We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesterfield's

Chesterfield's
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

During our trip last week to St Martin we dined at Chesterfield's again. The french onion soup was tasty but on the salty side. Both the seafood sampler and sauteed scallops were very good. That said, our server was not very pleasant. This was disappointing as we have been here several times in the past and always felt welcome and the server would chat with us; perhaps she was having a bad day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    306
    91
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be sure to go to Chesterfield's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We visited Chesterfield's on a recent trip to St Maarten, where we've vacationed about 5 times now. The location is ideal:on the outskirts of Phillipsburg, at Dock Maarten. Try to sit outside, right by the water where you can see fish swimming just below the dock. The food was so good we went twice in our 2 weeks! Especially outstanding were the calamari, fish dishes and pasta. We always had leftovers to take back to our timeshare, too. Be sure to get a parking ticket as you pull into the lot; they'll validate it at Chesterfield's and parking will be free. The staff was friendly & efficient; next trp we'll go there even more often!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbFVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Hurricane Shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Went to Chesterfields for dinner with a group of friends in July 2011. We all ordered appetizers, and drinks. Every dish was amazing but we asked for a second order of the Hurricane Shrimp because it was so good.

The staff was really friendly and accommodating of our easily excited group.

It's been a year and we still talk about the food and I have been trying to replicate the recipe!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

i love their steak and mushroom sauce. i go here as often as i can. the atmosphere is nice. right on the bank of the sea. the cruise terminal is 1minute away by car and the town center is 5-10mins walk. friendly staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank AbiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is always my first night out. On the harbor in philipsburg. Great food at good prices. I really enjoy sitting on the dock in the marina

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesterfield's also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Chesterfield's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing