We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ital ever!”

Freedom Fighters Ital Shack
Ranked #19 of 102 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ital ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The food was amazing I loved it... but the service! omg is like heaven!!!! the love that they show to the customers is priceless!!! I I completely love this place!!! 1 Love to Ras Bushman and his Family!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skieswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE WISH I COULD BRING THEM WITH ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am vegetarian and I was looking for a vegetarian restaurant but Never did I expect to find this GEM. Ras Bushman came out and greeted us so warmly that we felt like we were his long lost family and then the FOOD-SIMPLY AMAZING! I had barley, beans, plantains and other delightful veggies that was so delicious that I ate everything on my plate. In a few hours when it was time to eat again, we drove back from the other side of town for more and they did not disappoint. My husband and I have decided that for the entire duration of our trip, we will be going there every day. Feeling very fortunate to have found them-hard to find vegetarian food that is actually not covered in cheese and oil and is actually delicious! I actually give them 7 stars out of 5 :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We were "blessed" meeting and dining with Ras Bushman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

5 of us visited early April and had a fantastic experience. We were warmly greeted by Ras Bushman , he was alone and quickly called his wife and son to come over and prepare a meal for us, it was delish!! It was not only the food (with all ingredients home grown), the drinks he makes (daily fresh juice, like tamarind, ginger, so tasty).
We have vegan, vegetarian and carnivores in our group and we all enjoyed the meal.

Ras Bushman join us and sit at our table with us while we ate, we talked for over an hour , he treated us like family...what we learned "drink water first thing in the morning , before going to bed and greens at every meal" Blessed to have met you :) See you next year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hwtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not visit St Maarten without going to this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Amazing and delicious. Excellent service, healthy, hearty and filling food. I couldn't recommend any restaurant more. We went multiple times during a one week stay.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stopped in to see the Ras Bushman and KUJ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent
Veggie food and juices served up daily with a smile. What a Blessing in St Maarten. Only a brief cab or bus ride from downtown.

Helpful?
Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Fighters Ital Shack also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Freedom Fighters Ital Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing