We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Not impressed at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from Divi Little Bay, before we arrived I requested a room above the first floor, and we were given a room on the first floor. Check in is at 4 p.m. However our room was not ready until after 4 p.m. When we arrived to our room it appeared to have not received a good cleaning, there were grease stains on the oven, the Microwave Oven was dirty, tons of Mesquito flying around the room etc. We woke up the first morning of our stay to an awful smell, I thought it was maybe because of low tide. After about an hour or so we hear a gurgling sound coming from the kitchen sink....yup the sink was backing up. We called maintenance to check it out, the guy came poured some stuff down the drain. It continued to happen throughout our stay of 7 days. According to management the hotel was booked so changing rooms were out of the question, so we kinda made the best out of it. We decided not to let it ruin our plans. For the most the staff was great especially Nigel, the bartender and Melicia, the waitress. Location is nice, restaurants were o.k. A lil pricey but all resorts tend to be. Pools are small, but beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We loved the medium size of the resort. The room (even in an un-renovated room) was way above average. The studio size has a galley kitchen was convenient and nice for drinks and snacks. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We also loved that it is quiet but easily accessible to other parts of the island if you want to get out. We did not eat in the main restaurant for dinner but did eat at the beach bar and pool bar during the day and both had very good casual food. Fish Tacos, Jerk Chicken Pizza, Caesar Salads, etc. The views are great on both sides of the resort. The Little Bay side has the beach and the water is calm and quiet. The Great Bay side has a wonderful ocean breeze and a view of the cruise ships coming in and the beach in Phillipsburg.

Room Tip: If you like keeping food items in your room make sure to get at least a studio or larger room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RFox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is a bit away from it all. Not in front street (downtown Philipsburg), not in the tourist area of Simpson Bay. The rooms are ok but small. The whole resort could use some renovations. Looks a bit old. Parking is always a problem. It is an OK resort. Does have beautiful sunsets and clear water beaches.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank BVLC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your posting. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the location of our resort. Many guests appreciate our remote location as we located in between Philipsburg for good shopping and Simpson Bay for night entertainment. Our standard hotel rooms are indeed smaller than our studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units as our hotel rooms don’t have a kitchen and sofa seating area. If you decide to return to our resort , we highly recommend that you reserve a studio.

Unfortunately, you did not specify which part of our resort looks old, but as you can see in our other postings all feel that our property looks well maintained and updated. We are currently building a brand new lobby and front desk, hoping to be finished by early September, maybe you are referring to the construction area instead?

Were you looking for a specific parking spot? In all 5 years I work here we have never ran out of parking spots as our parking is very large; a direct advantage of our location.

We do indeed have beautiful sunsets so I am glad that you got to enjoy these as well as our beach while you were here. We hope that we may welcome you back soon!

Thanks,

Celine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Divi Little Bay has a great location with a wonderful beach. Snorkeling in the waters here was quite pleasant. The grounds are well maintained and the pools are very nice. The problem is that the accommodations never quite measure up to the standards that the Divi sets for itself. The rooms are well designed, but the furnishings are of a lower quality than one would expect. The views are nice but the screen doors are in disrepair (not good while they're being overrun by mosquitoes). We were moved midweek because the ceiling above the bed started dripping water. The ceiling looked like it had been leaking on and off for some time. The shower and tub area was nicely designed, but barren of some little touch -- a flower, a vase -- that would have filled the large shelf and added a nice homey touch. The furniture was a little beaten up in both rooms, so showing the wear of its many visitors.
The food at the restaurants was pretty bland and a little overpriced. The convenience store on the grounds did not carry the kinds of items we would have found helpful, and what they did have was overpriced. Because it had a snack bar of sorts in it, the Divi counted this as a fourth restaurant.
Their spa was pretty nice. My wife and I had a very relaxing couples massage with two very capable masseuses. If you don't come in with grand expectations, you won't be disappointed. Trouble is that the pictures, the descriptions the Divi offers, the first glance all set a higher bar than they can meet.

Room Tip: We were in the timeshare section, which is quieter, but more prone to insects because of the surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abqactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for posting your Divi Little Bay experience. We are indeed known for our remote and wonderful location and for the best beach with beautiful snorkeling. Happy to read that you feel that our grounds are well maintained, our 3 pools are very nice and that you feel the rooms are well designed, including the shower and bath tub area.

I am sorry that we didn’t exceed your expectations in reference to the furnishings in the room you stayed in and that you had an unexpected ceiling leak in your room during your stay. It is not acceptable and I apologize for the inconvenience of having to move to another room.

We have 3 restaurants (Gizmo’s, Sea Breeze and Toucans) and they all offer a different menu with pricing very comparable to other restaurants on the island. Main courses in our a la carte restaurant start at $16 and lunch dishes as for example fish tacos, chicken Caesar wraps and burgers & chicken satay are offered from $8-$10. We don’t count the Deli as a restaurant as the Deli sells grab-and-go items like paninis, salads and French pastries. I am sorry that you thought that our outlets were overpriced.

I am so happy that you have enjoyed our spa and the couples massage you received. We hope that we may still welcome you back to St. Maarten and our resort. When you are ready to visit us again, please contact me directly & I'll book your reservation.

Thanks for your visit to our island and for your posting,

Celine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are looking for a nice ,quite place in SXM, Little Divi as it. Clean place, quite little beach, bar, and a small resto and a couple of swimming pool. At a walking distance from down town. I had a bed room with a kitchen and a living room. Nice balcony over looking great bay.
Just love it. We made breakfast and we out for supper of went to get a take out somewhere. A car is needed if you want to get around.

Room Tip: A room facing Great Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Pros -
*The view is nice

Cons -
*The rooms are filled with ants, ants and more ants (and we are on the 3rd floor)
*The restaurant food is over priced and not that great
*The little on site market charges $7-$11 for the big bags of chips. Ridiculous.......
*We called the staff about the ants & the didn't offer to change rooms, or anything. They sent us up a can of bug spray..
*They are charging us a $50 something fee & an $18 per day something else fee. I dont know if this is only for timeshare rooms or everyone. We got the room via RCI timeshare.
*The pool is very small
*The staff is not friendly or welcoming..they are pretty rude, in fact.
*The room smells like mildew or something.
*Oh, and did I mention the ants
*The front doors are paper thin and we got woken up twice from the workers outside of our door literally arguing. (They were trying to fix something)
*Im not sure what else..but I'm sure I could think of plenty more.

Stayed: July 2014
11  Thank michael14nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I traded into this resort through RCI and had a wonderful, relaxed experience. Our efficiency overlooked the bay and was clean and dry. We thought the food was remarkably good for a resort and had lunch there every day. I was in the middle of closing on a business deal and Sandra Rogers, Samantha and others at the front desk were gracious and efficient in helping me move documents back and forth. I'm a demanding traveler and have already started planning my return trip. The proximity to shopping and the beautiful beach, coupled with great front desk and concierge service, will bring me back many times.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in buildings E or F. Those overlook the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel02532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
3.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £123 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing