We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd visit this year and what a change since the renovation/makeover.

Congratulations to GM Karl Bourne and all the staff. It is beautiful. The colour scheme, the room upgrades, the

changes in Bayview where Cleo has done a terrific job with the selection of food offered and the service. The

lower level bar is outstanding. Everything was great. As we have been return guests for 8 years now it is always

wonderful to be greeted by the long time staff and nice to meet the new members too. Edrik, Vicky,Patrica ,Geneva

Michael,Maritza,Nana, Renata,Charlene,Florita, Gilberto, and many more. Everyone was polite and helpful and

cheerful. We plan to continue our 2 times a year visit for years to come. Diana and George

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlady4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate your feedback as well as the mention of so many team members, because as you say you were home away from home. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    1,638
    673
    306
    228
See reviews for
629
2,166
137
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was a dream week!

The hotel, like the island, is friendly. The food is good and varied. The cook at the pizza restaurant in the afternoon is always available to accommodate us and impress us! The staff is very nice. Animators always there to propose activities: volleyball, dance, aerobics, games and karaoke. Micheal and David are always dynamic and they make sure that everything is always perfect!!! My holidays were unforgettable!
In the evening its quieter, but let convince you to dance a little and you will not be disappointed, we had a lot of fun! You'll remember having danced with micheal or pauline!!!! there are live band coming to play!

The animators also gave us good advice to visit the island and go outside the hotel! Dont hesitate to consult ;) We visited the island by jeep (it worth it to rent a car, it's cheap!) Is small, but the beaches are beautiful. Dont miss the planes! Otherwise, round the island catamaran provides a beautiful view of the island ;) I recommend it for a quiet day.

last point, I would have liked the bbq evening takes place outside the pool rather than the buffet?

See you again ;)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtlqcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your vacation experience at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. What a great way to describe your stay, unfortgettable! We are happy that we made your holiday a memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was my first trip to St.Maarten with my bestie, and I have to say it certainly won't be my last. The country is absolutely beautiful and the people are some of the best people I have ever met. The hotel was always clean and the food was spectacular. We had an oceanview room and let me tell you coming back home to my view was such a let down.lol The staff were always so professional and friendly that I cried when I left. A big shout out goes to the Animators, especially Michael, Chantal, David, and Edwin. You are truly the sweetest most fun group of people and I will never forget you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort & Casino. We are glad that we made an impact on you, as that is our aim. We appreciate all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed for a week at the all inclusive Sonesta Resort in November, 2013. The view of the Carribean Sea was spectacular. The resort was very clean. There were staff constantly keeping the floors clean of dirt and sand. Our hotel room was very clean everyday. The food was delicious in all of the restaurants. The Italian Restaurant had delicious food. We ate there 2 times and hoped that the menu could have changed. The poolside bar was great and the pools real clean. The staff were friendly and could not do enough. Micheal and Denroy were great entertainment coordinators. Vicky and the staff at the front desk were always accomodating even when it was busy. Taro, Veronica, Ashina and all of the staff were very courteous and helpful. We got to know Innocent, in maintenance, who was friendly. Corbin, much luck to you and keep your positive attitude! Thank you for a great memorable vacation. Mike & Rita

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1960MichaelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your vacation experience at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort & Casino. We value and appreciate all of your comments and truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our first time at Sonesta Great Bay and definately not the last, had an amazing time the staff are very friendly and always greet you with a smile!!!!!!! special shout out to Germaine who sang to me on our last night which karoke nigh, she sang Maria Maria... will never forget it, and also to Denroy who always took the time to say hi and made sure we enjoying our stay and to my little Kim, and the rest of the crew.
the food was great especially at the italian restaurant. beach & pool amazing. the resort near philisburg walking distance. room was very clean and confortable, stayed on the 7th floor ocien view and always enjoyed looking at how many cruise ships would port for the day. i slept with the curtains opened to see the beautiful ocean when i would wake up. hope to see you soon!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay on the 7th floor ocien view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort & Casino. We are glad that we made your stay a memorable one and it being your first, you admit it definitely won't be your last. We appreciate all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our second visit to the Great Bay. We loved it so much the first time a second visit was a must. Edrick greeted us with a smile and a warm welcome. We were thrilled that he remembered us from last years visit.
Karl Bourne, the most amazing manager, was there with open arms to welcome us on our arrival. We immediately noticed the updated décor in the lobby. Vicky set us up with our rooms and a cold towel, greatly appreciated.
The staff at the pool bar was exceptional. Claudine, Kim, Michael, Maritza and Sheldon made us feel like royalty…thanks for the Caesars.
Props to Denroy….you are the best!!! We will see you in November for another round of flip cup.
Jonathan’s smile and positive attitude helped us start each on the right note. The pizza and burgers were amazing, we had poolside service.
This review could go on for days…we love the Sonesta Great Bay . The view is priceless, the pool is amazing but it is the staff made the experience unforgettable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room...floor number doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We truly appreciate all of your positive comments toward the resort and staff, and are glad that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next November.

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was my 2nd visit to the island of St. Maartan and 2nd time staying at Sonesta Great Bay. My husband and I had a fantastic time again and that is the reason why we keep wanting to come back!!. Rooms are clean, views are phenomenal and the food was delicious...lots of variety, including pizza which was yummy!! This is a relaxing & laid back resort with the friendliest staff you will ever meet. My husband and I would like to thank "Animators" Michael, Chantal, David & Edwin they made our vacation so much fun and extra special. They went above and beyond and we are truly humbled to have met them and call them our friends for life. We will definitely be returning back...and not just for the shopping!!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room on a higher floor, view is breathe taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smk0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We truly appreciate your all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you, our friends, back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,799 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing