We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
197
202
63
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
202
63
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gingerbread cake starlite car rental monday night wine and cheese party simpson bay older hotel living room grocery store onsite restaurant small kitchen ribs time share st maarten fourth floor watch the cruise ships week stay chairs and umbrellas
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Two Bedroom condo was very nice two Full baths large balcony beds were comfy very clean. It was are first time to St Maartin and I would highly suggest getting a car or Jeep the very first day! The taxi from the airport for 4 of us was $30 after we checked in another $20 to go to the store and back. $50.00 round trip to Pineapple Pete's for dinner needless to say the next day we got a Jeep for the rest of the week. Plan on at least $100 a night for Dinner for 4 even hambergers. We went to a very nice french resturant located right behind Cheri's the bill was $400 with two bottles of wine best ever french onion soup lobster and cream burlee but well worth a nice evening the staff was wonderful. The little Italian resturant next store was very good also! The last night was ended up at a little place called first round had a great time singing keroke (never did that before) the menu looked a little odd no prices but we ordered anyway the food was great Caribbean food I'm not sure of the price we stayed there till 2am and with the four of us it ended up around $200. Being in a condo I had packed lunch meat, frozen egg beaters, pre cooked bacon frozen butter hard rolls cereal paper towels coffee sugar etc I suggest taking as much as you can pack being an Island everything is very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hguzewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Belair Beach for a week, with friends. This was our second trip. The suite has two bedrooms. We were on the top floor, which I recommend. It has a large balcony which provides a great view and a nice place to relax. The hotel is convenient to Phillipsburg. It also has an on-site car rental (Brinks, I think) which makes arranging for a car rental and picking up and dropping off at the airport quite simple.. Since we sampled many of the restaurants on St. Maarten, we only ate at the Gingerbread Cafe one time, but the food was good and the service great for the island. While we sampled many of the beaches on the island, we spent our late evening time at the resort beach and we found it to be great for swimming or just hanging around.

The hotel is older, and if you want all the bells and whistles you might want to go elsewhere. It is not fancy but who is going to go to St. Maarten and spend all their time inside? We had one air conditioning problem that was quickly repaired by staff. We enjoyed the Belair and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbwmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Belair Beach Hotel is a timeshare property that we rented for a week and it was a tremendous value, since we went off season. The Belair condo is very spacious with two full baths and two bedrooms, although one bedroom is very small, which was okay. The living area is very comfortable, the kitchen adequate and the balcony is the best part of all. It is large and overlooks the water, which is an amazing blue, and you can sit and watch the cruise ships, catamarans, etc.

The beach itself is good with okay sand, no rocks in the water, okay snorkeling by the jetty. There are plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas and you are actually assigned a spot with chairs, etc. for the entire length of your stay. The beach gets pretty busy,, which is not surprising as the Belair seems to run at pretty full occupancy. If you want to spread out a little more, there is the beach right next door at the Divi, which is much larger and doesn't seem to be as crowded. In comparison to Belair, the Divi is enormous. The Belair has a pool, but it's really for the kids, which there were a lot of there, as it's pretty small.

The restaurant onsite, the Gingerbread cafe, is actually pretty good. They have a barbecue for $17.00 on Monday night, all you can eat, with amazing grilled baby back ribs, chicken and all sides. So a pretty good value, really. The regular dinner prices are on par with the rest of the island, maybe a little less, as food is priced as a full dinner and not a la carte.

We did rent a car for two days and there is a rental desk onsite, which is very convenient. The island is not too difficult to navigate and the other beaches are well worth checking out, especially on the French side of the island.

The tennis court on site is actually up the drive and on the main road, so not too private for sure.

The license plates on the Dutch side of the island say "the friendly island" or something like that, and that is definitely an overstatement or maybe just wishful thinking. Nobody was particularly rude, but no one very friendly, either, with the exception of the front desk at Belair - they were great.

One small annoyance - lots of cigar smoking on the beaches, which drove me nuts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookiecArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I was a little concerned about our hotel from what I read on the web and some reviews but was surprised when we got there. Like another traveler we weren't allowed to check in until 4 and we got there at like 2. I found the front desk people NOT helpful at all. Meanwhile, we went to the Gingerbread Cafe to eat and kill time. Lovely view, food was good but service was lousy! and then on top of that they add 15% to your bill. Gives them no incentive to give good service. But other than that... it was great!!! It could use a little sprucing up but man it was clean!! There was even a guy that came by to clean the screens in our windows! The room was very nice and spacious. The 2nd bedroom was small but you only sleep there! The tile work in our 2nd bathroom was beautiful. And the balcony!! OMG loved it. We had the sugar birds come by... we put koolaid in a bowl (red) and they were entertainment for the week. The staff (excluding front desk) was soooo nice..even the car folks...despite a flat tire issue. DO THE GARFIELD it is AMAZING...LOVED IT. SOOOO WORTH IT. Lorna will tell you to go to Caribbean gems... they are nice...but I found Jay at J's Best Jewlers (first jeweler on right coming from the Jump Casino) Tell him David and Patty from NC sent ya. Bought an exquisite blue diamond from him!! I just loved it. If you are going there...email me (paralegalnc@yahoo.com) I'll give you insite... BTW all stores closed on Sundays and don't waste your money hauling golf clubs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paralegalnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Went June 20th-28th....Had a great time with family.. Do the Garfeild cruise boat. and the highlight of the trip is going to the island of Saba. the resort has alot of mishaps but once you open the curtians to the Caribbean Ocean, who cares if it is not 5 stars. You have the true Caribbean feel to the resot.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Prancer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews