We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort for our 34th wedding anniversary. We booked a 6 night stay in a garden view room, but to our surprise they upgraded us to a ocean view. Thank You Vicky. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we had a great time. The staff were very friendly and professional. Allot to do during the day, great pools a very nice beach ( would recommend wearing sandals or water shoes on the beach, because of the very course sand). A short walk to town if you get bored. The 3 restaurants were good 1 buffet style 2 theme ( but only one theme restaurant open at a time). At night there was always something to do. Live bands nightly or if you felt lucky you could try their Casino.
I want to give a special Thank you to Edrick .greeting us at the van with a smile ,a cold towel and champagne. Vicky for making our check in very easy and our wonderful room and Ella for making our Anniversary Dinner on the Beach amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your time with us.

First of all, Happy Anniversary, we are so pleased that you and your wife chose to spend your anniversary with us. We're glad that our Front Desk was able to upgrade you to a Ocean View room, perfect for your celebrations. Thank you for highlighting our staff as being friendly and professional, our entertainment, the food that was served and our location. We will make sure pass on your special thanks to Edrick, Ella, and Vicky for you.

We hope to see you and your Wife again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    1,638
    673
    306
    228
See reviews for
629
2,166
137
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This review is a little late but I stayed with my Ohpsalms travel family during memorial weekend and it was an amazing vacation. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive throughout the entire stay.
I have already shared the resorts information with family and friends that are planning to travel to St Maarten, I absolutely recommend...

Thanks again for a wonderful weekend and hope to return soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank happytotravel788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My fiance and stayed at this resort for 5 days, July 21st through July 25th. This was our 1st to St Maarten and we picked this location with no knowledge of how this Hotel was rated. Lets just say we were not disappointed by the Island and the hotel. When we 1st pulled up we were a little skeptical but that quickly change when we saw the beautiful view and were greeted by the friendly staff at the main desk with champagne and a towel to wipe ourselves down which was relief after traveling all day. The hotel isn't a huge extravagant place which was a sigh of relief for my fiance and I. Everything is close by bars, restaurants, pools, main desk, etc. which we loved because we have stayed many places and are not big fans of huge hotels. The staff at this hotel has to be the friendliest we have ever experienced at any hotel from the bartenders, housekeepers, waitresses, cooks, etc. All the food was delicious from the buffet to the specialty restaurants, and all have beautiful views of the ocean along with the mountains. The entertainment was just right, poolside activities during the day and night time music entertainers were great. We were not disappointed in any aspect and will be going back soon. If you are looking for a crazy wild vacation save that for Cancun but if your looking for a beautiful relaxing place then Sonesta Great Bay in St Maarten is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for taking the time our to write your positive review about your time with us.

We're so glad that you were happy with your choice to stay with us and that your and your Fiance enjoyed everything about the resort, especially being greeted with a glass of Champagne and towels as you checked-in. Thank you for highlighting our staff, our entertainment and the quality of our food, we really strive to make sure our guests leave happy and eager to come back.

See you soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'll be brief. Very nice island and pools were great at resort. But that was about it. The staff seemed disgruntled and it was obvious the resort is mismanaged from the minute we arrived. The casino either needs table games or needs to shut down.
The food was sub par. The bars were not serviced well. It took up to 15 minutes a few times as I waited for a drink. And at 8:00 the place shuts down. There's not even a bar to sit at and have a few drinks to relax. I found myself walking in circles a few nights out of boredom. I had no interest in getting a cab or shuttle bus to go to a bar that was off the resort. The gym was in bad shape. 3 machines and one was broke the whole week. There was 1 ATM machine at resort and it was not working all week. My list of issues is long and I would expect I'm not the only one noticing these issues.
Do a survey and spend some money to improve the resort and it could be a really nice place. It wasn't cheap to stay here and if I spend that kind of money I expect a positive experience which I did not have

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just returned from a fabulous week vacation at the Sonesta Great Bay. We were there from June 29 thru July 6th. We had the best time and met so many great people form all over the world!! Cleopatra F&B Manager helped my husband plan a nice surprise of flowers and champagne in our room for my 50th birthday on June 30! The entire staff from the management, front desk, house keeping, Edrick the bell man, security, food service, bar and animators were fantastic!!! Everyone was friendly, helpful and overly accommodating. The staff made everyone feel special and the FOOD was DELICIOUS and there was a great variety and something for everyone's taste!!! I would definitely recommend the Soneta Great Bay to others and will stay there again! We did visit the sister resort Sonesta Maho but preferred the Great Bay as it is ADULTS ONLY!!!! The only thing that needs to be improved is the water pressure and temperture and at times the hot water in the bathroom sink would be slightly rusty looking when you first turn it on. But that was nothing compared to the overall stay at Sonesta Greay Bay!!
We will be back! Cecil & Valerie

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This resort has is all inclusive vacation, by far, given me the best service. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious. The hotel is beautiful and was very clean. Rooms are nice; however, the water pressure in the shower is low at the start of the day. The beach is beautiful!!!
Have a great time!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just returned from an amazing week at Sonesta Great Bay. We were there June 29th - July 6th, 2014. We have traveled extensively in the Caribbean, and hands down the staff at this resort is the best that we have encountered. They were absolutely amazing. We looked so forward to our early morning chats with Richard and Cleopatre, two managers at the hotel. They greeted us with huge smiles and lively conversations every morning. Then there were the bartenders that were always eager to make us the perfect drinks. We really miss you Yolande and Maritsza. Ella, a security guard, was so sweet as well. All of the staff made our stay fabulous. The view at this resort is phenomenal. We loved watching the cruise ships come in every morning. The walk into town is very short. We love Phillipsburg, and the shopping is very good. We ventured out to Orient Beach two days, Mullet Bay one day, and my husband went shark diving with Ocean Explorers. The food was delectable and plentiful. We ate at the specialty restaurant two nights and loved it as well. No reservations are needed. There was nightly music which we loved, and even did a little dancing.
In review, we absolutely love this resort and beautiful St. Maarten. We hope to make it our fifth time next year and see all of our wonderful friends. Remember you get what you give; be kind and pleasant and you will not be disappointed at Sonesta Great Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,799 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing