We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Days in Paradise”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Just got back from spending 5 wonderful days at the Belair. Most people stay the week but I wanted to use my Jet Blue passes. The hotel is directly on the beach with every room having an Ocean View. Gated security made me feel extremely safe. Like others have posted this is not an upper end Luxury resort but a home away from home. Place is immaculate and some of the rooms are being renovated. Many of the staff at the hotel have been there for more than 10 years. Every employee greeted us and smiled. Plenty of room to store your clothes with many drawers and closets. Kitchen is basic with large fridge, 2 burner cook top, toaster oven and microwave. Lots of utensils, pans and storage containers. Pool is on the smaller side but kids were having a great time in it. Gingerbread Cafe is very reasonable and we ate there 3 nights for dinner. Monday BBQ night was only 17 a person for adults and I think 10 for kids. Ribs were delicious and home made potato salad was awesome. Make sure to make reservations for it. I liked the staff and the Cafe as well. Lobster was great on another night costing approximately 30 dollars or so. Only had one breakfast there and it was 6.50 for 2 eggs, bacon, sausage and toast. Washers and dryers(2 for the entire place located on the 4th floor for a charge of 2.50 for washer and the same for dryer with soap 1.50 charge tokens available at the desk) Did a load before I left and make sure that you go in the morning early if you don't want to wait.

Cabs are very expensive and regulated by the government. The set price from the airport to the hotel was 15 dollars for 2 people and increases for each additonal person. Very reasonable. We paid 8 dollars each way to get into Phillipsburg. Nice shopping on the boardwalk and ate at the Green Lantern for an appetizer and Happy hour. New restaurant Fusion was very good and staff and owner were very friendly.

Took a cab to Marigot and took the Ferry over to Anguilla. Ferry costs 40 round trip per person including taxes. Make sure to bring a passport. Cab fare to Shoal Bay was a whopping 22 each way for 2 people. Anguilla is breathtaking. We rented 2 chairs and an umbrella for 10 dollars and ate at Elodias for lunch. Staff really nice, food okay. Lunch was 10 for a hamburger and fries. Look for the yellow umbrellas on the end. Make sure that you look at the return ferry schedule. Water a bit choppy and not for the queasy. Used an Internet Cafe right across from the Ferry in Marigot for 2 dollars for 15 minutes of internet access.

Rented a phone from the Queen of St Maarten located in the Palm Resort right on the way from the airport. You can easily have the cab driver stop there and run into pick up the phone. I spent a lot 80 for the week but it really beats paying for the calls from the room. They drop off the phone to your hotel for an additonal 5 dollar charge. Very happy with them

Dined out for dinner only twice off the property. Went to Simpson Bay to The Boat House for Lobster Special of $36 dollars for a delicious broiled lobster with salad and fries. Staff was really great and service during slow season was quick. Cab fare is 12 dollars for 2 each way. Check with Lorna at the activities desk and she will give you a ten percent off coupon. Fusion right in Phillipsburg was reasonable with most entrees $28 dollars on average each.

Lorna from the activities desk has lived in St Maarten a long time. Many enjoyed the Garfield for a snorkel tour that they said was very reasonable and awesome.

I recommend using Roy for cabs as the hotel desk will get a hold of him and he is extremely professional, reliable and will be there as promised. We used him to go back to the airport and he was even early waiting for us. We would go to dinner and he would returned as promised at a given time.

To sum it up this place is worth going back to. Certainly not upscale but served our needs well.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SuzanneSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2008

It was with great surprise that I read the previous review which recommended the Belair Beach Hotel. We are RCI timeshare owners and have been using their resorts with great success for almost 20 years. Until this one. We exchanged our RCI timeshare for 2 rooms in the last week of June, and ranged in age from 2-58 years old as this was a family reunion. We expected the older rooms thanks to the Tripadvisor's reviews and they were clean and comfortable. What we didn't expect were the extremely bad attitudes of most of the staff there.

I have 2 children aged 6years and 20 months. The 20 month old baby enjoyed showering on the beach. She was shouted at daily by the beach attendents (yes, really) for using the shower and "putting sand into it" (did I mention that this shower was ON the beach?). We laughed it off the first couple of days, and later reported it to management, who "understood their staff's point of view" and did not apologize for the inappropriate treatment of my kids!

One day, after we'd been at the beach for hours and our towels were soaked, I asked for fresh towels for the pool. What a mistake. I was informed that if we took additonal towels there wouldn't be enough towels for the next day, and guests were limited to a single towel per day. When I asked why the staff couldn't wash the towels in one of the (always empty) laundromats that are in the hotel, I was told that the staff are too busy. Indeed, the very busy beach attendants spent all day sleeping on the beach loungers (when they weren't shouting at my children). Again, Kelvin, the manager, supported his staff and asked "what our problem was" whilst shouting at my dad and sister.

The food at the Gingerbread cafe was average on good days and we had bad meat hotdogs being served to the children on bad ones. The waitresses threw the food down infront of us, and it was an effort to get cutlery.

The place's saving grace is it's beautiful location. The beach and ocean are beautiful with great snorkelling. We had a good vacation in spite of the Belair's Bad Attitude Staff.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CaSarel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_dick, owner at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2008

We are owners of one week at Bel Air Beach Hotel. This last June was our third trip there. My husband & I have been alone once, with an adult friend once, and in June we took our daughter and 3 grandchildren, ages 8, 6, 4. We have always found the staff friendly and hospitable. We have never encountered anything like the attitudes you reported. The Gingerbread Cafe people are lovely, and the head bartender remembered us this year. The manager of the cafe is wonderful too. Everyone very gracious. The beach attendants are a little laid back, but is is the Caribbean! Slow down and enjoy.
Dick & Karen Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Our family - 2 parents, kids 19 & 27, just returned from a week at the Belair Beach Hotel. At first I was disappointed to be on the first floor, but we loved it! It was so great to just walk out the door and be on the beach. The beach was very clean and the staff provided chairs, umbrellas & towels. The water was clear and warm and wonderful!

It is an older resort, but fine for us. The bedrooms weren't large, but the living area was fine, and there were enough closets/wardrobes.
We cooked breakfast and most lunches. We ate a couple times at the Gingerbread Cafe which was very good. The Chicken & Ribs Barbecue on Monday night was delicious, very reasonably priced, and had a steel band. We also enjoyed "Happy hour" as the Cafe was open to the air and ocean.

Travelling around the island wasn't so much fun as there was a lot of traffic, and not all roads were marked. But we liked our beach so much we just hung out there and had a great relaxing vacation.

We would definitely go back to the Belair.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VTsoxfan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Two friends and I just returned from a week's vacation in St. Maarten. This was a girl's only trip.....so we wanted a hotel where we would feel safe. Our stay at the Belair Beach Hotel was wonderful! They had 24-hour security, and we felt safe our entire visit. If you are looking for a comfortable, peaceful, quiet place to stay, you will like this hotel. The staff quickly made us feel welcome and relaxed. It is an older hotel, not fancy, but very clean. Our two bedroom unit had tile floors with wicker furniture throughout. The two bathrooms could use some updating, but were very clean. The kitchen had a microwave, toaster oven, full size frig and a two burner stove. All of the units are facing the ocean--sliding glass doors across the entire front of the unit lead to the large balcony. So the view is amazing. We watched people parasailing and jetskiing, and saw cruise ships coming and going from Philipsburg. I loved the beach. It is used by hotel guests only and swimming in Little Bay was great. No big waves and many people snorkeling. No need to bring beach towels--the hotel supplies them. Most of the people we met at the hotel were middle aged couples and families. So the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed.

We had several meals at the hotel restaurant, the Gingerbread Cafe. The cafe is next to the pool and beach, with a beautiful view of the water. It was our favorite place to hang out in the evening....very relaxed atmosphere. The food was delicious and so were the frozen drinks. They had live entertainment two nights, local musicians playing island music.

The hotel has an hour long orientation Sunday morning with Lorna, who tells you about scheduled tours and boat excursions. If you want to venture out on your own to sightsee and shop, renting a car is a necessity. The narrow roads and mountains make it impossible to walk anywhere outside of the resort.

This was our first trip to the Belair Beach Hotel. My favorite things were.....the friendly staff, 24-hour security, the beautiful beach, and the Gingerbread Cafe! It is definitely a place you want to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeachgirlOxford_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We have just returned from St Maarten and stayed in three resorts during our time there. The Belair was definately the best of all three. We could not have asked for anything more. The customer service was excellent. The security around the resort gave a very safe and secure feeling. All the staff and I do mean all the staff were fun, friendly and very welcoming. The best thing about this resort is the setting...every room faces the ocean and has huge sliding doors that open right up so it feels like there is nothing between you and the beautiful veiw. The rooms are clean and even if they need a bit of an update in the second bathrooms it was just right for us. We had our 6 year old granddaugther with us and the pool, while not large was just enough for her when she needed a change from the ocean. The waves may have been a bit large at first but we soon realized that it just depends on the weather and every day we were able to swim safely right infront of our room. The staff on the beach would have our towels, umbrella and chairs ready for us everyday. The Gingerbread cafe had resonabley priced and tasty meals when we did not want to leave the resort or cook for ourselves. The laundry room was clean and easy to use, never had to wait for the machines. The resort is nicely situated between Philipburg and Simpsons Bay so it was very easy to get anywhere on the island. We would definately go back to the Belair. It was awesome and we would recomend a visit to this resort .

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachgirl4ever33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Just got back from a six day stay at the Belair Beach Hotel and I have zero complaints! I was immediately impressed by the friendliness of all the staff there. They were more than accommodating and helped us with whatever we needed. The hotel itself is located on a beautiful beach that is shared by only one other property which makes it very nice and peaceful. Its location is about a 5 minute cab ride away from Philipsburg in one direction and the Simpson Bay area in the other. I found the location perfect because the hotel was in a nice, quiet area but we were still so close to many of the activities that we wanted to do.

I agree with some of the previous reviews - the hotel probably could use a few updates, but it is by no means dirty or falling apart. The bed was comfortable, the shower was clean, the kitchen had everything you could need. The best part of the room was the view. Every room has a long balcony with a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea.

I didn't find renting a car necessary for the entire week, but I did rent a car through the service at the hotel for one day which was easy and fairly inexpensive (about $50 for the day which is less than it would've cost to take a cab all the way to the other side of the island and back). Otherwise, taxis are always available and reasonably priced as well.

Lorna at the activities desk was also very helpful. We were able to book a few activities through her and she also gave us great tips on places to eat and a few coupons as well.

Downstairs there is Jody's Place which is a pretty small store, but has the basics as far as food, snacks, suntan lotion, etc. Jody is a very fun person if you get to meet her and has great suggestions about where to go and what to do.

I loved the Gingerbread Cafe! It was a great place for drinks and food. It's right on the beach and very casual. Breakfasts there were yummy and the view can't be beat. They often had live entertainment at night, so even if you don't eat dinner there you can sit out on the balcony and enjoy the music.

I think the best part about the hotel was the beach. Once you get downstairs, it is only a few steps the the water which is crystal clear. We were there the first week in May and the beach was not crowded at all. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas to choose from and you can get clean beach towels from the guys down toward the end of the beach every day.

I was completely impressed with the hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for an easy, relaxing vacation.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank NYGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Because of other reviews, we knew what to expect when we got to Belair. Thanks to everyone who wrote the reviews!

The hotel is older. The tile and the bathroom fixtures are older, and not spotless like you would find it a more expensive resort. That was the only downfall of this place for us.

The space is laid out very nicely. We were in a two bedroom, two bath. All units have balconies over the ocean - twenty feet long and six feet wide. There are double glass doors the entire length of the balcony, so you always have a great view from the kitchen, dinette area, and living room. The living room had two full sofas and a t.v. There was a smaller t.v. in the master bedroom.

I was impressed with the kitchenware. It was all newer and clean - not afraid to use it, given that others had. All the essentials were there - blender, coffee maker, toaster oven which also bakes and broils, two burners, microwave, full refrigerator and sink. Dish detergent and a new wrapped sponge was there as well as ceramic dishes, glass drinkware and utensils.

It's very close to the ocean. Very quiet for us - many times we were two of only a few people on the beach. We thought the beach was beautiful and weren't enticed to go to many other beaches because it was so convenient being close to a kitchen and our stuff.

If you stay at this hotel you MUST rent a car! You cannot travel around this island on foot; it is small but the terrain is very mountainous and there is no place for pedestrians on the road.

The Gingerbread Cafe was so-so. We only ate there once; the food was ok. We shopped at a local grocery store and prepped food in the kitchen, which is fine for us. If you love a good restaurant, you have to go elsewhere, to another resort down the way, or to town. We had dinner one night at the Divi which is the next hotel down the beach and it was very good.

The maid service is very nice; they clean and empty garbages every day, including doing any dishes that you haven't gotten to yet.

We enjoyed the quieter atmosphere at this place and the privacy. We didn't see a lot of other guests - they were probably living it up at casinos or seeing the sights on the island.

The pool is very small. Ok for kids, not for adults who actually want to swim; for that, you have the ocean.

Do not get a first floor room unless you want to be next to the beach so badly that you don't mind people seeing in your suite.

Water pressure, air conditioning, electricity, all worked fine. There is no fitness center or business center. You have to pay $3 for 15 minutes of internet usage on a very old computer, but if you are just checking in at home or with flights, it's fine. Not for long term use though.

The safe in the room is the old fashioned kind, not the key card kind. We liked that, it seemed very secure.

If you go, enjoy your stay, and remember to put sunscreen on your ears! Enjoy a catamaran cruise to St. Barts if you can! It's worth the money!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank FloppyHatNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
3.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Philipsburg
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
70 reviews
2.8 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £192 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing