We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!!”
Review of L'Esperance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Esperance Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Dollar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love this place!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

It just pays to check the internet, we found this place just by accident! The hotel is quiet, the security setup is tight and we felt safe, especially when we returned at 4pm in the morning. The hotel is about 5 min walk to the beach, and it has a wonderful swimming pool with a sun deck. We found the suites, and yes real suites with complete kitchens and pots and knives and forks and spoons all ready to use.large grocery next door for whenever we needed to have a home cooked meal.
As for the housekeeping they make sure everything is Spick and span one would never thought there is really such a wonderful hotel like this in the Caribbean/Sint Maarten. We actually felt we got more than we paid for at this hotel. This has never happened to us before and we are real travelers. Sint Maarten LEsperance is our second vacation home.
Check out this hotel great value,clean, nice furnishings, oh the beds are superb. If you are vacationing in Sint Maarten this is the place to stay. Thank you Lesperance we love you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacationduo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
32
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed here for one night after a week at a villa on St. Barth. It was a huge improvement over the giant and impersonal ocean-front resort in Philipsburg we stayed in at the beginning of our trip. L'Esperance is clean and basic. It offers large suites with a fully equipped kitchen and a lovely porch at the back. In the morning you can walk down the road to the grocery store to buy breakfast fixings. I liked the feeling of really being in St. Maarten rather than the artificial package tourist/time-share environment you get at the big resorts by the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The neighborhood might have given us pause when we arrived at L'Esperance Hotel. But upon stepping into the courtyard, you'd never know that you weren't in a beachfront property. We stayed here for 2 nights, 1 at the beginning of our trip, and 1 at the end of our trip. The service people were very hospitable and accommodating. Great value for amount spent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnigirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My wife and I, along with three other couples spent the last two weeks of February 2010 at the L’Esperance Hotel. A work colleague of one of these couples had been at the hotel at least three times in the past and just loved it. We were told that this was not a fancy hotel, but, that we would be comfortable and close to the beaches, restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy, shopping, etc. In addition, the reviews that I had read agreed with this statement.
Upon arriving from the airport, the check-in was quick and simple, but I noticed that there was nobody to help us with our luggage. There was only one young lady at the front desk to handle everything, no concierge or bell-boy.
We were given only one door key which was attached to a one-foot long thin piece of metal. We were told to leave the key at the front desk whenever we left the hotel. The front desk area is within a separate building located next to the hotel rooms and is open between 7:30 am and 11:00 pm only. If you return to the hotel after 11:00 pm, you must get your key from a security guard and get access to your room from a separate entrance. To unlock the door to our room, it took about four 360 degree turns to the left and then one-half turn to the right, to remove the key.
I became worried when I realized that there was no knob on the inside of the door to quickly lock or unlock the door. The key had to be left in the lock, from inside the room, to lock or unlock the door. I became even more worried when I couldn’t find any smoke detectors in our room. The fact that the rooms are smoke-free is no excuse for not having smoke detectors installed.
Here is a list of items that should have required attention from the staff: The light outside our door was burnt. The room is equipped with a small kitchen, but, the range hood was defective. There was no fan inside the bathroom. The metal bed frame was broken and was never replaced, even after numerous requests. The freezer section of our small refrigerator needed de-frosting; it took the maid two days to clean it out, so that we could freeze water again in the ice cube trays. The A/C unit was installed on a bedroom wall. The maid turned it off every day after cleaning the room, to save on energy. When we returned to the room late in the afternoon, the room was very warm. In addition, while cleaning the room, the maid left the door wide open and mosquitoes flew in. The room had to be sprayed to kill them. One of our lady friends had a bad reaction to mosquitoes/bug bites and had to be taken to the local hospital. I must admit that the rooms were kept fairly clean. The swimming pool was clean but we realized that the filtering system was activated only for a few hours during daytime. If we wanted to go for a swim during the evenings, dead bugs or small leaves were sometime floating on the surface.
Speaking of the hospital; it is located about two kilometres from the hotel. You can hear ambulance sirens at all hours of the day and night.
However, my worst complaint concerns the backup electric generator. It just happened to be located next to our bedroom window. At 2:00 am the first night, it started running... for two hours, while the power was out. It almost gave me a heart attack when it kicked in.
Other comments have to do with the front desk staff. Most of them are young ladies in their early 20’s or late teens. One of them even had her 6-year old daughter behind the desk, with her. No place for a child. I am used to staff that are somewhat more “mature” than that. Sometimes, they couldn’t answer our questions regarding the island or activities, etc.
The exterior of the hotel is nicely decorated with flowers and climbing plant, etc. Lots of colour. Huge humming birds can be seen flying around all day. A few nice little salamanders (small harmless lizards) can be found around the swimming pool area sometimes. Don’t scare them away, they eat bugs.
The hotel is located in what I would describe as a “poor” section of town. Roosters wake you up at 4:00 am and all the neighbours seem to own a few and chickens, too. There are no sidewalks on most of the streets around the hotel and a 10-minute walk to the nearest restaurant can be dangerous, especially at night.
Enough about the hotel. If it was located on a hillside out of town, it would be fantastic! The only good thing about it, is its low cost. Other than that, I cannot recommend it.. . Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BluesharkGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This is a hidden gem. I read about L'Esperance on trip advisor, and took a chance. I was not dissapointed.
We stayed at a beach front resort for the first week of our vacation, we wanted to extend our vacation for a few days so we started looking aroind. The daily rates at most beach front hotels are crazy, especially considering most people only sleep at the hotels and drive to the beaches during the days.
Upon our arrival at L'Esperance we were greated by Samanta with a big smaile and very courteous service. The hotel is clean and quite. This is a great place to stay if you want a clean, friendly and safe base camp on the island.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seattle1Vacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I just came back from a one week stay at L'Esperance Hotel, it was my first time at this hotel and I was very pleased. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy, but very clean and functional... they are cleaned daily and the wonderful thing is that the maids don't ever knock on your door to come clean your room... the place is so small and quaint that they actually wait for you to leave to go into your room and clean. The overall service was great as well. The hotel is quiet small, and has a friendly and personal touch to it.

The hotel's location isn't the best in the sense that it's not directly on the beach, but the beach is only 5 minutes away if you have a car... and 10 by bus. I felt very safe, there is a security guard at night on the premessis. I would walk up to the main road daily (about a 7 minute walk)...where you can catch a bus to any part of the island, in addition to being a huge grocery store, and many restaurants.

Overall, this hotel is excellent when compared to what other hotels are cost. I would stay at L'Esperance hands down again, instead of paying triple the price for any of the resort hotels on the island. With that said, if you are looking to socialise, drink, have fun in the pool, meet tons of people, party, and the such, L'Ésperance is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a place to stay while you go explore the island, a clean, quiet and friendly place, L'Esperance is great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandi4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Ilove this hotel the people are friendly ,staff are helpfull,it clean,have a nice pool, and it have that tropical look to it, very quiet and relaxing.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank CoralGuyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
1.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
802 reviews
1.5 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Esperance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esperance Hotel

Property: L'Esperance Hotel
Address: Tiger Road 4 | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Esperance Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Creole hospitality in their choice of 22 air-conditioned suites. Hotel L'Esperance is set just below rolling hills. Landscaped gardens, a sundeck and swimming pool invite guests to relax in the Caribbean sun. All suites are equipped with kitchenettes, cable television, and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Esperance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Esperance Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing