We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location...Needs Some Improvements...Be Aware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location...Needs Some Improvements...Be Aware!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our stay at Divi Little Bay was, for the most part, enjoyable. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted at the front desk. These folks were great. Our room was ready early, so the bell hop took everything to our room. Once inside our room (a 2nd floor time share suite facing Great Bay), I felt time warped into 1980. Living room furniture was not updated in quite some time. Kitchen was a little better. But for the time we expected to be in the room, it was fine. However, after 3 days of rain, I wished for something a little better.

We booked our stay from a Monday to Monday. On Friday morning, we had a letter in our door telling us that they were moving us to another room. We had to physically check out of our original room by 11;00 am Saturday, they would hold our luggage, and our new room would be available by 4:00 pm Saturday. Evidently, the owner of the time share was coming down on Saturday and wanted his unit. Front desk claimed that we signed off on allowing Divi to "relocate" us if necessary. After a very unpleasant couple hours, and not being able to produce that paperwork, we were allowed to stay in our original room. End result was fine. Would strongly suggest reading your paperwork before signing or initialing when you check in. And also confirm in writing that you have your room for the entire length of your stay.

As for the restaurants, there are much better all over the island. Gizmo's pizza was very good. Sea Breeze sandwiches were just ok. Toucan's was very overpriced for the quality served. Granted, most meals are buffets, but still. There is a happy hour everyday at different times at different bars.

The beach was beautiful. It is not white sand, but it is sand. Chairs and umbrellas were plentiful. Finding someone to get an umbrella was another story.

We also had an issue with our AC unit. It would not turn off. Thermostat could be set at 80, temp was mid 60's in the unit. Called maintenance. They were going to have a HVAC guy out first thing hte next morning. Not sure if they ever came, but nothing got fixed. Guess it was better than the AC not working at all.

All in all, if the weather cooperated, it was a nice week. Eliminating the drama of having to change rooms would have been a big plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We'd like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that we gave you such prompt and warm welcome at our front desk and that we were, despite how busy the resort was, able to check you in earlier then our official check in time.

We're sorry that you did not like the decor in our Great Bay units. I can assure you that they all have the same furniture & that the furniture is not from the 1980’s. Also, all of the kitchens have granite counter tops and high quality wooden cabinets.

We're also sorry that it unfortunately rained for 3 days as I can imagine that this was not something you were expecting when traveling to a sunny tropical island such as St. Maarten.

We're not exactly sure as to what happened with the confusion around a possible room change, however, I am happy that you eventually were able to stay in your room. We're deeply sorry for this inconvenience though.

With the several food and beverage outlets, we hope we can cater to everyone’s wishes as all outlets offer another menu. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Our resort has a very large sandy beach compared to the other resorts on the island as well the best snorkel sites. Please know that every beach on our island, as on all the other surrounding islands, have a different color sand, some are more grey and some are even more yellow.

I hope that you will still like to visit our beautiful island and resort again in the future. Hopefully, our weather will be much better next time around! After all, sand on a beach looks much whiter when the sun shines nice and bright!

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    738
    305
    138
    109
See reviews for
550
1,083
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed taking advantage of a time share here. The room was great with the perfect view and right next to the infinity pool. The room had a kitchen with everything we needed and a bathroom with shower and jacuzzi which was nice. The food was good but unfortunately not enough options available. Gizmos bar was good (Gizmo is awesome) but had a tiny menu and the buffet was overpriced at $30 a person. The other bar restaurant closes in the afternoon. We snorkeled which was fine and went up to fort amsterdam where there were great views. The main complaint I have with this resort is that the staff is almost completely incompetant and unfriendly. We had issues with checking in and checking out and also with the key to our room and there was also a very annoying lady by the name of darlene that kept pressuring me to take a tour to purchase a time share. The resort host was very nice and personable. He would check in with us to make sure everything was ok everyday. Not alot of activities on the resort but we did take a snorkeling tour which went to 3 different islands and we got to snorkel with sea turtles and coral which was awesome. Captain Alan Tours (Highly recommended). We also visited the St. Maarten zoo which was very fun and interesting for little money. We also we to Cheri's Cafe where we saw a very entertaining show for haloween and enjoyed some very tasty food. I would definately return and hopefully they acquire some more personable and capable staff members by that time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the fort on the far left of the beach are better but are at the top of a steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

the resort needs security cameras. One of our hubcaps was stolen the evening before leaving. Mgm't acted like it was all our problem...never offered any type of reimbursement and could care less. Total replacement cost...$100 I'm convinced its a well known $$$ racket going on.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akhomerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Where do I start? The room was spacious, clean, and well equipped. The kitchen had a stove top, oven, fridge, microwave, blender, and toaster. We bought supplies for breakfast and some snacks so we didn't use the kitchen much but it was nice to know it was there if we needed it. There's also a small grocery store on site for basic supplies and the local grocery store isn't far.

We rented a car because we don't like to stay at one place. We drove to several of the islands beaches and Little Bay was still our favorite. It was never busy, the entry into the ocean isn't as steep as most of the St Martin beaches, the sand was soft and not filled with too many shells.

There were several beach activities available. We rented the Hobie Cat (I don't think we would do that again) and went scuba diving (can't wait to do that again). We brought our own snorkel gear so we could snorkel all over. But some of the best snorkeling was out towards the Tiki Hut in Little Bay. Mullet Bay was pretty good as well.

They tell you there are three restaurants on site. Really there is one and two bars that serve you food. We ate at all three. The food was good. Gizmos was my favorite because I made friends with the bird (her name is Gizmo) but she's a bit feisty. She enjoys cherries and pineapple. The prices aren't terrible but don't be surprised to see the 15% service charge on everything.

The location was easy to get to Simpson Bay and Phillipsburg. I would recommend getting a rental car for at least part of your stay. There are several activities that will pick you up in Little Bay but some of our favorites only left from Simpson Bay or Phillipsburg.

We checked in early and lucky our room was ready so they let us in but if not, they would hold your luggage so you can enjoy the beach until your room is ready. Check out was easy too. Make sure you take the towel card with you or else they'll charge you $25/towel.

We were in room 730, so we had a great view of Great Bay and privacy, perfect for our honeymoon. The headquarters for Divi is in North Carolina so you can call them to request a room or area, confirm your trip, etc. without paying international rates.

The staff was all very friendly and helpful. All of them speak English so it was easy for us to communicate with them.

Our tub was draining slowly. We stopped by the front desk to let them know on our way out and it was fixed before we got back. There was a steady stream of landscapers and maintenance people keeping the property in good working order.

Sunday is the resort orientation. Lots of vendors will be there to give you flyers. The resort manager will be there to talk about the staff and the resort a bit. They serve complimentary OJ and mimosas. There is a raffle as well. There were so few people at the one we went to that almost every table won twice. The best raffles were the day trips through the different vendors. Most of them were buy one get one free. We went on a day sail and a sunset cruise for half price. Monday is a manager's reception, free drinks and beer, live entertainment, and more raffles.

We did sit through the timeshare presentation. They were a little tough when we didn't want to buy but they weren't terrible.

Overall, we can't wait to go back. We loved everything about this resort, the location, the staff, the amenities, the beach, etc.

Room Tip: Buildings 9 and 10 have great views but they are a hike so not recommended for people with mobiliity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BC224802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary in St. Maarten, at the Divi Little Bay. It was a very memorable trip, for all the right reasons. Divi LB is a pretty big resort, but we felt very welcomed from our check-in (a bit of a wait on a Saturday afternoon) to our check-out. The staff were friendly. We especially connected with Julinia, our "concierge", and Nigel, our favorite bartender. We used all three of the pools, and all the bars (especially happy hour for guavaberry punch or coladas). The pool above Gizmo's bar was closest to our Casita (villa), and we spent a lot of time there, as well as the Seabreeze pool. The infinity pool at the south end of the resort was small, and crowded when we were there, but it has a great view. We spent some beach time as well, but really loved the pools. Our Casita was a pleasant surprise. We had a living room, kitchen, large bath and bedroom. But, we loved the porch off our bedroom, where we'd have iced coffee and a simple breakfast most mornings, looking out over Little Bay. The Casita was well furnished for our needs. The furniture could stand to be upgraded, but it certainly wasn't shabby.
I was concerned about being able to get around the island. The Divi is a bit remote. I read posts that folks had walked into Philipsburg from the resort, but it would be a long walk, and not particularly pleasant. We were dependent on taxis, which were a bit costly. Took a taxi to the grocery (Grand Marche) and into Philipsburg, as well as to Chesterfield's for our special anniversary dinner. We did rent a car for 24 hrs., and this enabled us to drive over to Simpson Bay and Cupecoy, and spend a good few hours at the Sunset Bar watching the planes come into the airport. If we went back, I'd rent a car for the week. They aren't expensive, and driving was not a problem. They drive on the right. We took a mini-bus tour of the whole island on Monday, sponsored by the resort, so we did get an overview. We also took a wonderful snorkel trip with Captain Alan, and it was a blast. Look at his Trip Advisor page.
We ate at the Toucan Restaurant on the resort twice, and had good meals. Got a voucher for the restaurant for sitting through a low-key time share presentation. We used the on-site Bayview Café a lot. Got iced coffee and pastries there several times for breakfast. We also had good pizza at Gizmo's bar. We walked down the beach to the Gingerbread Café in the neighboring Belair Beach Resort for both dinner and breakfast.
In summary, it was a beautiful week and we will consider going back. It was not crowded anywhere this time of year (October) and the weather was hot, but with very little rain. We have a list of things we'd like to do if we are able to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbc1psu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just got back from a week at the Divi Little Bay Beach Resort and it was the best vacation we've had. Juan and Nigel, bar tenders at Gizmo's and Sea Breeze, were fantastic. They both worked tirelessly to keep our drinks full, they were fun, full of smiles, friendly... just everything you want in your bartenders while on vacation.

The rest of the staff at Divi were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with an incredible water view. The food at Gizmo's and the Sea Breeze was good, while the food at Toucan's was wonderful! Breakfast buffet ($16.00/person) was complete, the food very good. Evening buffet ($30.00/person) was outstanding. Saturday night is Prime Rib and it was excellent!! Friday night was A Taste Of The Caribbean and was very good (though I thought the roast pork, while very tasty, was just a little dry). The beach, of course, was gorgeous!

Juan and Nigel, however, really made the evenings at Gizmo's fun and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a week at Divi and loved every minute. We could walk right out on to the beach from our room. There was so much to do right at Divi - parasailing, snorkeling, scuba diving, spa, jet skis, paddle boards. They also arranged a trip for us to do the rhino boat snorkeling tour. The restaurants were great and the entertainment lively. So close to everything if you ever leave the resort. We are considering buying a timeshare here so we can come back every year.

Room Tip: Ground floor with a patio and steps to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 368LynnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing