We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My two teenage boys and I loved our stay. The rooms in the older section were great, and had lots of old world character. Staff is very friendly, and the restaurant was delicious. I'm not sure what is going on with the previous negative reviews; but I guess there are some people you just can't make happy. When we return to St Maarten we will stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Mattsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel had been recommended to me by my small ship cruise. Unfortunately, it was under renovation when we arrived. While the lobby appeared nice, the rest of the place was a complete mess. There's no elevator and we were forced to carry our luggage up several flights of stairs. The cushions on our balcony were dubious and moldy. The air conditioning didn't work well, and the bathroom left much to be desired. Worse, construction began at 6 a.m. on a Sunday, with hammering keeping us awake. The much-praised restaurant was not open. All of this would have been OK if we were paying less than $100, but the hotel continued to charge prices of $200 plus. The only thing it had going for it was the location. I wish we would have either spent more to stay at Holland House down the beach or found a hotel room elsewhere on the island (Grand Case or Divi Bay). Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

After many years in st Maarten, we thought a change of hotel may be a nice idea. We booked in April for the new building for our holiday! Upon arrival we were met with the following:
Unkept lobby area, no room in the new section, carrying our luggage up several flights of stairs, no elevator in old section, door lock not secure, non matched or missing light bulbs in all fixtures, non working shower, mold and mildew throughout room, broken and dirty balcony furniture, no box springs on bed, broken head board, not enough clean space to place our clothing, limited restaurant menu ( they supposedly just renovated the restaurant but repurposed the old appliances), limited liquor at the one bar, unusual hours at restaurant and bar, no beach chairs put out for many days, beach towels only available at front desk, no service on beach, and a pretty disrespectful hotel owner basically letting us know she could care less. This hotel does not communicate very well via email. we had sent many emails to try to clarify and received no response. I strongly urge you to reserve one of the other many wonderful properties on the island.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bethf686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

ln April we we made a reservation to stay in the new section of this hotel and when we arrived we were put into the old section. The section was so bad that we were appalled. Old and dilapidated doesn't even begin to describe what we were subject to. We spoke to the the owner and were basically told " that's the way it is and we will do nothing about it" The beds were old and over used, the safe didn't work because the required batteries were too old and were corroded, the bath room lighting fixture contained two of the required three lamps but they were different colors. There was a very nice electrical outlet in the bathroom with no outlet in the box and exposed wires without a cover. Needless to say we relocated to another hotel in town which was no small feat let me tell you. When you walk past this hotel be sure you are on the opposite side of the walkway. DO NOT STAY HERE NO MATTER WHAT THE PRICE,

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 754skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

to begin with,the open entrance of the hotel does not equate with the culture of the island or the govenors home! They need to replace the batteries and make sure the safes are working, put light bulbs in the bath room and fans that match, replace the bath room door because of the hole in the door, fix the doors to the rooms and locks; the gap around the door, the wind blowing through the door keep us awake most of the night.The over powering oder of mold, the mattress as hard as sleeping on a board, no storage or closet space, low quality liquor at the one bar, no beach chairs or towels and how about no a place to eat on christmas. we did have soup when we arrived and it was awful! We spoke to the female owner and she could have cared less. what a frustration after flying all day! they try to be a big sell during regatta...steer clear!!!! no pool and no room service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked two rooms for a late arrival, 10:30p.m. We were dropped at the entry, no one appeared. This gave us a chance to look around, the lobby is a construction mess. The kitchen is being remodeled, but this overflowed into all other areas of the lobby. Finally, a young man appeared and gave us our room keys, did help us with our bags. We stayed in rooms in the old part of the property....looking for the Caribbean style as shown on the website. The experience did not live up to the web site representation. The beach bar never did open, no hot water for a shower, verandah furniture was well worn and everything was dirty. The building is in poor condition. The bath fixtures were old and rusty. The beachfront was rooted and poor quality. Good location is the only positive thing I can say. We will not book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just returned from our tall-ship sailing cruise and want to let everyone know that the Pasanggrahan hotel is very, very nice.

Great location: a super location Philipsberg, in the heart of St. Maarten's beach, shopping, restaurants (Dutch side of the island)l.

Beautiful vintage hotel that opens onto the main shopping area from the front and onto the beach from the other side. Lots of Caribbean flavor and color. We stayed two days prior and one night after our sailing cruise and it was super. We were in the new wing, with the OMG-large suites. Each the size of three hotel rooms, with a huge bathroom featuring walk-in showers as well as large tubs and enormous dressing area, with separate toilet area. Then a huge bed area and a (you got it) huge sitting area, plus a balcony. I'd guess these suites are probably close to 600sf.

A fellow passenger was there, and she was in the older wing, and we got a glimpse of her room. Smaller, yes, more typical, but very nice. Lower price than the new suites, of course. I wouldn't have minded staying there at all, especially since she was on first floor and had sliders that opened onto a verandah just steps from the beach. Be sure to request beachfront rooms. Streetside is noisy.

Food at the Pasangrahan was excellent. We had breakfasts there twice and dinners there twice. Really really good food and a delightful outdoor (covered) dining area on beach side, of course. Lots of cool breezes. The folks working the dining room, and especially the bar, were great! Menu not extensive for dinner, but a nice variety. Our friends said the calamari steak was to die for. I'm not a fish-eater, so I didn't try it. Bar was offering 2-for-1 drinks each happy hour, and you just gotta try the guavaberry coladas! YUM! Guavaberries are native to St. Maarten, and they make a darn good rum. Lots of outdoor seating at/near the bar, with thatched palapas and lots of flora, fauna, and a one-eyed cat (Ginger) who loves to have her chin scratched and her back rubbed.

Go out to the beachwalk and turn left and walk to the end of the beachwalk (the ferry boarding area, equivalent of a block or so), and there is the Green House Restaurant. This is very good, too! Quite a varied menu and really good prices. Bar also has 2-for-1 drinks after 4 or 4:30pm. Walk the other way from the Pasanggrahan on the beachwalk and lots of funky little places to eat, and drink. A good homemade ice cream shop. And of course, lots of places to buy jewerly. I don't know how all the jewelry stores survive, but they sure have lots of specials! Live entertainers along the beach walk, adding to the Caribbean atmosphere.

Walking on the street is more hectic and crowded, and again, more jewelry stores! Some excellent cotton-wear stores. Good pharmacy nearby. Also at least one casino nearby. We didn't endulge.

Highly recommend the Pasanggrahan, altho some of our other shipmates were at Holland House, and they said it also was very nice. It's more "hotel" looking, without the Pasanggrahan's Caribbean feel...at least from the outside. It's about a block or less from the Pasanggrahan so it's also in a really good location for being in the middle of it all.
__________________

Room Tip: Beachside to avoid the street side noise. If you want space and luxury, ask for the new suites wing...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
464 reviews
3.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse

Address: Front Street # 19, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £85 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse is St. Maarten's oldest and most charming inn. Formerly a rooster farm, Governor's home, V.I.P. guest house, and Dutch Royal Residence, it is ideally located in Philipsburg on a white sand beach amidst enchanting tropical gardens and enclosed within its original stone walls: a green oasis hidden on Front Street. A national landmark and one of the last bastions of West Indian culture, the Pasanggrahan is secluded and offbeat in the heart of St. Maarten’s capital, and it's a minute's stroll to shops, restaurants, casinos, banks and other institutions and activities. This authentic, colonial style inn has all the special features of a larger hotel including concierge service, the Sidney Greenstreet Bar, boardwalk beach bar, complementary chaise lounges, beach towels, and social hour. “A special place for special people” General Information"This vintage West Indian-style guesthouse has a prime spot on the beach in Philipsburg, sandwiched between the busy, narrow main street of Philipsburg and the harbor. It's set back and shaded under tall trees, a charming relic from another time. In fact, this was once the summer home of the Dutch Queen Wilhelmina, and the interior has a gracious, late-19th-century feel, with peacock bamboo chairs, Indian spool tables, and a gilt-framed oil portrait of the Dutch queen. The small- to medium-size accommodations have queen-size, double, or king-size beds with four-poster designs; some are in the main building and others are in an adjoining annex. The finest have genuine colonial flair, with antique secretaries and four-posters swaddled in mosquito netting, madras valances, hand-stitched quilts, beamed ceilings, and still life paintings. Set among lush palms is the harborfront Pasanggrahan Restaurant, which specializes in fresh fish caught by the hotel's own deep-sea charter fishing boat and family-style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse Hotel Philipsburg
Pasanggrahan Royal Hotel
Hotel Pasanggrahan Royal
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing