We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Gorgeous island with some wonderful people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Return yesterday from this beautiful island and hated to leave. We had our 60th birthday party their and the staff really set it out for us.i would like to say thank thank to Andy for every time I went to the grill he would make me my special salad, it was good. Also too Maritza for all the good drinks I had. And most of all my wonderful hot stone massage that Karolino gave me it was the best...... I hope when I return that the same staff will be their. Keep up the good work!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that we were able to make your 6oth birthday a wonderful one. We appreciate all of the comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,518 - 2,524 of 4,326 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I just returned from a solo one week vacation at the beautiful Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and am happy to say that I had the greatest time! The warm welcome at the front desk by Vicky was wonderful, with a tropical drink and cool cloth. The always charming Eldrick, the bellman, took me to my room and showed me around. I had a gorgeous room in the apartment side where it was very quiet and had a magnificent view of Great Bay. I never got tired of that!

The hotel itself is very clean, the new paint job is beautiful and all the staff are very attentive and polite. There is a visible security presence around the clock which made me feel good, being a solo traveler. But then you get to know the staff and they make you feel like family.

The location is top notch, with a beautiful beach and warm water. Beware of the sudden drop off in the water if you're not a strong swimmer. The waves are fun to play in but they can also be very strong at times. The pools and hot tub are wonderful too with plenty of loungers and umbrellas for everyone.
Mavis, the towel lady, is a sweetheart. She even saved a chair for me one day when I was out on a tour in the morning.

It's a very short walk into Philipsburg which is a bonus. There is lots to see in town and good shopping to be had. You can tell how busy it will be by the number of cruise ships in the harbour.

The activities staff is supervised by the always energetic Denroy. He has a warm smile for everyone and makes you feel very welcome. His aqua fit class is not to be missed. David and Michael and Chantal and the other animators keep everyone entertained, but are never pushy about it. Whether it's the afternoon poolside bingo game, beach volleyball, hermit crab races, just hanging out by the pool, participating in karaoke night, or dancing to the evening's local band, it's always fun. This group alone makes me want to return!

The food is great and always different, with wonderful service. Florita, the supervisor at the Bay View buffet restaurant makes sure everyone is happy. Michael, the evening bartender at the poolside bar, is charming and attentive and remembers your favourite drinks, or you can try one of his amazing creations. He also gives a fun and informative 3 hour tour of the island on his days off. I'm so glad I took the tour with him and saw the whole island of beautiful St. Maarten, with lots of stops on the way for photos.

The weather was perfect! Nice and hot and mostly every afternoon we had a little 10 minute rain shower, and sometimes in the evenings as well. But the rain never lasts for long. This is truly paradise and I will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maryboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you had a great time with us. Thank you for your observations, we value and appreciate all of your comments. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Husband and I spent one week at Sonesta Great Bay and we had our best vacation to date. We had a ground floor ocean view deluxe room and it was really nice, spacious and very clean. Housekeeping is impeccable and our mini fridge was restocked daily with water, soda and beer along with rum and vodka dispenser. Also in our room on arrival was a beautiful fruit platter and a very nice bottle of merlot. The staff are such beautiful people, the food is delicious, wonderful beach and always enjoyed the evening entertainment. The resort is within a 10 minute walk to Philipsburg by either the beach or the road, which is a great added feature for the resort for people who want to wander out to the local area.
Sonesta Great Bay is just a great resort and we will definitely return...Saint Maarten is an amazing island and this is a place I would recommend for all to visit...missing it already.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean front room is the one to choose, great view of the ocean and cruise ships across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GardenGrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. It is great to know that you consider this your best vacation to date. We really appreciate your comments as we aim to be the number the one vacation destination on Sint Maarten. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Loved loved loved the stay at Sonesta Great Bay. Every expectation was fulfilled. The service was wonderful, and helpful. Vicky at the desk was top notch. The security people are nice and helpful. Over the top in every way.

Room Tip: Get an apartment if you can, they all face the Ocean, and have a pool and hot tub right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. Wow! 3 loves, that is wonderful to know that we made your stay a special one, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It took me and my husband a long time to decide on the perfect honeymoon and im so happy we chose the sonesta great bay in St. Maarten. We had an amazing time everything was perfect the food OMG!! Yummyyyy. My room was very clean I was really happy about that. Every staff member was so friendly and really made you feel comfortable. I really want to thank the animators especially Michael, Edwin, David, Chantel and Maria they really made this vacation amazing and unforgettable its because of them and all the staff at great bay that I will definitely be going back there.

Can't wait!!!
Carmela

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, the view is breathtakingly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CK09072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that we made not only your regular stay but your honeymoon, a memorable one. Our team members feel special to be singled out by our guests, and we surely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd visit this year and what a change since the renovation/makeover.

Congratulations to GM Karl Bourne and all the staff. It is beautiful. The colour scheme, the room upgrades, the

changes in Bayview where Cleo has done a terrific job with the selection of food offered and the service. The

lower level bar is outstanding. Everything was great. As we have been return guests for 8 years now it is always

wonderful to be greeted by the long time staff and nice to meet the new members too. Edrik, Vicky,Patrica ,Geneva

Michael,Maritza,Nana, Renata,Charlene,Florita, Gilberto, and many more. Everyone was polite and helpful and

cheerful. We plan to continue our 2 times a year visit for years to come. Diana and George

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachlady4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate your feedback as well as the mention of so many team members, because as you say you were home away from home. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was a dream week!

The hotel, like the island, is friendly. The food is good and varied. The cook at the pizza restaurant in the afternoon is always available to accommodate us and impress us! The staff is very nice. Animators always there to propose activities: volleyball, dance, aerobics, games and karaoke. Micheal and David are always dynamic and they make sure that everything is always perfect!!! My holidays were unforgettable!
In the evening its quieter, but let convince you to dance a little and you will not be disappointed, we had a lot of fun! You'll remember having danced with micheal or pauline!!!! there are live band coming to play!

The animators also gave us good advice to visit the island and go outside the hotel! Dont hesitate to consult ;) We visited the island by jeep (it worth it to rent a car, it's cheap!) Is small, but the beaches are beautiful. Dont miss the planes! Otherwise, round the island catamaran provides a beautiful view of the island ;) I recommend it for a quiet day.

last point, I would have liked the bbq evening takes place outside the pool rather than the buffet?

See you again ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtlqcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your vacation experience at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. What a great way to describe your stay, unfortgettable! We are happy that we made your holiday a memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £254 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing