We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belair Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (4,341)
Filter reviews
4,341 results
Traveller rating
1,422
1,676
700
310
233
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,422
1,676
700
310
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssonesta mahoswim up bargreat baylava rockbutler servicepizzaocean viewil pescatoreseafood restauranta la carte restaurantspool deckentertainment staffsister hotelall inclusivesspecial thanksoceanview roombeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
2,107 - 2,112 of 4,341 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The resort was beautiful. All of the staff were friendly and cooperative. I really enjoyed my stay. The room was very nice and clean. I had a great dinner at their fine dinning restaurant. Overall, great experience here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vinod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I just came back from our wonderful vacation celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary.
Beautiful beach, water and great layout of everything
Staff is amazing, in particular Florita, a supervisor in the restaurant, Mauricio our beach server, Ella one of the security guards, Cleo, the head restaurant supervisor. All employees strive to do their very best and each one of them work so very hard. And they all are very welcoming and take the time to have a small chat and get to know their guests. How about the big guys let all the wait/restaurant staff wear short sleeves? It's heartbreaking to see them work in the heat in long sleeves. Other tourists share my thoughts on the short sleeves. They made us feel so comfortable and welcome. Hotel and guest room were very clean, service was amazing. And while the food was good, it could use more variety. A bit routine. Showers could use more pressure.
This island is beautiful and our beach was just perfect. We will
be back for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure to select an ocean view room. Only way to go.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

DO not pay for 18+ there is children there
Just got home after spending a week here and after going for 11 years it is always great to see "Workers" who I now call family VERY VERY disappointing that the Locals aren't allowed to visit unless only in casino Oh but the Local that writes for the newspaper can be there nightly-wouldnt want a bad review in the paper would we VERY VERY disappointing that I have came every year with a regular that has been going there for over 22 yrs but now is not allowed because it is 18+ and was escorted away from hotel when she did try visiting Maybe on the return visitors should collect all their photo's and videos of the kids there just in the last 2 weeks and post the all on here VERY VERY disappointing that it is called a 18+ and that there where children under 18 there. So why did I pay for 18+ These same children can sit and watch a 3 hrs-R Rated movie VERY VERY disappointed with the 2 faced policies maybe all us long timers should settle on a new hotel and start going there Alayne

Room Tip: just find one with no children
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alayne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Alayne62,

First of all, we want to thank you for staying with us for the past 11 years, however we apologize to see that you were not as satisfied this time around.

We have switched over to an adults-only resort, and we request an I.D from our guests to make sure that no one that checks in, is less than 18 years old. One of our buildings has time-share holders, and they may have kids who come with them. They are not supposed to be on the Resort side, especially watching R-rated movies. We will make sure to pass along this feedback to our security staff, along with other members of our team, so we can assure this doesn't happen again.

We have no problem with people coming to the Resort to visit guests, but they would need to purchase a day pass, because we want to ensure the safety of our guests, and it is for that reason that we don’t allow people on our property who are not staying at the resort, don’t have a day pass or don’t work directly for us.

We do hope that you will continue to vacation with us.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We travelled for a week in January of 2014. Our only disappointing part was at check in when we were assigned a room on the almost below ground level and the disinfectant odor was unbearable. It took a while but our room was changed to a higher level and that was fine.
The location is great, with a perfect pool overlooking the beach and a swim up bar. We had sun most of the time and it was very hot. We stayed in the shade. They engaged in deck activities and that was interesting. The food was very good. We ate at the main restaurant once but the buffet restaurant served good food for al meals with good choice and changing it up daily. Sitting at a table overlooking the beach was just great, open air.
From there you can walk into the town which is always interesting. Many jewelers and restaurants. The jeweler we found the best was right in the hotel, Oro Diamante. We did make a purchase. Excellent quality and price and extremely helpful in post vacation delivery. You need to be careful walking to town through questionable areas. They seem, fine in the day but we would not walk after dinner. You can walk into town by the beach. There are good restaurants in town and we preferred Chesterfields located at the far end of town, near the ship docks. It has good food and good price and is open air to the dock. It's a great place where we enjoyed 2 or 3 occasions. The trip around the island is very good but don't expect very much from the clothing optional beach. We took a day trip by to St Barts and we feel it is well worth it. Be prepared for expensive merchandise if you really want to spend there. It is a nice walking town and you can find items of reasonable means. The restaurants are also expensive but we had an inclusive tour. From the hotel you can walk to the nearby old fort. It is worth it. The view is spectacular and on one side of the cliff, you can see a pelican rookery. You need to be careful here for the height and access. We took a catamaran sunset cruise located just beside Chesterfields. The Captain and staff were more than helpful and the cruise was wonderful seeing the sun sink into the ocean and we had the opportunity to pass very close to an embarking cruise ship which was quite a site. We also visited the sister resort, Maho, by the airport and the landing planes are extremely close. You can enjoy lunch or beverage on the resort patio overlooking the beach and runway. You need to be careful if you stand on the road just at the end of the runway due to the immense power of the jet engines. You can review this on Facebook.
All in all it was a great vacation. The weather was fantastic with only about an hour of rain on one day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This getaway was just for the girls and we rocked Sonesta Greatbay on this vocation ( what happened in Vegas in Vegas so what happened in St Maarten stay in St Maarten) the staff was very friendly and pleasant, we enjoy the daily activities during the day with staff as a group and some outstanding night time entertainment , this was the first trip there for two of my girls, they love it so much they are going back with they husbands soon. A Big Bang for the money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phillips93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear phillips93,

Thank you for taking the time our to write your positive review about your time with us.

We are so glad that you and your friends chose to spend your girls vacation with us and it;'s great to see that you all had such a good time. We look forward to seeing all of you again very soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews