We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belair,Very Nice”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nash.Tn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Belair,Very Nice”
Reviewed 29 December 2006

Hi,the Belair Resort is a well maintained older t/s property & I was impressed from check-in to check-out.I've been to SXM and stayed in various T/S resorts & it is right up there with the rest.I arrived on the island on Friday 11/24 and stayed @ the Royal turtle for the night---$125 & a full breakfast-----can't beat that. Sat. am went to Belair and inquired about an early check-in and was told to return around 1pm.I did that and Bulah the attendant at check-in processed me and I was on my way to my fourth floor -2 bedroom unit.The unit was in the center of the resort with the most "FANTASTIC VIEW" of Little Bay----absolutely perfect!! The view of the daily migration of cruise ships in and out of Great Bay was something to see-----especially in the AM while having breakfast on the "full width" terrace.I love the idea of assigning beach chairs for the entire stay-----on the beach right below our unit.....no morning scramble to find and place towels on chairs.The beach is very nice-----never crowded----gentle slope into the ocean----and very sandy---loved it.Bamboo firniture is "std" caribbean & I don't have a problen with it as others do.The unit was clean --neat- colorful ---a full kitchen---master b/room with a king----small 2nd bedroom with it's bath room.The associates were warm and friendly and we loved the place and we will certainly consider staying their in the future.

DiveDive2@aol.com

  • Liked — Not crowded----nice beach---nice people----nice unit
  • Tips/Secrets — Go and enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank divedive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    185
    60
    27
    15
See reviews for
160
145
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
N Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

My family and I are avid travelers, we've been to many places in the U.S. and abroad. Other than the direct beach front million dollar view we were truely dissappointed. The Belair Beach Hotel needs a face lift as well as new management.
If out-dated run down accomodations are your thing then this is place for you. You can usually find the staff clumped together by the rear elevator. The only time they move is when its time to go home or when they are tending to the many cats that are living on the property. Once you get down to the beach make sure you are ready to get your assigned beach chair for the duration of your stay. The towel clerk says they have been doing it this way for ten years. I can't see this system lasting that long. Shade is adequate in most areas, but when it isn't, too bad. The restaurant is akin to a roadside cafe with no windows or a/c, however, the food was fresh and tasty. The bartender and most of the wait staff were friendly. The A/C worked great. All kitchen utencils needed to be washed before using. Maid service is once a week unless you want to pay 29.00 a day extra.
A visit to the French side is a must. The people were friendlier and the food excellent. For a wonderful dining experience eat at Le Pressoir Restaurant in Grand Case, A four star restaurant.
I will be back to St. Maarten, it is a beautiful island.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — room, pool, restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rg12608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2006

Just returned from St. Maarten where we traded are timeshare to stay at the Belair. This is our second time in St. Maarten and the first time at the Belair. The best thing I can say is the beach is beautiful and private with wonderful views. However, the hotel is very out dated eventhough they are currently recovering the fabric on the furniture. The second bedroom only has a double and one can hardly move around in it. The master is not much better with a king. Rooms were clean and no bugs apparent.
The restaurant on site is poor and the staff in general is average. The best were the guys on site who we rented the rental car from. There is also no gym on site. Love St. Maarten but would not stay at the Belair again. Diva resort next to it is very nice.

  • Liked — Beach and views
  • Disliked — Age of building and room sizes
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick another hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank starsandstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

We stayed at The Belair Beach Club August 26th - September 9th 2006 with my sister in law and her husband (who are American).
Check-in ; we arrived early, but within 15mins we were in our room unpacking. Very friendly and efficient.
Apartment ; all apartments are two bedroomed. 1 large, 1 small each with their own bathroom. Clean and comfortable.
Living area : the kitchen was small but had everything we needed to cook meals. We mainly ate breakfast and lunch in the room and ate out in the evening. We had a dining area and two sofas and tv/vcr. Plenty of room for 4 adults. The best part was the balcony which ran the full length of the room. Looking out onto the sea watching cruise ships arrive and leave............
On a whole the apartments are spacious clean and comfortable with fantastic views.
The beach was clean and only a dozen steps from the ground floor apartments, ideal if you have children.
The pool is very very small but very very warm, again perfect for children and hey who needs a pool when you have the Carribean Ocean on the doorstep.
The Gingerbread Cafe/Bar is run by Rufus and an army of the most friendly and helpful people you could hope to meet. His food whether it be a snack or A la Carte was fantastic and reasonably priced given the location. Do not miss it..
It was our first time to St. Martin but it will not be our last. Hire a car, go explore, eat at Jimbos in Simpson Bay, if you have kids take your cossies and eat at the swim up bar. There are bars and restaurants galore in Simpson Bay, 1 better than the other. Phillipsburg is a must for shopping, husbands beware, mine is still recovering.....
Anyone with any questions about the area please feel free to e-mail me at lboucher@blueyonder.co.uk and if I can help make your hols as perfect as ours.............
Go, relax and enjoy. Sleep when your tired, eat when your hungry.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank LynJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

After reading the reviews posted by several people on the Belair, I was somewhat nervous about my trip. But... it was a wonderful hotel! Not fancy, not top of the line, but it had a great beach, nice, spacious living and eating area and a very large patio with huge windows. We were 12 steps away from a nice, small but cozy beach. I loved the location of our room-ground floor- Room 156.

Check in was smooth and easy. The front desk personnel were friendly and laid back.

Our room had one large bedroom and one small bedroom. Each had their own bathrooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Again-nothing fancy but very comfortable.

The rooms were VERY cold-but it felt great when you came in from the hot sun.

The kitchen was small but workable. My girlfriend and I cooked breakfast each day for our husbands and we all ate on the patio.
We kept beers and food purchased from Le Grand Marche in the fridge.

The patio was the length of the room and the windows overlooking the beach were large.

We couldn’t wait to wake up and throw open the large curtains and look out into the beautiful sea!

The pool is small.

The staff was helpful and pleasant. My husband suffered a real bad sunburn and the gardener gave me an aloe plant to put on his back-They inquired about his condition regularly! Very nice and kind people.

Belair has an excursion / island expert on staff that is very charming and very smart-Ms. Lorna. You should attend the orientation. I highly recommend the day trip to Anguilla- her husband owns the boat and it was a wonderful experience. He took us to three beautiful and distinctly different snorkeling areas, the snacks and drinks were nice and the luncheon was surprisingly good. The staff on the boat was kind and very accommodating.

There is a car rental on the premises and they were helpful.

When we would take our morning walks and pass the adjacent hotels, we noticed how far from the beach the rooms were, how small their patios were and their beach was not as nice as ours. Ours had coziness and just enough of a wave to make it fun.

The restaurant at the hotel was a bit expensive. We ate at Johnnie B Under the Tree and Yvette's Place most of the time-food was very tasty, reasonable and plentiful.

Overall-I would definitely come back to the Belair. It has been 20 years since we've been to St Marten and a great deal has changed. A bit more commercial but still a fantastic place to visit.

If anyone wants specific details, please feel free to email me at Cassandre_Epps@bd.com

Helpful?
21 Thank DrCass50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We stayed at the Belair for an extended family vacation (8 adults and 5 kids) July 1-9. The hotel was relatively clean and the 2 bedroom units are ideal for a family of 4. The Belair is located right on a beach with crystal clear water and small waves. It was a great place for the kids to play. Getting chairs or towels was never an issue. The pool, however, is very, very small. The restaurant at the hotel was fine... but most all of the food in St. Maarten was a bit expensive. As long as you rent a car, the location of the hotel is no problem. St. Maarten is lots of fun to explore by car, and they can be rented for less than $30/day right at the hotel.

Lorna, the hotel's activity coordinator/concierge, can provide you with a wealth of knowledge. She recommended several restaurants, beaches and tours. Extremely helpful. Her best recommendation was for the all day snorkeling tour on the Swaliga II. That was the most wonderful day of our vacation... you, too, may be lucky enough to see a sting ray, sea turtle and barracuda in addition to all the other colorful reef fish (worth every penny!).

If you are traveling with children, you must have lunch at Jimbo's (another Lorna recommendation) and make sure the kids bring their swimsuits. Layla's on the Beach is a lovely french restaurant which turned out great for the kids but you could tell as the evening progressed became a very nice bar scene for the adults. Chesterfield's restaurant is on a marina and a decent family place. There were several restaurants along the beach in Phillipsburg that looked very interesting, but we didn't discover them until it was time to go home.

The only complaint I would have about St. Maarten is the service... almost everywhere. At the Belair you will be amazed at how many of the housekeeping staff have time to just sit or lounge around. In restaurants, do not expect to be offered drink refills, or to be checked on at all while waiting up to 1 1/2 hours for your food. They call it "island time" but it really boils down to poor service. You will thoroughly enjoy St. Maarten and the Belair as long as you do not expect to be pampered in a luxurious setting.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank chkirkpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
1.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
3.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing