We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Butler Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Butler Service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our vacation was very relaxing and well enjoyed. At this resort we had a Butler Taro who had a great personality and was always on top of his game. Also, he always made sure his guest were happy and always made a special touch. For example, he made animals with towels and left them in our room, it was very nice touch. In addition, our butler Marica was very professional and was always helpful and made sure our family was happy. Overall they were great and we definitely recommend them, especially with saving seats at the pool.

Room Tip: Has a great Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copeland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Copeland01,

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time at our Resort.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your Butler Service with us and that Butler Taro and Butler Marica, made you and your family feel special and were attentive and helpful.

When you are ready for another relaxing vacation, we hope you'll come back to see us.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    1,557
    650
    288
    219
See reviews for
604
2,047
133
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro North Carolin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Sonesta Great Bay Resort for our Honeymoon and we loved it! I would definitely recommend booking a room on a higher floor overlooking the water. My Wife and I were originally placed on the first floor however we asked the front desk to move to a higher floor and they were very accommodating. The food and drinks were awesome and the water was breathtaking. We spent most days hanging out and drinking by the infinity pool (with a swim up bar) overlooking the beach and ocean. Denroy (Activities Manager) was very friendly and kept the days packed with fun activities. He defiantly got the party started and kept people entertained!! The resort is close to Philipsburg which has great shopping and some nice restaurants. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Sonesta Great Bay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPCarron22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear JPCarron22,

First of all, thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us and for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our Resort.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your time here and we’re glad that we were able to accommodate you by putting you on a higher floor. It’s nice that you and your Wife got to take in the beautiful views, enjoyed the swim-up bar and had fun with our entertainment team and the activities they provided!

We hope you to see you both back soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had an AMAZING stay here. Great staff, amazing food, beaches were awesome. I can't say enough about it. The staff was the friendliest I have encountered in years. They are very courteous and welcoming. I would recommend this resort to anyone who planned to visit Sint Maarten.

Room Tip: The apartment rooms were so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ngboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear ngboo,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your time with us.

We appreciate your recommendation and for the positive feedback, about our staff, food, and beaches.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have to say I read so many discouraging reviews about this hotel and the staff that I almost cancelled my trip. Well, I don't know what was wrong those guests. . .but I loved everything from the minute I got out of the taxi. . .I checked in earlier than the alotted 3 pm time, was greeted with a smile, some champagne, a fresh cool towel included in my liberty travel booking). My room was clean and cool. The hotel staff was very helpful at any time of the day or night. Answered any questions I had. The buffet was excellent and drinks flowing. When I wanted top shelf I asked for it, sorry I can't speak for restaurants since i frequented the buffet. If you needed something special the ladies who sat and served you were more than willing to help. They were always friendly and pleasant. The chefs too were friendly and would come around and speak to the guests and gave suggestions as to what to try. The pools were always clean, the lounge chairs were all in working order and the beach had amazing views of cruises ships docked, or people boating and jet skiing. The spa was relaxing . . .try the serenity massage!. I plan to visit Sonesta Great Bay again. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor on either side. . .beautiful views all around. Smile and be friendly, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Lisa E,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed each meal and that your room was clean and cool. It's also good to see that you received friendly and helpful customer service and that you had an overall great relaxing vacation at our Resort and Spa.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wow.!! This resort was extraordinary accommodating. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The staff was very attentive and the rooms were very clean. Entertainment was awesome. The food was exquisite. We had visited the sister hotel, Sonesta Maho and it was so different, Its view was breath taking but The staff there was not as friendly or welcoming. We decided to take a taxi back to Great Bay. Definitly will recommend The Sonesta Great Bay to our family and friends. Very Pleased and Content....

Room Tip: Get the pool or ocean view. Breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aracena08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Aracena08,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us especially; that you received extraordinary and friendly service. It’s also nice to see that you enjoyed the food prepared for you and that you got a chance to go visit our Sister Resort.

Thanks for recommending our Resort and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms were clean, and maintained often daily.
We were able to relax and unwind freely without disruption in our rooms and on the beach.
the variety of food was excellent. Our honeymoon was amazing

Room Tip: Unfortunately none of the rooms have jacuzzis, but oceanview rooms are great! We were on the 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Keisha T,

First of all, thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us and for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our Resort.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us especially; that you got to relax in your room and on the beach, and that you enjoyed each of the meals prepared for you during your stay. We actually do have some rooms that have rooms with Jacuzzis, so next time you come to visit, make sure to request one!

We hope to see again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

There's nothing else you need for a beach holiday in a beautiful location - it's all here. We'd been to St. Maarten on cruises before and decided to make it our single destination this April 2014. Friends aboard a cruise were in port a day and able to purchase privileges for the day (a $60 wristband) which gave them full access to all facilities, meals and drinks. Grab your lounge chair early and enjoy the beautiful water.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1KFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear 1KFlyer,

Thank you for spending your time to comment on your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you got to “take your shoes off and enjoy” your vacation at our Resort. It’s also nice that your friends got to visit for the day, since they were only a 10 minute ride away from the Cruise Port, making a day trip to come see you at the Resort, was a great idea!

We hope you and your friends will come back down to see us soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,744 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing