We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scared in Paradice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Scared in Paradice”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

At first look, the Divi looks like the perfect place to go but hold on! Our first room up on the hill was so full of mold, we could hardly breathe! It took some real arm twisting to get moved to another 1-bedroom condo. That one was okay but the pool was closed for remodeling! So, we went into that outstanding water off their beautiful beach. Everything seemed perfect until someone started screaming. A man was floating face down on a float. Two or three guests went running to pull him out. As they did, they started screaming for help from the Divi staff. The problem is, not one person was trained or able to lend a hand. We watched the heroic guests work their hardest to save the man. He could have been saved, but the Divi didn't have any life saving equipment! When the paramedics arrived, 40 minutes later, their equipment failed, too! That poor man died because St. Maartin is a dangerous place to have a medical emergency! I would not recommend the Divi to anyone even though it looks like the perfect beach. There isn't anything nearby in the way of restaurants or shops. The rooms are moldy, the beach is unsafe, the TV station choices are terrible.

Room Tip: Examine your room carefully. If you smell mold, beware. Look in the bathroom walls and ceilings. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear George S,

Let me start by addressing your comment about the pool and your unit. I am sorry for the inconvenience of having to change units and that this may not have been handled well by front desk staff. That is never okay. Being in a tropical environment, we are constantly battling humidity. As soon as we become aware that a unit has a mildew smell, it is placed out of order and corrected. While it is true that one pool was under renovation--this is needed every now and then for upkeep; Divi Little Bay Beach Resort has three pools in total, leaving two pools open for your use.

With respect to the incident on the public beach, please know that your posting has greatly impacted our employees who have been quite emotional after what happened that day. The employees of the nearby watersports operation as well as hotel staff were very involved in the rescue and assistance of our guest. There happened to be a registered nurse visiting the public beach that day and she was able to immediately start CPR. The ambulance arrived very quickly (the Medical Centre is around the corner from the resort) while the nurse was still providing assistance along with the watersports staff. Our Human Resources Manager was also close by; she immediately went to the gentleman’s wife, accompanied her to the hospital and stayed with her until she left the island. For some background, the gentleman was 84 years old and we are aware (and his wife confirmed) that he was not in good health. However, he was a long-time Divi timeshare owner and felt that he could still go out for a swim in the ocean he had come to love over the years. The fact that this was a fatal decision for him is just awful!

The events took place in the ocean and on a public beach and we do not provide any equipment on a public access beach. As is the case throughout the US and the world, swimming in the ocean is at your own risk. However, a large percentage of our employees and the watersports staff are trained in first-aid and CPR. Sint Maarten has very good medical care on both sides of the island; it’s unfortunate that you have decided to post without knowing the background of others involved nor taking into account how my staff and I feel after losing a guest that has been a part of the Divi family for almost 20 years.

Sincerely,

Celine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    738
    305
    138
    109
See reviews for
550
1,083
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Divi in July of 2014. Unfortunately because of our displeasure with this resort we left early and stayed at another location on the island.

The Good

-beautiful views
-Elvis the night supervisor
-The beach

The Bad

-pools are tiny
-food is mediocre and overpriced
-rooms were comparable to any Motel 6
-shuttles to take you to your room only ran occasionally

The Ugly

-majority of the staff made us feel more like a burden than a guest
-shuttle driver scolded us because we asked for a ride to our room on top of hill
-renovations in progress be prepared for construction

We will never stay at this resort again and I would not recommend it to any other traveler.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank matt19447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This resort is very clean, the beach is amazing and the rooms are all updated...the location is great, short drive to Maho and Simpson Bay. Drive to Grand Case is about 25 minutes. Not bad.... My family had a great time!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kdwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went to Divi Little Bay in April of this year. Unfortunately we only stayed one night - as we had rented a villa for 7 nights and flew in early. I have to say that I wasn't expecting much. When we drove up we were a bit thrown because they were renovating the lobby - so we had to check into a banquet room. But they were ready for us and everything went smoothly. We were early and our room wasnt ready, so we changed in the bathroom and went to wait at the pool. We happened tp meet the Assistant GM who was so warm and friendly. We got a great room - time share (up the hill) and we spent a glorious day at the pool and beach. The beach is amazing. We stayed 7 more days and really didnt find a better one. There was entertainment at night - a band, dancing and karaoke. The rooms in the regular part of the hotel are pretty basic - but overall it was a great value and experience.

Room Tip: If you dont mind a hike up the hill - try to get a timeshare room. They are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacaalotnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far Rockaway, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

#1- I am NOT an owner of this particular time-share resort. I stayed at this resort twice before thru RCI with over expectations 'once again' on DIVI Resorts.#1- House keeping is great which usually is a nightmare compared to other trips I've been on, but on the other hand who wants to review a trip solely on 'House-keeping?" This place has many things going for them but for some reason they don't have that 'Icing on the cake', Guest services; Sandra at the front desk was not very helpful with issues other then; 'Welcome to Divi Resorts speech', The beach is wonderful and the bartender 'Leroy' is a prince as well as the chef whom seems to be shuttling back and forth to 2 restaurants on the grounds (THAT chef should get 2 salary's for doing the work of TWO chefs) The food....well.... its better then the Sonesta a few miles away but that's another review, but AGAIN; Not impressed...the breakfast which we had each day for our entire 7 day stay was 'OK' they had a nice selection of fruits and omelets . We met nice friendly guests, and security was ALWAYS visible. I think the only thing that draws me back to the place is the fact of a parrot/macaw named 'GIZMO' that has been on the grounds for 30 years (I think that why I actually go back to DIVI) Here's MY issue; I figured between just getting there from NYC and paying for a 1 bedroom suite & RCI maintenance it was close to 4,000$...still not complaining its the money spent on-grounds that puts a damper....Resorts claim they have a10% discount on all food but for some reason they did not take it off (Apparently you have to carry and show the card each time you get a hamburger or something which is strange because they know you are a guest anyway?) Again Not an issue (50-75 bucks off 'maybe' on a 5,000 vacation its not going to break the bank), the Jewelry store on grounds is more of a satellite store for the major store which is downtown Philipsburg. MY highlight of the trip was meeting Thomas TAXI SERVICE who was our driver/bodyguard/tour guide if you can get him through the jewelry store on grounds your ahead of the game, 100 bucks for 5 hours including tip. Bottom line; Will visit again, just not running as fast as I would. Don't forget to feed 'Gizmo' Mozzarella sticks...just make sure the cheese is not too hot.

Room Tip: Ground floor and facing the cruise ships and if possible closest to Check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve3692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited here and took a tour but didnt stay. The beach is gorgous, would live to return for a full stay. The rooms are nicely up, full amenites. Shopping is close and the view is awe inspiring. This is a time share community but if you get the opportunity to stay go for it, the price is about average for hotels a

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my 8th visit to the Friendly island of St. Maarten and can honestly say never disappointed. This was my first stay at the Divi and what a gorgeous property. We were welcomed by Juan at the front desk. He was very pleasant and accommodating. I asked for a room on the Little Bay side so that we could see the sunsets. He gave us a phenomenal room on the hill that overlooked the infinity pool. The view was gorgeous and he had the bellhop drive us up to the room before hand to make sure we liked the room and location. Although it was on the hill it was well worth the walk up and down daily. Juan was extremely friendly during our stay waving as we passed by the front desk and checking in to make sure that everything was going smoothly. Top notch employee!

We reserved a studio suite with a sleeper sofa. The room was large, clean, and had updated appliances. The bathroom was enormous with a jacuzzi tub and large tiled shower stall. The suite was cleaned perfectly everyday and had no complaints about cleanliness.

The pools, hot tubs, beach, and grounds were all meticulously kept up. The infinity pool on the hill is by far the best view. The beach is absolutely beautiful and quiet (no real hawkers to bother you).

We spent many nights at Gizmo's bar which has one of the best staff on the island. The menu is small at Gizmo's and Seabreeze but the food is good. We never ate in the formal dining area. Don't expect service to be super speedy as everyone is on island time. So relax and take your time and just enjoy the atmosphere. Leroy, Pierre, and Nigel make for great company at the bar and will take great care of you. They make the stay worth while!

Overall it was a great stay. If you are looking for more dining options or other beaches a car rental is a necessity. Taxis can get pretty expensive but there are tons of great places to visit on the island.

Room Tip: Choose a room on Little Bay for sunsets and a room on Great Bay for views of the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Property: Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing