We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who visited several times and who loved the location and atmosphere of the resort. We decided to see for ourselves, especially after hearing about recent renovations, and they were right! It's much nicer than we imagined from the photos. Our room, the pool bar, restaurant, all were great. We spent most of our time by the pool, had no problems finding lounge chairs, and enjoyed the daily activities. Denroy in animation was always so welcoming and energetic. His aqua fitness class was my favorite way to start the day! Chanella also was very sweet and friendly. This vacation was wonderful, just what we were hoping for. Hope to visit again soon!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you had a wonderful vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,658
    685
    308
    230
See reviews for
636
2,197
139
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a wonderful family vacation at the Sonesta Great bay(Nov 2013). Food, activities and weather were great. Pizza restaurant was great and so was activities manager Denroy Noble. He mad feel welcomed and keep was involved in all fun games around the resort. Denroy was energetic, happy, friendly and won the hearts of our kids. See you soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener,Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Something happened to the two Sonesta resorts in St Maarten and it is all for the better. We just returned and these two resorts have had a huge change in staff attitude. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The waiters and waitresses by the pool and on the beach were there like a 5 star all inclusive resort. I even had a situation where I was told I really didn't have to give a young lady a tip.
The resort is being worked on and given a face lift. It is still a little tired but they are trying to improved things. Our room was one of nicest we have ever had in the Caribbean.
I chatted with the General manager and found out some of the reasons. The new general manager of both resorts was a former Sandals employee, he held meetings and had staff training, they also have a staff reward program in place.
So bottom line if you have been before and had a bad experience you should check it out now you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: I had an apartment room it was very good, had an excellent ocean view and very quiet. it was worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gord001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you took note of the changes and we appreciate all of your comments. Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We just returned from a very relaxing vacation. We're not sure what to expect from finding this resort on line and the various reviews. We were very much impressed. Awesome staff, Patricia in the dining room catered to your every need. Food at all locations was top notch. Vickey at the front desk took care of every request.
Jonathon at the pool side restaurant kept us laughing and well serviced. Clean rooms, great beach, nice pools. Continued efforts can be seen on upgrades everywhere. We even got new pool loungers while there! A great family feeling at this resort. They even take time to say bye with a hug. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. Here at the Sonesta Great Bay we treat you like family, we truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 week vacation., large group of seventeen this time. I have been there 12 times and I must say this was by far the best visit. Kudos to Karl (manager) and the great staff at Sonesta Great Bay. Smiles from the moment you step off the bus with an very helpful lBellman-Edrick always quick and courtesy. To the front desk workers especially Vicky who was always smiling and willing to help with any questions or concerns. Our rooms were always immaculate and clean great cleaning staff -Patricia. Thank you. The food has vastly improved from days past -fresh a great variety and again service with a smile from the chef right down to the table servers- Charlene, Gilberto, Patricia you made our meals enjoyable. If you need something different from the menu the chef and staff were happy to oblige with smiles and your request. Everything is made fresh and this could be seen even at the sit down restaurant and the pizza/Italian restaurant. Hats off to Andy and Giovanni for great pizza,hamburger and salads. Johnathan made our meals special,this is
one hard,friendly, smiling face no matter what time of the day. And I can't say enough of the wonderful bartenders Marizta,Micheal,Owen, Justin and Sheldon....love you all your all great assets to this hotel. The renovations done with new exterior paint, new umbrellas, new loungers and many new soft touches made our holiday one we won't soon forget. And a special thank you to Elizabeth - butler and room mini bar stocker.

Armando and Karl
Thanks for hearing our thoughts on the improvements. I can see that the changes made are surely going to move this hotel forward to "five start" once all phases have been completed.
All the best to management and staff.
Wishing you all a safe and happy holiday season.
Until next year.
Marzia and Mike Franchino

Room Tip: Ocean view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. Our team members appreciate the mention of their names and this will motivate them to provide even better service. We are glad that we made your group stay a memorable one once again, and we look forward to welcoming all of you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just got back 14-11-2013 for one week. The room was renovated and clean. The food was excellent,never missed a thing ,lot of fruits and veggy, goog omelet.
Nice beach and spectacular view. Animation during the day was great, specially with Denroy. Special thanks to him! I'll come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majorqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you will be returning, so we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I cant say enough the island, resort and staff. Being our 3rd time there in 18months the service, events and grounds continue to exceed expectations. We travelled with out 2 children and for the second time Denroy was nothing less then exceptional. Whether it was stopping and playing, eating lunch, helping with small things he always went over and above to make our trip enjoyable. We often do not go to the same resort 3 consecutive times and one of the reason is because of Denroy. Thanks to Denroy and Sontesa for a great week and hope to see you all soon. Cheers

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gfilice2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you chose to return, and had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing