We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Weather and Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Weather and Great Resort”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was our second stay at the Sonesta Great Bay. Both vacations we have taken our small children, ages 2 and 9 mths. A lot of changes since the last time (2011) added a pizzaria, kids playground, much more entertainment (day and night) and the Entertainment Staff were great! Denroy (I believe he is the Supervisor) was great with my 2 year old daughter, and was a blast during all the daily games! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,658
    685
    308
    230
See reviews for
636
2,197
139
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

When a Carnival cruise ship was stalled in St. Maarten, I was part of a news crew sent last minute to report it. Our hotel was the Sonesta Great Bay, and even though it was not easy, their IT director, day and night managers, and staff went above and beyond to secure us the fastest internet connection possible to help us deliver our reports as soon as possible back in the US. Can't wait to come back when NOT on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

the animators here made the trip lots of fun. Denroy and Channella were excellent. The food was excellent here. the chefs that made the hamburgers and pizza were great. Best food we have ever had at any resort in the carribean. thank you to all the wonderful friendly staff at the Sonesta Great Bay resort for making our family vacation great. Rooms were clean and view was amazing. Service was very good. All staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The entire staff, from the minute we walked through their doors, was very friendly and made us feel at home instantly. The food and drink were never-ending and delicious!! Every day we looked forward to the entertainment, especially the karaoke which is my husband's favorite thing to do. Thanks to Denroy, the resort's animation supervisor, he has the perfect personality for that job...he was great!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeslee, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I had a very nice time. The rooms were clean and the staff could not got be anymore accommodating. My husband and I enjoyed every moment we were there. The food and entertainment excellent.

A special thanks to Vicky front desk. Gilberto waiter. Michael Peterson and Yolanda Bar personal. Also Denroy animation supervisor.

Thank you all for a wonderful stay and vacation.

Room Tip: I would the next time stay on the Ocean side although the mountain side had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay for a week with 3 other girlfriends. Have to say that this was by far one of the best vacations ever! And I vacation 2-3 times per year and travel for work on a regular basis. This resort was very small & quaint. Perfect for us girls looking to getaway from our busy lives & the stresses of everyday. The location is beautifully situated surrounded by mountains that were home to wild horses & mountain goats spotted on occasion from our Mountain View Balcony. The ocean is the most beautiful colour of turquoise! Taking a long walk down the beach to the boardwalk & shops is a must! A lot of stores and good deals.
The resort is older & needs some renovations. The food was by far the most tastiest I've ever had at a buffet. Small but very good selection especially if you like seafood/fish.
The Customer Service at the front desk could use some improvement. The waitstaff at the buffet was always attentive and helpful. Even brought me a Papaya for breakfast one day which was not normally available.
Michael the bartender always took care of us & showed us some friendly island vibes. Last but not least, the entertainment staff at the Great Bay was nothing but awesome! Denroy always made sure we were entertained and had a good time. He went out of his way to make sure we left with nothing but great memories which we did! Cannot wait to vist this beautiful island one day soon ✈ Highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PolishFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I went to sonesta Great Bay with my best friend for New years eve.
We stayed 4 days and I can tell it wasnt enough, we had such a great time, the beach was wonderfull, the food excellent and the drinks also :)
We were supposed to go out for new year, but Denroy "the animation guy" convinced us to stay and I can tell we did the good choice. 2013 started perfectly and we cant wait to go back for New year 2014, hoping to see again the nice staff and expecting Denroy to make another incredible party. Activities were also great, dont miss the volleyball and the seedoo !
Micheal at the bar was a funny guy too.... hes gonna make u enjoy the bar :)
Excellent hôtel for the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatharinaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing