We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay Resort”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just spent a week at the Divi Little Bay Nov.16-23. First you will not be able to check-in early. I was there at 2pm and did not get checked-in until 4pm. The room was a renovated one bedroom. The renovation leaves a lot to be desired. The craftsmanship is poor. The king size bed was hard, like sleeping on the floor.Food service and bar personnel are rude.

The good. 1. Beach, 2. Grounds, 3. Sunsets, 4. Other Guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OGJPEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your response! Unfortunately, once we are in peak season, which started in November, it’s sometimes a challenge for us to be able to get all arriving guests checked in earlier than our official check-in time. Our official check in time is 4pm and I am sorry that we couldn’t check you in earlier than this.

We are, however, happy to read that you described your room as a renovated 1 bedroom. Although we were puzzled why you then wrote that our craftsmanship is poor? Although everyone has different personal tastes when it comes to mattresses, I am deeply sorry that our mattresses didn’t meet your wishes.

Also, as a resort who is dedicated to great customer service, we're sorry to hear that you felt our bar personnel and food service personnel were rude. We hope you were able to leave St. Maarten with many great memories and that we may welcome you again in the future to St. Maarten & our resort.

Thank you,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    756
    318
    139
    110
See reviews for
574
1,115
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

First Impression was terrible, it took almost an hour to check in! They insist you have a bell man drive you to your room, which was only 100 yards away. It was more trouble to load our luggage, get in the van, drive 300 feet, get out of the van, and unload our luggage. Once you get to your room, DO NOT leave the door open, otherwise you will be fighting mosquito's for the rest of your stay! The food, service, drinks, were all great! The beach and pools were very nice, with awesome service. The views were breath taking. Be prepared to drive or take a cab if you want to go off the complex! I would definitely stay here again, just bring some OFF!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your response. Keep in mind now that we have started our peak season, check-in can be very busy on Saturday’s because most guests stay in our resort from Saturday to Saturday and when full flights arrive with a lot of guests checking in all at the same time this can cause a delay to happen. I am sorry that due to this you described your first impression as being terrible. Please know that our bellmen are always available to take guests to their rooms as well as being able to offer assistance with carrying their luggage too.

St. Maarten, as well as the other Caribbean islands, is a very a tropical island and unfortunately, we do not have the ability to stop the mosquitoes especially during this time of the year when it rains more than normal.

We are pleased to read that you thought our food, service and drinks were all great as well as the beach and pools. And we'd agree that our views are indeed breathtaking.

We'd be happy to welcome you back again and I will personally make sure to put a can of OFF in your room for your stay next time! Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Divi Little Bay and on top of this the Dutch King & Queen also stayed at the resort! Our room was a cassita located near the pool and the beach. It really felt like our home for a week. The bed was perfect and all facilities were operating as they should (unlike other properties we have visited). The beach and watersport activities were great and very affordable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the real King and Queen were there, it felt like we were also being treated as royals!

Room Tip: try to book a dinner at the beach, it can't get more romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just spent a week at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort during the first week of November 2013. The location and accommodations was fantastic. My wife needed a stiffer mattress and a new stiffer mattress was delivered to the room. The beach, activities, and food was excellent. The activities director guided us to island activities that added to our island experience. We ate most breakfast and many lunches by use of the kitchen that had everything we needed to cook and eat with. The property is very well maintained. We were so pleased with our experience, we have already booked our 2014 vacation back at the "Liitle Bay" to continue the fun. Do not miss the experience!!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a fantastic view. Some rooms in building G do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Spent the week with friends to who have a timeshare at Little Divi Resort. It was wonderful! Great room, views and staff. Happy hours were a blast and the food was good too! It's a great place to spend the week!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmball5062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our stay at Divi Little Bay was, for the most part, enjoyable. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted at the front desk. These folks were great. Our room was ready early, so the bell hop took everything to our room. Once inside our room (a 2nd floor time share suite facing Great Bay), I felt time warped into 1980. Living room furniture was not updated in quite some time. Kitchen was a little better. But for the time we expected to be in the room, it was fine. However, after 3 days of rain, I wished for something a little better.

We booked our stay from a Monday to Monday. On Friday morning, we had a letter in our door telling us that they were moving us to another room. We had to physically check out of our original room by 11;00 am Saturday, they would hold our luggage, and our new room would be available by 4:00 pm Saturday. Evidently, the owner of the time share was coming down on Saturday and wanted his unit. Front desk claimed that we signed off on allowing Divi to "relocate" us if necessary. After a very unpleasant couple hours, and not being able to produce that paperwork, we were allowed to stay in our original room. End result was fine. Would strongly suggest reading your paperwork before signing or initialing when you check in. And also confirm in writing that you have your room for the entire length of your stay.

As for the restaurants, there are much better all over the island. Gizmo's pizza was very good. Sea Breeze sandwiches were just ok. Toucan's was very overpriced for the quality served. Granted, most meals are buffets, but still. There is a happy hour everyday at different times at different bars.

The beach was beautiful. It is not white sand, but it is sand. Chairs and umbrellas were plentiful. Finding someone to get an umbrella was another story.

We also had an issue with our AC unit. It would not turn off. Thermostat could be set at 80, temp was mid 60's in the unit. Called maintenance. They were going to have a HVAC guy out first thing hte next morning. Not sure if they ever came, but nothing got fixed. Guess it was better than the AC not working at all.

All in all, if the weather cooperated, it was a nice week. Eliminating the drama of having to change rooms would have been a big plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We'd like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that we gave you such prompt and warm welcome at our front desk and that we were, despite how busy the resort was, able to check you in earlier then our official check in time.

We're sorry that you did not like the decor in our Great Bay units. I can assure you that they all have the same furniture & that the furniture is not from the 1980’s. Also, all of the kitchens have granite counter tops and high quality wooden cabinets.

We're also sorry that it unfortunately rained for 3 days as I can imagine that this was not something you were expecting when traveling to a sunny tropical island such as St. Maarten.

We're not exactly sure as to what happened with the confusion around a possible room change, however, I am happy that you eventually were able to stay in your room. We're deeply sorry for this inconvenience though.

With the several food and beverage outlets, we hope we can cater to everyone’s wishes as all outlets offer another menu. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Our resort has a very large sandy beach compared to the other resorts on the island as well the best snorkel sites. Please know that every beach on our island, as on all the other surrounding islands, have a different color sand, some are more grey and some are even more yellow.

I hope that you will still like to visit our beautiful island and resort again in the future. Hopefully, our weather will be much better next time around! After all, sand on a beach looks much whiter when the sun shines nice and bright!

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed taking advantage of a time share here. The room was great with the perfect view and right next to the infinity pool. The room had a kitchen with everything we needed and a bathroom with shower and jacuzzi which was nice. The food was good but unfortunately not enough options available. Gizmos bar was good (Gizmo is awesome) but had a tiny menu and the buffet was overpriced at $30 a person. The other bar restaurant closes in the afternoon. We snorkeled which was fine and went up to fort amsterdam where there were great views. The main complaint I have with this resort is that the staff is almost completely incompetant and unfriendly. We had issues with checking in and checking out and also with the key to our room and there was also a very annoying lady by the name of darlene that kept pressuring me to take a tour to purchase a time share. The resort host was very nice and personable. He would check in with us to make sure everything was ok everyday. Not alot of activities on the resort but we did take a snorkeling tour which went to 3 different islands and we got to snorkel with sea turtles and coral which was awesome. Captain Alan Tours (Highly recommended). We also visited the St. Maarten zoo which was very fun and interesting for little money. We also we to Cheri's Cafe where we saw a very entertaining show for haloween and enjoyed some very tasty food. I would definately return and hopefully they acquire some more personable and capable staff members by that time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the fort on the far left of the beach are better but are at the top of a steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.3 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing