We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed at this resort for a week and had such a wonderful experience. We stayed there from May 29th to June 5th. During this week we really bonded with a lot of great people who were travellers but most importantly the staff at this resort. We felt that because the resort was a lot smaller than other resorts we have visited in the past, this is why we made such strong bonds with people. It was very easy to find your way around right from the first day we arrived. We are not very picky when it comes to eating so we were quite content with the food for the most part of this trip. Our biggest thing we look at when we go on vacation is customer service. Jackson (waiter) was amazing every morning in the breakfast buffet always making sure we had everything we needed and always knew we started our morning with a cappuccino lol. When it came to lunch on the lower level pizzeria/bar, Jonathan was excellent! He always had a big smile on his face, which we find is a great quality to have. He was very friendly and by the second day he already knew our order as soon as he saw us take our seats. Big shout out to him for his excellent service. All the staff at the pescatore a la carte was also very good, especially Janice. The swimming pool bartenders were also very friendly and would always have smiles on their faces. Nigel and Akeem were who we dealt with the most and hats off to them because it was a pleasure having them taking care of our drinks. Everyday there was always plenty of activities to do around the pool and beach area, never a dull moment thanks to the amazing animators crew who we really missed at the end of our vacation because they felt like family to us during our stay at this resort. I'd like to give special shout outs to Tevin, Denroy, Kiaya, Nasmarie, Joash, and Amanda. Thank you guys so much for making our stay such a funfilled experience and when we visit St. Maarten again, this resort will once again be our first choice.

Room Tip: Higher floor ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Nick!

We are happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a great experience at our luxurious, All-Inclusive, adults only resort. The team here at Sonesta Great Bay is pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and made you feel at home. Thank you for taking the time out to write this review and we will share your kind mentions with our friendly and courteous employees.

We cannot wait for you to return to St. Maarten and thank you for making us your #1 vacation spot!

Best regards,

Team Sonesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    1,563
    653
    293
    221
See reviews for
607
2,057
133
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Me & my husband stayed at this resort for 2 weeks for our honeymoon :) we stayed there from may 22nd to june 5th 2014. Everything was great. We stayed at maho resort last year and it was as great!!! We are very Happy we got little extras because of our honeymoon. Every staff takes very good care of you ; they treat you like you're family :)

The hotel was pretty full when we got here and i got a 2nd floor room. They told me as soon as they can they will switch me to another room (higher floor). Like promise, they did switch me 3 days after, as soon as they had some avalibility. ROY (front desk) did everything to keep us happy all the during of our stay. Roy was really nice and really wants to help the clients to keep thème happy. Another great front desk clerk : Vicky. Always smiling and making sure you're fine.

Some other staff that i loooooooved : georgio (lobby concierge) is so nice and always happy and smiling to clients. Edrick (bellman) very nice too
At bay view restaurant: charlene is the best waitress !! And Patricia (supervisor) always make sure you are satisfed. Jonathan (waiter) is great also. He work at a la carte lunch restaurant and his smile is captivating. Always happy!
The BEST bartender of all the hotel is without a doubt DESTIN !!!! So nice and always smiling and always a pleasure to serve you. You have to go see him next to the restaurant and to the animation office. DESTINE is always happy and he loves serving drinks everything you ask he can make for you. He was the best !!!!

All the animation team is wonderfull they are very nice with everyone. My favorite was Thomas :) he brings me luck when i played bingo haha!!! All the games are fun & original and are for all kind of ages.

The great thing too is that you can visit the sister resort which is maho resort. You can go there and eat at the different restaurants without charge. You can also go Check out the airplanes landing.

St-maarten is the best Island ever !!! My husband has been here 6th time and is planning to go again !!!!

Location of sonesta great bay is awesome ; about 10 to 15 min walk on the boardwalk and you're right in downtown philipsburg !! Another great thing about this hotel : wifi if FREE !!!!!!!! :)

Sansary (the sunwing representative) is always at his desk and always ready to answer your questions. Thats what i love about that ; if you have any question you always know where to find him (not like some other resorts in carabeans where you're always looking for you representative) sansary was even there at the airport with us to make sure everything was fine.

I recommand this hotel to everyone !!!! I went to many many resorts and this one is wonderfull !!!



-Marie & Charles, the newly weds :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie-Hélène B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Marie-Hélène B,

First of all, thank you for choosing to have celebrate your Honeymoon with us, and Congratulations! We appreciate you taking the time out to write a review about your time spent at Great Bay Beach Resort.

We are glad to see that you liked the little extras we prepared for you to help with your Celebrations and all the positive feedback regarding our rooms, views, food and staff. We have relayed your kind messaged to each of the staff members you have mentioned and they were all very pleased when we told them.

It’s great that you had a chance to visit our sister Resort, to see the airplanes coming and going; it's a site that everyone should see when visiting the Island.

We look forward to seeing you and your husband soon and Congratulations again!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a wonderful time during our week stay. Kendy the bartender at the pool/beach was always friendly and greeted me with a cold drink. Michael the bartender at the dining room bar was very friendly and efficient with his drinks and a bit of chit chat. Gregory the chef at the seafood a la carte restaurant was outstanding with his preparations and when he ran out of specials...he did up a special dinner for us the next night. The beautiful tall ex-model lady that managed there was outstanding!!! (and a great dancer). Florika the manager in the buffet restaurant was such a nice lady and tried her best to please. But my favourite person there had to be Jonathon the bell hop at the front...this is a very special guy with a friendly smile every time you saw him and he is hilarious!!! I enjoyed our chats. Sorry to have to leave.
The only problem that we had was that we asked to be on a higher level and they put us on the second floor and my parents on the first floor (no ocean view). This was disappointing but they switched rooms 3 days in to the second floor (still not what they asked for but they took it).
This was a great small resort that is in excellent proximity to Philipsburg, literally 5-10 minute walk either by beach or sidewalk. It is very safe there. The shopping and bars dotted along the boardwalk are fantastic!
We enjoyed the pools, however the ocean had a large drop off so our elderly parents could not go in, something to consider if you are not a swimmer or are disabled.
Rooms were comfortable. Lounge chairs by the pool were comfortable too, but some of the beach chairs might need to be replaced.
The a la carte dining was wonderful and the food was truly 5 star, but wondering if they should change the menu halfway through the week to add some variety. Just a suggestion. The buffet always had fish on it...which was wonderful!
Overall we had a wonderful experience with our elderly parents, everyone was sooooo kind and helpful. We would go back, but I would hope that a higher floor would be on the order, especially when asking for it in the first place.
Thank you so much for the memories Sonesta Great Bay....I will be back! :)

Room Tip: Rooms above the 4th floor will get a better view of the ocean, we were on the second floor which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hijk4rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear hijk4rock,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your time spent with us.

We’re happy to see we got to move your parents up a floor, to give them a better view; but we’re sorry we were unable to put you on a higher floor. We would have loved to and always look to accommodate our guests, when we can. The reason we were unable to in this case, was because we had no other rooms available on the higher floors at the time.

It’s great to see that you have rated our food as 5-Star. The Kitchen staff will be pleased to hear that, and thank you for your feedback regarding the food variety, we will make sure to pass that on to our Kitchen staff as well.

It’s always a pleasure when we hear our guests got to relax on their vacation and that they received amazing customer service from our entire staff. We hope to see you and your family back again soon, and we’ll make sure to do everything we can to get you an even higher room next time!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We travel regularly with our friends and have enjoyed some of the most beautiful islands in the world. St. Maarten has some of the most beautiful water we have seen but the attraction to this island has more to do with the culture of the locals. Every single person we met offered a hello and a smile and were more friendly than anywhere we have been before. Ok, I can understand if there is a tyrant in the back room telling the workers be nice OR ELSE, but that was never the case, they are truly just that friendly. At the resort, we were greeted initially by Jonathon who had us smiling and laughing from the start. While at the bar and pools, Kevin and Kiaya both kept us entertained during the day and were terrific company sitting and talking with us. One of our group had a birthday and Chef Neal was quick to bake him a special cake and provide Syndi her chocolate chip cookies.

There was nothing the staff wouldn't do to make our stay memorable and that is exactly what they did.

The areas for improvement would be in the entertainment arena. The nightlife was a bit quiet and could have used more music that would get people up and dancing rather than sitting listening to the bands play slower music.

Another improvement is the pool music. During the entertainment events by the pool, music would be playing and people would be enjoying, but when the event ended, the music was turned off. Many people requested the music be played all the time but the manager said there were complaints that the music was too loud. You want quiet, stay at a convent. This is a vacation, enjoy.

Room Tip: Get the grand ocean view room. We were on the 6th floor (of 7) and could sit on our balcony and enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Chuck T,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your time spent with us.

It’s great to see you enjoyed our beautiful views and received amazing customer service; our staff really takes pride in their job, because we want to do everything we can to make each and every one of our guests leave with a big smile on their face and everlasting memories. So it’s nice to see you left that way.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our entertainment arena and the music out by the pool, we’ll make sure to pass on your comments to the appropriate departments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I travel often and I have to say for an all inclusive resort the food here was the best! Variety and fresh every meal! The Staff was lovely and patient with our very large group. You are also permitted to use the sister resort as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sareelny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Sareelny,

Thank you for writing your review about your time at our property.

We are happy to see you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, and that you got to visit our sister Resort. Since you travel so often, we hope you'll make sure to stop by and see us again very soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first time to St. Maarten and we absolutely LOVED it!! Vicky at the front desk was so helpful with anything and everything we needed. And Jonathan AKA Smiley always had cold beer on ice waiting for us at the Waterfront eating area. he took great care of us all week!! All of the staff was so friendly! We stayed in one of the Apartments and we had a beautiful view from our balcony of the bay and a different cruise ship everyday. They dock right across the bay from the resort. Adult only and I beleive the liquor was all premium brands. The fridge was stocked daily with about 4 beers, soda and several bottles of water daily. Not to mention that our room also had a bottle of Smirnoff, Gordon's and Jumbie Coconut Splash Rum (St. Maarten brand which I highly recommend, I drink this all week and bought a bottle for $9 US to bring home). I highly recommend St. Maarten & Sonesta Great Bay Resort!! We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The apartment we had was nice. I beleive when our travel agent booked this for us it was a Jr Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Maria M,

Thank you so kindly for writing such a positive review about your time at our Resort.

As a first timer to the Island, we are so pleased to hear that you absolutely enjoyed every second of your vacation. It's so beautiful to gaze out of your balcony and see the cruise ships coming in and out of St. Maarten, along with the many other we have through-out our property.

You sure did have a good idea to bring back a few bottles of Rum with you; the Coconut Splash Rum is very traditional to the island and every time you make a drink out of it back home, we hope you will remember your time spent with us!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel, staff, and food was amazing and very nice and accommodating to our big group this past Memorial Day. Every service provided was above and beyond. Very clean, beautiful view of the ocean and country. Big thanks to our housekeeping crew, bellman Jonathan,and bartender Owen who also entertained us while doing their job. Definitely recommend, and would definitely stay here again. Thanks.#travelfam #ohpsalms #10thanniversary

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babysos920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear babysos920,

Thank you for choosing to spend your long weekend with us and for taking the time out to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you received “above and beyond customer service”, and that you enjoyed all the meals you received.

We have passed on your kind comments to our housekeeping staff, and to Jonathan and Owen. We thank you for giving us the recommendation and we hope to see you back again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing