We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and cleanliness on a budget”
Review of L'Esperance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Esperance Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel is located in a residential area which a lot of people haven't been to. However, it's not to tough to find. This was our 3rd visit to this lovely little gem. The owners and staff are amazing and very friendly. If you want to visit Sint Maarten on a budget and don't care if you aren't staying on a beach this is the place to stay. We alway rent a car to explore the island and don't go to the same beach every day so this hotel works great for us. The rooms are very, very clean and so comfortable. It's like a home away from home. We feel very secure here as well which is important on a vacation. I miss it already and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

L'Esperance Hotel is a lovely place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We went on a holiday to the island in October of this year and found that we had booked the right hotel for us since we prefer small-scale, homely places. We felt very much at home indeed because of the flowery patio with swimming pool and the rooms where you can sit and relax. Also, the owners of the hotel were really friendly.
Unfortunately, upon arrival there was a problem with the toilet in our room and because of that we couldn't check in right away. We were really tired because of the long flight and weren't too happy about this, also because it was unsure how long it would take for the toilet to be fixed. When we finally entered the room, the toilet was still not working properly - it was leaking (clean) water - and during our stay, despite the several attempts that were made to fix it, the toilet kept on leaking. The owners apologized extensively because this was indeed not the way it should be.
However, the room was kept very clean every day so the leakage didn't cause too much trouble. We very much liked the room because of the separate bedroom (with air-conditioning) and the small kitchen with refrigerator in the living area that made it possible to prepare simple dishes. Also, the television came in handy when a tropical storm hit the island and we couldn't do much for two days.
About the location: the hotel is situated in a quiet area and we knew beforehand that it wouldn't be close to a beach. Because we like to drive around during our holidays we had a rental car so that was not a problem for us. There are loads of stunning beaches on St. Maarten and because the island is small they're never too far away from the hotel.
All in all, we had a lovely stay. Hotel L'Esperance is a nice, homely and clean place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. It's off the beaten path, so a car is probably best to have. The room we had was great, small kitchen and a 2 bedroom right off the pool. The staff was friendly and efficient. Would stay again as it was priced just right too.

Room Tip: There are store close by to get groceries. We brought a few of our own things so we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed there with my family during a short low butget vacation. The hotel was very clean and modern. We had a flatscreen tv in our room. WIFI and cable box available. For the price we payed, it was the best low butget hotel. The location is not so convenience. It is a 10 min walk to Gran marche where you can buy fastfood or catch a bus to town. The best is to rent a car. The neighborhood is not so nice, but for me that was not important. The hotel was very safe and during night time the was a security guy. There was a pool and overall I liked it. We planning when we in SXM to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank f_janga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was our second year staying at this hotel. In March 2012, we stayed with family in one of their 2 bedroom suites and it was great. L'Esperance is very affordable. The staff and owner are great. The suites are very clean as are the lobby, pool and the shared terrace. The hotel itself is located a block from a major grocery store. It is kind of in the middle of the island so it's central to a lot of places such as Phillipsburg (shopping), Marigot, Oyster Pond. Very quaint! I would defintely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Me and my husband had our honeymoon here. I really liked this place. It's ideally located if you plan to explore more of the island, it's nestled in between Marigot and Philipsburg, and the "buses", witch are really cheap, leave just down the street, There is a nice open shared terrace, with a view of the hills surrounding you, and the pool. The rooms are large and immaculately cleaned every day. Be sure to pay your bill the night before you leave if you have an early flight. There is a guard there during nighttime, but he will not "check you out", just take your key. By the way, we walked past the guard several times at night, and sometimes he was asleep. But it's not a dangerous neighborhood, so no need too worry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bimbonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spacious apartment , rather clean. Some problems with the shower that did not stay at constant temperature. Compared to other St Maarten hotels it is rather cheap but it is not fancy either. The pool is nice and the patio and facade are pretty with flowers. Beware the mosquitoes at night...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
819 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Marigot
523 reviews
1.5 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Esperance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esperance Hotel

Address: Tiger Road 4 | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Esperance Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Creole hospitality in their choice of 22 air-conditioned suites. Hotel L'Esperance is set just below rolling hills. Landscaped gardens, a sundeck and swimming pool invite guests to relax in the Caribbean sun. All suites are equipped with kitchenettes, cable television, and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your L'Esperance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Esperance Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing