We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sonesta Great Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sonesta Great Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from a two week vacation in St Maarten. Spent a great week at the Sonesta Maho and then transfered to our favourite Great Bay on the 24th of October when the reno was complete. The hotel looks amazing. The service was remarkable. Edrick, Marcia, Marissa, June, Geneva, Destine, Micheal,Sharlene, the service you gave was fantastic. I was impressed with a young lady named Kim who worked hard in the heat serving drinks at the beach and around the pool with an eternal smile . The Animators Michael, David and Maria worked hard to entertain the guests and keep them engaged. The new Chef did an amazing job. All of the meals were delicious. Lobster tails two of the evenings. Wow. It was truly a pleasue to have a conversation with Karl Bourne the hotel manager. You and your staff have done a spectacular job . It was one of our better stays at the Great Bay Hotel and we look forward to returning same time next year.

Room Tip: Choose an Oceanview on the fifth or sixth floor. The view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

What a two week experience! You had the best of both. Thank you sincerely for your great comments. They truly are valuable to us. It is important for the world to see what our guests are saying about us, and we are grateful. Thank you for mentioning so many of our team members. Mr, Bourne has done and is doing all within his power to make the Resort into what it should be. We are still smiling, especially after reading your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back the same time next year.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    1,559
    652
    291
    221
See reviews for
605
2,052
133
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went Oct 24-31st. Had a great time at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach and Casino. I was there about 2 years ago. It was pretty decent then but with the new reno's I think it's really a lot better now. They have freshened it up. It's really quite clean. To me the food was better too. The Service was pretty up to par and good as well.

Kim the Pool/Beach waitress was AWESOME! She's such a sweetheart and new to the hotel but she did an amazing job!
Denroy was the top in Animation and he was great too. Always making sure everyone had fun and a great time while there.
Waitstaff was great too that we had all week. Claudine was a great bar tender!

When we got there we were greeted VERY good. Everyone was clapping and smiling all the staff was so happy there and seemed to be really happy that they were re opening.

I would go back again for sure. Probably another few years or so though.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and book an oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to commend our Resort, your comments are very important to us. Our staff Kim, Denroy and Claudine will appreciate seeing the mention of their names along with the wait staff. Glad to know that you will be back and we look forward to being of even better service to you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile


my partner and I booked a 4 night stay at this hotel...the photos looked great, it had been "renovated"...this was not the case. we got to the hotel, no one helped with our bags, we walked into the lobby and looked at each other and asked, what was renovated. we got into our room which smelled like mold, and decided we had to leave. I sat on the bed to use the phone, it made an awful noise every time you moved and was hard as a rock. needless to say we checked out 20 mins later and checked into the Westin which was the best decision we ever made. vacation saved! Do NOT stay at this resort you will be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dcarr027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear DCarr027
We are disappointed we were unable to meet your expectations upon your arrival at our resort, even though your stay with us was only 20 minutes; I was informed upon your check our by our front desk agent our hotel did not meet your criteria of the caliber of hotel you were accustomed to, and there was nothing we could do to make it up to you.....Please note even though we were unable to meet your criteria...we are happy you enjoyed your stay on Sint Maarten and hope you would return in the future to our beautiful Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at Great Bay Oct 24-31/2013. Was worried prior to arriving that the hotel would not be ready due to renos but luckily they were done the day we arrived. I will give a break down of the areas. I write very thorough reviews!!!

Flight:
Travelled sunwing, flight was about 4 1/2 hrs there and about 5 hrs way back in Oct. Travel to and from resort is about 1/2 hour, with sunwing you receive a shuttle bus.

Check in:
Welcomed with mimosas and everyone was so friendly. Our information was not there upon check in but it was no hassle, the front desk got us our room key and safe key quick enough. No towel cards, you get beach towels whenever you want, some days we had extra because they were on our beach chairs for us in the morning.

Room:
Simple and is a 3 1/2 star for sure. Was on the 5th floor. Had mountain view and had no complaints. We were at the beach at 8am every morning anyways, so save a buck. The bed was hard but comfy, amazing pillows, the room was very very clean. Our hot water was a light brown all week, cold water was clear. The tub is deep and narrow, no jets. TV was fuzzy,,didn't care though. I used bottle water to brush my teeth, even though they say you can drink the water. Our room keys did not work for 2 1/2 days, apparently hasn't happened before. Taro at the desk was extremely helpful in escorting us to our room every time we needed in.

Ground/Hotel itself:
Small and simple but nice. No lush greenery or flowers though. I have been to 3 other resorts that were huge and this was a nice change. Everything in the resort you find quick. All the pools are together, wonderful infinity pool and great hot tub. If you walk a bit further past the barbeque area you will find another pool and hot tub, very private. The infinity pool was deep enough. Pool temp was nice.Casino in the building, open apparently until 3am, never went though.

Ocean:
Nice, but be careful as there is a huge drop into the ocean from the sand. There can be waves depending on the wind that day. Water was refreshing, found it the warmest water of the resorts I've been to. The sand looks like granola and has a lot of seashells crushed. Plenty of sun shelters and chairs, huge beach!

Weather:
Amazing hot everyday. Only rained once that I know of at breakfast and was sunny right after

Food:
Excellent, a la carte breakfast 3 times, can't complain. Watched the ships pull in. Wonderful a la carte dinners, Seafood and Italian, open at different nights of the week, just look at the entertainment board daily to see. Never had to wait or prebook an a la carte. Food was very tasty and there were never any line ups and food was replenished quickly at the buffet. Lots of lobster nights! Service was good too.

Drinks:
Amazing, served quick, never any line ups at the swim up or main bar, located just outside the buffet restaurant. Nice fancy glasses too. They made ceasars and had coors/ miller lite in a can. First place I've been to that had this.

Entertainment:
Plenty, during the day you can play volleyball, aerobics, bingo, jenga, fish for a bottle of booze and more. It was great and the animators take no for an answer. At night they had different entertainment, karoke, bands.

The majority of the age at this resort was older, which I enjoyed greatly. My husband and I are in our late 20's and had no issues with it. Like I said this is our 3rd trip in a short time, so we wanted quiet.
We went over to Maho for about an hour only. Had to walk into the town to catch the "city" bus. Wasn't thrilled with that. The cost was $2 each there and back. You do get dropped off right in front of Maho. The resort there is much bigger, lobby was nicer. Ocean was less wavy and you can see your feet in the ocean but the beach was tiny and rocky if you go closer to where the planes come in. Age was much younger, had topless women. The planes we saw were small, so it wasn't worth us going over, that's why we left after an hour. There is a board in the lobby at Maho to say when the planes come and go. Much preferred Great Bay resort!

All the staff at Great Bay were helpful, friendly and smiling. They all speak great English, which is a first for me.

Room Tip: Go to beach early everyday and save a buck on a room, mountain view is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam2890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your comments on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay. The issues at reopening day with the hot water being brown, the room key not working and the TV being fuzzy were challenges that we addressed and have since been fixed.

While at the time of your stay our guests seemed to be older, have no fear, we do cater for all ages and there is something for all ages to do to have an enjoyable time during their vacation. I agree, our entertainment team do not take no for an answer, they are here to interract with our guests and ensure that they have a great time. We try our best to please everyone.

To sum it all up, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sonesta Great Bay, where we provide service with a smile, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just returned home from a spectacular week at Great Bay! We have stayed at the Sonesta Maho twice before but this was our first time at Great Bay. We were concerned that the resort was reported closed for renovations just days prior to our scheduled vacation. Much to our pleasure we arrived the day of the grand reopening, greeted by staff, with lots of excitement and celebration. As with most grand reopenings there was some teething pains but the staff, which was pleasant and plentifull, went out of their way to ensure that any issue was corrected quickly keeping Customer Satisfaction at the forefront. The staff were amazing from the reception desk to the waitress's (June, Audrey, Cleopatra etc), the bartenders and the activity staff (Denroy) went out of their way to make sure our stay was that much more enjoyable. The food was great, tasty and fresh, with beautiful settings and scenic views from the dining areas. The drinks were plentiful and delicious throughout our stay, which were most enjoyable around the infinity pool and during the nightly entertainment. Being a relatively small resort we were fortunate to meet and bond with many great people, sharing a lot of laughs together. Hats off to the leadership of Karl Bourne, the GM of the resort, who has guided his staff towards ensuring everyone having a great time at the Great Bay Beach Resort & Casino. ....we sure did.....and would return in a heart beat!
John & Deb from Toronto

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear John & Deb,

We thank you for choosing to stayat the Sonesta Great Bay this time around and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your time with us. The staff, Denroy, June, Audrey, Cleopatra will be informed of your mention of their names and this will motivate them to provide even better service to our guests. Glad you noticed that our GM Karl Bourne is doing his best in leading his team to excellence. We thank you once again from the bottom of our hearts and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just back from the newly renovated Great Bay Hotel, what a way to start our holiday, greeted with clapping, singing and more smiles than I have seen in a while for the grand reopening of our favorite resort. It felt like we were coming home, we have had the pleasure of staying at Great Bay several times before, so when our long time friends (who are world travellers) and us decided to do a trip together, I knew they would like this resort, so what started as 4 ended up with 18. Eight had been before and 10 of our group it was there first visit. From start to finish we all had a fabulous time, the rooms were fresh and clean, the buffet I always enjoyed but the new and improved was so nice, all food was fresh and creative home style, the new bar with the green and white glass tiles. We enjoyed the 2 ala cart restaurants, one indoors and the other outside with the water and warm breeze right next to us. I hesitate to mention names of the fabulous staff, for fear of missing some very important and good staff, but here I go, Weezie and Michael at the bars with all their smiles, June and the rest of the staff in the restaurants could not do enough for us all. The first smiling face I saw was Gilberto with a warm hug and a cold drink. All the management came around daily to see if everything was going well. How can you not enjoy the most superb view of any Island I have been to from your ocean view room to start your day. We all loved that we could go over to the Maho for the day, have lunch and a beverage and float in the water and watch the planes come in, that is a big plus for us and a must to see in person. The nightly entertainment was fun and casual, just what we wanted, and with everything being so great we met a great number of very happy people who all seemed to be having a great time. We danced, sang, laughed and were entertained by some lovely dancers.
I wish I could have some criticism, but for any little thing that might have not been great, everything else was so great, I can't remember. I know we all will make the trip again, and I highly recommend Great Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Coco,

What a fantastic group of people you were. If the 4 of you did not enjoy your stay, you wouldn't have brought along more to end up to 18. All I can say is, we are anxiously awaiting your next visit. You have become our ambassadors. Glad you noticed and liked all the improvements to our facilities and the food. The smiles will only increase when we inform Weezie, Michael, June and Gilberto of your mention of their service. Please convey our sincere thanks to the rest of the group and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just came back from spending a week at Sonesta Breat Bay Hotel....we were the first guests to arrive after the renovations were complete...with staff to greet us all in the lobby to cheers, smiles and the best welcome ever...the rooms all redecorated, new beds and every comfort. The staff could not do enough for you...nothing was too much to ask
The place was kept immaculate, the food choices and quality was excellent, bar staff knew what you wanted before you did and entertainment from karioke sing alongs, dancers, various gatherings, beach bbque, water sports and the best yet...crab races !! Was hilarious !! An added feature from being there before was security...not that i never felt safe there before...but they were visible to ensure that every guest felt secure and enjoyed their stay...the beach and water was so clean as well as the pools....the added pizza oven was a special favorite, the newly opened fish restaraunt and the buffet where everything was fresh and in abundance
We travelled with a group of 18 and all would agree it was the best trip ever....also being able to spend a day at the sister hotel, the Maho and use all of its ammeneties while watching the large airlines land at the airport...what an experience that is
A special shout out to Claritza (Weezie), June, Vickie, Michael, Chantal, Evan (security) and so many more who's names escape me...they made you feel at home, welcomed you daily with smiles and treated you like family...not guests
You will not be disappointed at Sonesta Great Bay !!!
If you are lucky enough to book a ocean view....it is the most amazing view to wake to, also seeing the ships arrive across the bay...to sit and dine at tables daily...there is no view like it !!

Room Tip: Ocean view and a higher floor...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredConry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Fay C,
We are happy our staff made you feel at home away from home, and that this was your best vacation ever....I will share your comments with all our staff especially.....June, Chantal, Clarita, Michael, and Evan. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit, with best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing