We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Location, and Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Location, and Views”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having never been to St Maarten, I really struggled with a hotel location before even picking the exact hotel. Divi Little Bay was an amazing spot. We visited several beaches and the one at this hotel was really fantastic. It's not huge but it was quiet, relaxing, and the water was so warm. Gizmo's was well priced for lunch our first day and was very good. Our room was probably in the best location (furthest building, 1st floor, stunning open views) so I may be biased but I was also pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and size of the rooms. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub and the shower was lovely with great water pressure. We have no complaints whatsoever. The maid service folded any clothes we left out and was very thorough. We rented a car and went all over the island for dinner each night, and to different beaches during the day. We happily came home in late afternoons to enjoy the infinity pool right next to our room or the beach at the hotel. For older people, this may be a difficult place to stay because parking is not close to the rooms and it's only a pedestrian walkway to get to each building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    738
    305
    138
    109
See reviews for
550
1,083
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a beautiful piece of property. The restaurants are average. Our studio was well maintained by housekeeping. Why the low rating?? We had a rat in our second floor studio one night. No answer at the front desk until morning. Our friends had one in their third floor studio two night later in a different building. We are owners of two weeks and plan on bringing traps next time. It took three separate attempts to get a different room. ( I refused to believe they were no other rooms available.) I had to throw out all my food that was not in the refrigerator because there were chew marks on some of our food. I was finally given a $25 food voucher that did not cover my loss. We move at 4:00PM (No help was given by resort) and still no traps, maintenance visit or exterminators contacted us. This experience led to sleepless nights for the remaining 10 nights of our vacation. The day before we left an exterminator came to our studio asking to look around for any point of entry. That was 8 days after my complaint. I shared this experience in my survey I sent to headquarters hoping to discuss the problem and generate some changes at Divi so I can enjoy future visits. It has been 4 weeks and no one has called. Very disappointed in how this was handled and even more concerned about the problem of rats. They may say they don't have a problem but two incidents in a week that I am aware of is a problem in my book.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank KathyAnn55443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are happy to read that you feel that we have a beautiful piece of property and that you were pleased with our housekeeping services, especially as you are a Divi Little Bay owner. We have been in close contact with you during your stay here and feel that we have done everything within our power to accommodate you while you were staying with us. We also met in my office with you where I shared the exterminator report with their conclusion that no signs of rodent were found in your room.

Nevertheless, we were happy to move you to another room right away and provided you with a food & beverage voucher as well for your inconvenience. We are sorry to hear that you still feel upset and concerned, but please be assured that we don’t have a rodent issue within our resort.

We hope me may welcome you back next year to your home resort.

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful people in all areas of service. Activities galore and very knowledgable staff to help you find best activities for you. Spacious rooms. So impressed we will be back! Quiet, secluded cove. View every morning was spectacular. Thanks to Harish, Russell on the golf cart, the cleaning staff for the rooms, the lady setting up events for us. We so enjoyed our vacation! See you next February.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Iva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First visit to this resort, booking a large, beach-facing room for a thoroughly enjoyable week at this hotel/time share. We particularly enjoyed the meals (not included in our package, but chosen at least twice a day because there were so many options, all taken al fresco). The beach was clean and safe, with a variety of excellent sailing and snorkelling options close at hand. The 3 swimming pools were never crowded, a highlight being swimming solo at sunrise every day in their "infinity pool". There was no hard-sell pressure to buy a time-share but we met several families and couples who are time-share owners and have been coming for 20 years or more. They welcomed us as if we were their own personal guests and spoke highly of the friendly and attentive staff. The facilities were extensive and extremely well-maintained.

Room Tip: All of the hotel rooms in our 2nd-floor section of the resort had balconies overlooking the beach, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Pretty property..Nice rooms....But If you draw the short straw and end up on the pull out sofa..watch out!!! Super uncomfortable!! In my opinion..they should not ever be offered as a sleeping option!! Complained several times, and they finally did brought a mattress cover for one..... we needed two!!!! that sounds like that should cure the problem , however, then you're faced with the pulling it on and off every night and morning. As I said before the property was pretty.. but If your room was up on the HILL there was no parking close.. so that meant that if you went to the grocery store you had to haul your bags up the hill and up the stairs (NO ELEVATORS!) . We were on the Third Floor......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedale, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Let me start by saying I never write a review but after stay here I knew I just had too.
My husband and I never traveled to another country and this was I first time together and the staff made it worth wild. Juan at the front desk was so great he went well beyond his duties to accommodate us. He made sure we was happy with everything. Due to Delta keep changing our flight plan we got there 3 hours early and we had no problem getting our room. we stayed in a one bedroom and it was prefect with a amazing view . My husband brought what they call a romantic package he thought it was only dinner on the beach but it turned out to be so so so much more we got a couples massage which was great as well as a personal chief and waiter for our dinner and free breakfast for our whole stay. when we set the dinner up the manager and the chief sat down and spoke to us about our menu and got to order just about anything we wanted and I appreciated that due to the fact that im allergic to shellfish. the waiter we had (Gilberto) was great and funny he made us feel special .the resort have so much to do that you don't really have to go any where else there is even a supermarket on site . Gizmos is a great bar and a few nights we was there they had entertainment All the staff was so friendly I believe it made all the visitors friendly I can truly say that I had a great time that we are going to go back and even want to take kids its also a kids friendly resort

Room Tip: get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyred249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Divi Little Bay has always had the best location on the island--a lovely narrow peninsula with Great Bay on one side, Little Bay on the other and on the very tip (accessible only through the resort itself) the historical ruins of 17th century Fort Amsterdam. Walking paths with information boards provide interesting commentary and make the fort an interesting place for a walk any time of day, but especially in the early evening to catch the sunset and watch the cruise ships depart from Philipsburg.

We have been timeshare owners at DLB since 1995 and have seen the resort weather hurricanes as well as frustrating management turnovers. Now, though, there is a new General Manager (in place for 2-3 years) and the resort has never looked or operated better. New cabanas at the Infinity Pool and Casita pool provide much-needed shade. Hot tubs are in place (and maintained in spotless condition) at all three pools and at the new picnic/grill patio overlooking Great Bay. The new bright blue loungers installed resort-wide last year are in "as-new" condition. The beach concessionaires have plenty of umbrellas (free for resort guests).

Gizmo's Beach Bar has a new band stand/stage for nightly live entertainment and has a great menu (pizza is wonderful) and a lovely beach-front setting.

Timeshare suites are kept in good order. They are large and airy but, having been built a few decades ago, need the occasional repair. New management has placed special priority on responding to guest requests, though, and if you call the front desk with an issue--they are there within a few minutes. Really! Bedding and furniture has been upgraded resort-wide over the past 5 years, and new porch furniture will be distributed in late March, early April.

Thanks to a very kind storm season last year, the Little Bay beach is in wonderful shape--as is the landscaping throughout the resort. It looks great.

More improvements are scheduled for the next few months--including a large project to provide more protection for the open-air reception area.

As long-time timeshare owners at DLB (we bought for the island itself, not to exchange) we are delighted to see the resort in such good shape. It was also interesting to find out that the King and Queen chose Divi Little Bay for their stay last fall.

Room Tip: If you are a sand-on-the-beach person, ask for accommodation on the Little Bay side. If you like bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kenokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing