We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful time in St Maarten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fall River, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful time in St Maarten”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just got back from a week at the Divi Little Bay Beach Resort and it was the best vacation we've had. Juan and Nigel, bar tenders at Gizmo's and Sea Breeze, were fantastic. They both worked tirelessly to keep our drinks full, they were fun, full of smiles, friendly... just everything you want in your bartenders while on vacation.

The rest of the staff at Divi were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with an incredible water view. The food at Gizmo's and the Sea Breeze was good, while the food at Toucan's was wonderful! Breakfast buffet ($16.00/person) was complete, the food very good. Evening buffet ($30.00/person) was outstanding. Saturday night is Prime Rib and it was excellent!! Friday night was A Taste Of The Caribbean and was very good (though I thought the roast pork, while very tasty, was just a little dry). The beach, of course, was gorgeous!

Juan and Nigel, however, really made the evenings at Gizmo's fun and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    726
    303
    136
    109
See reviews for
544
1,064
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a week at Divi and loved every minute. We could walk right out on to the beach from our room. There was so much to do right at Divi - parasailing, snorkeling, scuba diving, spa, jet skis, paddle boards. They also arranged a trip for us to do the rhino boat snorkeling tour. The restaurants were great and the entertainment lively. So close to everything if you ever leave the resort. We are considering buying a timeshare here so we can come back every year.

Room Tip: Ground floor with a patio and steps to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 368LynnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had visited St Maarten on many cruises and always wanted to stay here. Our stay was for a week at the Divi Little Bay. We had a late arrival and had no issues checking in since it was very quiet at that time. I do hear that the afternoons can be quite busy at the front desk so be prepared to wait if you arrive during the rush.

The resort is split into 2 sections. The hotel section is 3 buildings with 2 stories. The timeshare section looks more like Villas. We used a friend’s timeshare and had a Studio with wonderful views of Little Bay. The room was a bit outdated but very clean and plenty of space. Best part of the Studio was a large balcony that came with a table/chairs and 2 lounge chairs. We sat out here many times just looking at the beautiful views. Had a small kitchenette including a cook top, coffee maker, toaster and small refrigerator. It was well equipped with cookware, dishes and utensils as well. The bathroom was large with separate shower and jetted tub. Housekeeping changes your towels and takes your trash on a daily basis. Room is cleaned on Wednesdays but if you need an extra full cleaning, it is available for a fee.

The resort has 3 restaurants. We ate at the buffet the first night and it was very good. The Gizmo bar is great for drinks and the Seabreeze, which is next to one of the pools, is a nice location for lunch. The beach is very calm and we never had issues getting chairs and an umbrella. There is great snorkeling right off the beach. If you are willing to swim a little further (about half a mile) there is a dive site and a Tiki Bar. Daily we saw boat tours bringing snorkelers and divers to this site. There is a sunken shipwreck and a helicopter. Never saw a sunken helicopter before so that was pretty cool. At the beach, you are also able to rent kayaks, jet skis and practically anything else that is water related. Scuba diving excursions can also be booked here and they are very reasonable. There is an infinity pool at the far end of the timeshare section that is great for watching sunsets. We also enjoyed hiking up to Fort Amsterdam and watching the cruise ships leave.

Thrifty Rental Car is right on the property and we rented a Jeep for the week. I highly recommend renting a car because there is so much to see on the rest of the island. Taxis can be very expensive. It cost us $40 to get from the airport to the resort and it was a very short drive. Parking was free at all the beaches (Maho, Orient, Grand Case) and we managed to snag a spot in the town of Philipsburg for free too. Great restaurants in Simpson Bay. The hotel staff can give you great recommendations on places to eat depending on your taste.

Keep in mind that St Maarten gets extremely crowded during high season. We chose to go during the low season and never had an issue getting tables at popular restaurants or spots on the beaches. During high season it is recommended you make dinner reservations.

For the most part service at the resort is slow but everyone is very nice. This resort is primarily a timeshare so keep that in mind (more like renting a condo). You will be asked if you would like to attend a timeshare seminar but we were never harassed as some other reviewers mention.

Overall we loved being here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The majority of the rooms have water views but did notice one building next to the infinity pool whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just returned from a fantastic week at Divi. The resort is outstanding, we stayed in a Studio which was clean and comfortable and a great view of the bay. Room was cleaned once midweek with daily towel exchange and removal of garbage. The beach is the best on the island with excellent snorkling right in the bay. Even though we didn't eat at the resort the drinks are reasonable and have great happy hour specials. Nightly music/entertainment right at the resort which is great after a long day of enjoying the sun, beach and island. Check in and out was efficient, the staff is very will to help with any of your needs.
This was our 3rd time staying at Divi but our 5th time staying on the island. Can't wait to return to Divi on our next trip to SXM.

Room Tip: Every room at Divi has a fantastic view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The best location on the beach. We stay in studio, nice balcony just 5 meters from the bay.
The resort was quiet, they said low season.But we did enjoy.I like snorkeling in the bay.The best place I did in many years.
Check in and check out was quick.We ate at the restaurant twice : first day in Divi was buffet for $30 not the best, but second time from menu was very good.We did a couple of tours and most of the time stayed on the beach.
We like in the future return back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We came to have a relaxing vacation, to recharge and get away. This was perfect for us, the ocean and the pool were both within 50 feet of our door. The beach and pool were warm. The ocean was mostly calm, there was great snorkeling right in our bay, so we rented gear for a day and were very surprised with the variety and quantity of fish along the rocky side of the bay. Down side was that all the food served was imported including the fish which surprised us, so it all tasted like frozen food not fresh. The people are friendly and very helpful, but don't expect quick service. The room was nice, clean and comfortable, and the staff fixed the few complaints we had. As for trips off the resort, we went to Phillipsburg, Front street to shop and dine, being Oct there weren't many ships yet so that made it nice not so busy and we enjoyed the many shops and cafés Would we visit again ? Yes

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My fifth trip to SXM and my first stay at the Divi. The staff was always very helpful and went out of the way to fulfill my room request. I would return just for the view. The calm beach was fabulous. We generally spend more time in the pool but my family just loved the crystal clean, warm water of the ocean. The only time we ate at the resort was at the breakfast buffet which was very good. We have stayed at many resorts over more than 20 years of trading and will return to the Divi for the location and the views of Great Bay.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms will give you the best view but I can't imagine that many rooms have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing