and also stopped at the Anse La Raye, seafood jam.

We were treated like family and felt very much like home away from. We would difinately recommend this place to any one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanyTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This is on-off, an experience.
Dora and Michael are quite charming and their driver, who fetched us and used to take us around, was friendly, informative and a barrel of laughs. The view is just lovely, over the brightly coloured roofs of the town to the sea and the Pitons, and it's great to sit on your balcony and watch it, and listen to the faint sounds of the busy little town below,whether its cockerels crowing (faintly!) or the glorious multi-part harmonies drifting out of the churches on Sunday. Our room was delightfully painted in Caribbean colours, acid pink, neon yellow and lime green all together; it was quirky and fun, and we loved having the two sets of double doors open on to our balcony and getting the breeze. Breakfast was incredibly slow and the choice was limited, but I enjoyed trying the St Lucian breakfast (delicious!). We had one dinner in the hotel, which was excellent. (We tried Skippers restaurant in town, and had the very worst meal ever!)
But...
Don't try this for more than a couple of nights without having a car. The drag up the hill ceases to be amusing and the taxi system can be a bit limiting. Not only is this up a long steep hill but when you get there you have a lot of long steep and uneven stairs to climb. There is no lift and no porter.
No one swam in the pool, I guess because it looked murky.
There are problems with the water but Michael says he's addressing these. Let's just say we didn't enjoy our bathroom facilities! (Tip: find out which tap is meant to be the hot one, and run it, maybe for 10 minutes. You will get warm water eventually!)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2010

For the duration of our stay in St. Lucia (6 days), we resided at the Villa Des Pitons, a charming manor situated on a hillside. Below the villa lies the sleepy town of Soufriere, and behind it, the looming, magnificent Gros Piton. A short walk from the villa will bring one to Hummingbird Beach, a popular location for the locals of St. Lucia. However, there are two other very popular beaches, each just a few miles from Soufriere. There is Jalousie, a stunningly beautiful patch of sand lying snugly between the Gros and Petit Piton, like an ancient valley. This may be the most picturesque beach on the island, but Anse Chastanet beach is a close second, not to mention that it has a much larger variety of fish merely meters from the bay. If you are a more adventurous tourist, and wish to do more than bathe in the warmth and beauty of the beaches, a good option would be to rent a vehicle with 4-wheel drive. The driving itself is sure to be a memorable experience. The roads are often steep and winding, and are surrounded on all sides by rain forest. Although there are few signs on the road, will be of no consequence. The locals all over the island are extremely friendly and helpful, and will gladly provide assistance to confused motorists. Dora and Gustaf, the lovely owners of the Villa Des Piton, were more than accommodating and are extremely kind people. The food at the villa was exquisite, so most of our dinners were spent eating there. However, we were recommended to try the food at Skipper's, a restaurant in Soufriere. The chef working there, Burrell, was an artist in his own right. He crafted the food to perfection, and it was always overwhelmed the taste buds with its large variety of tastes and sensations. Villa Des Piton is the place to stay if you wish to have an authentic St. Lucia experience, rather than living in an enclosed facility, cut off from reality.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oBston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We felt so welcomed by the staff at Villa Des Pitons. Our plane was delayed and the owner waited at the bottom of the drive to make sure we didn't miss the hotel when we arrived at 1AM. They served a great breakfast, that was included. And the view of the Pitons was phenomenal. Having a car was useful since the hotel was an up hill walk from the center of Soufriere.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0st0nW0rldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The rooms are very large but a little dated. Teeny tiny TV but lot's of channels. Very charming, almost quirky and the people here are truly focused on customer service. They picked us up at the airport ($50 US) and our driver was very happy to stop for beers and roti when we asked.

The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking Souffriere with a spectacular view of the town and the Pitons. The restaurant here is very good. We really enjoyed the food. The beer fridge in the bar does not do a good job of keeping the beer cold, though. The pool is really beautiful but quite murky. We did not want to swim in it.

The town is nice enough with a few good restaurants but it can get a little scary after dark. If you want to use this place as a base it's very good value as long as you rent a car. If you need a place to stay for a night I highly recommend it as it is not too far from the airport and not that far from Castries if you want to catch the ferry.

I forgot our passports in the room and the staff was very happy to return them to us the next day. We of course paid for the driver but they could not have been nicer about it.

The WiFi was down and even the network cable in the room was out of order. This was over Christmas/New Year so I suspect it might be a temporary problem.

If stairs are a problem for you, don't go here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Edgar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Pros: Affordable, safe, stunning views, clean room, friendly service, complimentary cell phone, in-room TV and AC, airport transfers included in car rental

Cons: Mostly no hot water, nothing convenient within walking distance, poor room lighting, car issues, ants in room, below-average food

The proprietor, Dora Mangal, is an angel, but the Villa des Pitons leaves a lot to be desired for even the casual traveler.

We spent 6 nights here for our honeymoon and are accustomed to budget accommodations - we knew going in that this was no Ladera or Jade Mountain. Upon arrival at the airport we were met by one of the hotel's courteous service staff, Moses, who drove us into Soufriere. Our room was near the top floor, negotiated by several flights of haphazard (and *extremely* slippery when wet) stairs. Like many places in St Lucia, the Villa is not designed for accessibility - those with walking troubles should look elsewhere.

The room itself was clean and sparsely furnished - we were pleasantly surprised to find a kitchen with a refrigerator, unpleasantly surprised to find a missing nightstand on one side of the bed. As we arrived at night, we found the room to be extremely dim, with few overhead lights to bring out the great colors on the walls. We noted the "solar hot water" sign in the bathroom as an eco-friendly nod. Rather this was a warning - unless you shower at the end of a sunny day, warm water will be in short supply.

Staff comes by about 9 every morning to take your breakfast order. They are persistent and will force you up if you are in the room (no "do not disturb" signs handy). The breakfast food choices are a little thin, but the meal is included in many reservation plans, so no reason to complain. We elected to eat dinner in the Villa's restaurant on one occasion (alone - the place was a ghost town almost every night). The menu came with half a dozen caveats, mostly items not available. My wife's only request - the pumpkin soup - was one such no-show. Based on this experience, we bought groceries in town to make our own meals. If you do the same, bring sealable bags, otherwise ants will sniff out your perishables (they found ours easily).

Climate control in our room was a hassle - the room didn't get any natural airflow, so we had to rely on the AC. Unfortunately, on the second day its remote (no manual controls, oddly) went missing and had to be forcefully set by management every day thereafter. Due to power outages on two straight mornings, we lost the AC entirely until maid service later in the day.

The Villa's location gives it beautiful views of the Pitons, which are worth some of the minor headaches. For us the biggest problem was our car, which we rented through the hotel. At 4 days in and on the way to a reserved horseback ride in Gros Islet, the brake pads gave out, leaving us a treacherous descent back through the mountains to get a repair. Thankfully they had it fixed within a couple hours, but by that time it had bungled our plans and added considerable stress to our morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank codography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soufriere hotels
2.7 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
2.0 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Estate Resort
Stonefield Estate Resort
#4 of 11 in Soufriere
727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa des Pitons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa des Pitons

Property: Villa des Pitons
Address: Lower La Haut | P.O.Box 262, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside Villa des Pitons offers spectacular views over the town and the bay of Soufriere and the famous Pitons. The hotel offers two restaurants (serving breakfast, buffet and light meal lunches, and fine dining), Pool bar, two swimming pools, sundeck, Jacuzzi & Spa, and a Souvenir shop. All rooms are equipped with air condition, cable TV & Hot water. The "Standard rooms" have two queen sized beds and our "Deluxe rooms" offer fully furnished kitchenettes, locally crafted 4-poster extra king size beds, private balcony and more spacious baths. Our rates are inclusive of breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Des Pitons Hotel
Hotel Des Pitons
Villa Des Pitons St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing