We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had an AMAZING stay here. Great staff, amazing food, beaches were awesome. I can't say enough about it. The staff was the friendliest I have encountered in years. They are very courteous and welcoming. I would recommend this resort to anyone who planned to visit Sint Maarten.

Room Tip: The apartment rooms were so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ngboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear ngboo,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your time with us.

We appreciate your recommendation and for the positive feedback, about our staff, food, and beaches.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,170 - 2,176 of 4,331 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have to say I read so many discouraging reviews about this hotel and the staff that I almost cancelled my trip. Well, I don't know what was wrong those guests. . .but I loved everything from the minute I got out of the taxi. . .I checked in earlier than the alotted 3 pm time, was greeted with a smile, some champagne, a fresh cool towel included in my liberty travel booking). My room was clean and cool. The hotel staff was very helpful at any time of the day or night. Answered any questions I had. The buffet was excellent and drinks flowing. When I wanted top shelf I asked for it, sorry I can't speak for restaurants since i frequented the buffet. If you needed something special the ladies who sat and served you were more than willing to help. They were always friendly and pleasant. The chefs too were friendly and would come around and speak to the guests and gave suggestions as to what to try. The pools were always clean, the lounge chairs were all in working order and the beach had amazing views of cruises ships docked, or people boating and jet skiing. The spa was relaxing . . .try the serenity massage!. I plan to visit Sonesta Great Bay again. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor on either side. . .beautiful views all around. Smile and be friendly, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Lisa E,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed each meal and that your room was clean and cool. It's also good to see that you received friendly and helpful customer service and that you had an overall great relaxing vacation at our Resort and Spa.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wow.!! This resort was extraordinary accommodating. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The staff was very attentive and the rooms were very clean. Entertainment was awesome. The food was exquisite. We had visited the sister hotel, Sonesta Maho and it was so different, Its view was breath taking but The staff there was not as friendly or welcoming. We decided to take a taxi back to Great Bay. Definitly will recommend The Sonesta Great Bay to our family and friends. Very Pleased and Content....

Room Tip: Get the pool or ocean view. Breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aracena08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Aracena08,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us especially; that you received extraordinary and friendly service. It’s also nice to see that you enjoyed the food prepared for you and that you got a chance to go visit our Sister Resort.

Thanks for recommending our Resort and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms were clean, and maintained often daily.
We were able to relax and unwind freely without disruption in our rooms and on the beach.
the variety of food was excellent. Our honeymoon was amazing

Room Tip: Unfortunately none of the rooms have jacuzzis, but oceanview rooms are great! We were on the 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Keisha T,

First of all, thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us and for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our Resort.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us especially; that you got to relax in your room and on the beach, and that you enjoyed each of the meals prepared for you during your stay. We actually do have some rooms that have rooms with Jacuzzis, so next time you come to visit, make sure to request one!

We hope to see again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

There's nothing else you need for a beach holiday in a beautiful location - it's all here. We'd been to St. Maarten on cruises before and decided to make it our single destination this April 2014. Friends aboard a cruise were in port a day and able to purchase privileges for the day (a $60 wristband) which gave them full access to all facilities, meals and drinks. Grab your lounge chair early and enjoy the beautiful water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1KFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear 1KFlyer,

Thank you for spending your time to comment on your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you got to “take your shoes off and enjoy” your vacation at our Resort. It’s also nice that your friends got to visit for the day, since they were only a 10 minute ride away from the Cruise Port, making a day trip to come see you at the Resort, was a great idea!

We hope you and your friends will come back down to see us soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Upon arrival at Great Bay we had a few requests that were immediately looked after by the front desk clerk - (whom I think was the manager). It was our 25th anniversary and we received in our room, a welcome card + champagne & chocolate strawberries (for a small fee). The resort is older but clean, with good food, service, & is in an excellent location.
On our third night we asked the same front desk clerk if we could transfer to Sonesta Maho, as we had spent the day there & enjoyed it. It seemed newer, had more clubs/activities and was in an area that had more things to do. We were told to check back in the morning to see if we could transfer to Maho. The next day we were told we had a transfer to Maho to an equivalent ocean view room for no extra charge. We rented a car at the Great Bay resort, travelled the island for the day then returned the rental car to the Maho resort. It was a fun day to see the island & allowed us an easy transfer to the Maho resort.
At Sonesta Mayo check-in was easy & we went to our room (#950). It was a pleasant surprise. We had a newer (upgraded) room, with an excellent view. The airport is beside the resort & seeing the planes land & take-off is a must. It also has a lot of bars & nightlife outside the front door. The Palm Grill is the beach restaurant & we received (above) excellent service there. The Host (Fevry) was great - he welcomed us & made sure we had what we wanted. I commented on the excellent Buffalo wings and Fevry brought out the chef to meet us.
The chef (Joseph) was so good to meet. He told us the wing sauce was a "special recipe" & also offered to cook us a "made to order" nacho dish that my wife enjoyed. All this & the waitress (Liaurie) was there to keep us happy & the bartender @ Palm Grill was always pleasant. On our last night the Maho resort had a beach BBQ & party. They announced our 25th anniversary & allowed us a dance on the beach.
We cant say anything bad about our stay @ both Sonesta resorts. We were always satisfied with the service & food.

Great Bay is a great relaxing resort in a excellent location for adults only. Its a little older but clean & with excellent service.

Maho is a newer resort (at least the area we stayed) & found it had more activity & nightlife. We were lucky that they had room to allow us to make a transfer so we had a stay @ both resorts. They said that a transfer may not always be possible, but we want to thank Great Bay for making that possible & our 25th anniversary a great memory.

Room Tip: At Great Bay pay for the ocean view - floors 5-7 At Maho get a premium pool/ocean view room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Heather S,

First of all, thank you for choosing to spend your 25th Anniversary with us and thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our Resort.

We’re glad to see that your requests were taken care of immediately and that you had were able to transfer to our Sister Resort to enjoy the nightlife and activity over in Maho, after a few nights with us. Thank you for highlighting our excellent location, food and customer service.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed at this resort for a week and had such a wonderful experience. We stayed there from May 29th to June 5th. During this week we really bonded with a lot of great people who were travellers but most importantly the staff at this resort. We felt that because the resort was a lot smaller than other resorts we have visited in the past, this is why we made such strong bonds with people. It was very easy to find your way around right from the first day we arrived. We are not very picky when it comes to eating so we were quite content with the food for the most part of this trip. Our biggest thing we look at when we go on vacation is customer service. Jackson (waiter) was amazing every morning in the breakfast buffet always making sure we had everything we needed and always knew we started our morning with a cappuccino lol. When it came to lunch on the lower level pizzeria/bar, Jonathan was excellent! He always had a big smile on his face, which we find is a great quality to have. He was very friendly and by the second day he already knew our order as soon as he saw us take our seats. Big shout out to him for his excellent service. All the staff at the pescatore a la carte was also very good, especially Janice. The swimming pool bartenders were also very friendly and would always have smiles on their faces. Nigel and Akeem were who we dealt with the most and hats off to them because it was a pleasure having them taking care of our drinks. Everyday there was always plenty of activities to do around the pool and beach area, never a dull moment thanks to the amazing animators crew who we really missed at the end of our vacation because they felt like family to us during our stay at this resort. I'd like to give special shout outs to Tevin, Denroy, Kiaya, Nasmarie, Joash, and Amanda. Thank you guys so much for making our stay such a funfilled experience and when we visit St. Maarten again, this resort will once again be our first choice.

Room Tip: Higher floor ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello Nick!

We are happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a great experience at our luxurious, All-Inclusive, adults only resort. The team here at Sonesta Great Bay is pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and made you feel at home. Thank you for taking the time out to write this review and we will share your kind mentions with our friendly and courteous employees.

We cannot wait for you to return to St. Maarten and thank you for making us your #1 vacation spot!

Best regards,

Team Sonesta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
3 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £264 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing