We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonesta Great Bay is Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sonesta Great Bay is Great!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family stayed at Sonesta Great Bay in Sint Maarten for two weeks in July 2014 and absolutely loved it!

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and we got to know several workers well, especially Richard, Cleopatra, Taro, Denroy, Michael and Terry. We are likely leaving out several names.

The food was terrific, from the specially cooked omelettes in the morning to the pizza at lunchtime to the expansive buffet at dinner.

The facility isn't large, which made it easier to get to know other guests. At the same time, we had everything we wanted, restaurants, two pools, a swim up bar, beach and beach volleyball. We also enjoyed other poolside activities. We also found the facility very well kept and workers were constantly cleaning it.

You will find newer and flashier places in the Caribbean but Sonesta Great Bay is one of the friendliest and most beautiful. We have no problems giving it our highest recommendation.

The same cannot be said of Sunwing. It's departure flight left Sint Maarten five hours late, forcing us to change our flights home from Toronto. This resulted in several hundreds of dollars in extra expenses due to change fees, which Sunwing refused to pay. If you fly Sunwing, take out insurance because Sunwing won't stand behind its inconsistent service.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Grant A


Thank you for taking the time out to write such fantastic review. We are happy you enjoyed this great location and facility.


Team Sonesta Great Bay is thankful that you and your family chose our absolutely amazing resort. It is always exciting news to hear that we are able to exceed our guests expectations. Thank you for informing us that Richard, Cleopatra, Taro, Denroy, Michael and Terry were extremely friendly and helpful. At Sonesta great Bay, we take pride in training and development; therefore we are very pleased to hear that our employees were able to go above and beyond to ensure total guest satisfaction.

We apologize on behalf of Sunwing for that experience based on your review and we will share your concerns with them.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again in Sonesta St Maarten for more fun in the Caribbean sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    1,637
    672
    306
    228
See reviews for
629
2,165
137
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here on July 14th to the 20th, 2014. The hotel and the grounds were very nice. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. The assortment of types of food were unlimited and everything was delicious. Top shelf liquors at all the bars if you wanted and asked for. We were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary and the staff couldn't do anymore for us! Very attentive to our needs. The view from the room was amazing! We met so many really nice people and had a really great time!! The walk to Phillipsburg and the shopping was great! Very safe. We rented a car and toured the island. First stop was the sister resort at Maho Bay. We had some lunch and drinks and walked to sunset beach to watch the planes land. While sitting on the beach and the planes were arriving we could smell the jet fumes. We wouldn't stay there because of that. The hotel grounds are beautiful though. Then on to the French side of the island for some sightseeing and snorkeling. Very easy to get around the island in a rental car. I highly recommend this hotel as a travel destination!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UPSKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Upskenny

Congratulations on your 33rd anniversary, we are happy you enjoyed celebrating with us.
Our team is grateful to hear that you loved our clean and beautiful facilities. We are extremely happy that you enjoy the premium brand liquors and high quality food choices we offer.


We do hope to see you again soon, at this beautiful location with the best views and friendliest employees in St Maarten.

Thank you
Team Sonesta Great Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagersville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just returned from two weeks and had another great holiday at Sonesta Great Bay. They just keep making us feel so at home and always some nice improvements. Big thanks go out to June,
Marciellia, Honey Bunny (Maritzia) and Ella the security guard. They always welcome us back with a great hug.
Couple of lingering upgrades still needed are better water pressure in the upper floors,and hotter warming trays in dinning room. Can't wait for our return trip this Dec.

Room Tip: Get ocean view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel July 23-29th, 2014 & though the hotel could use some sprucing up like pictures on the walls and handles on the outside veranda sliding doors, we had a wonderful time. Nigel (swim up bar) great bartender, always smiling & he remembers what you drink! Pauline a head waitress very sweet, gracious and wants to make sure you are happy/satisfied. Food was good - though the paella in the seafood restaurant should be avoided. Poolside activities depended on the Animator Host of the day--some did a lot--others not too much. Quiet in the evenings, 1 night was movie night poolside & most other nights there was some sort of band but everything closed down by 10-11pm. Casino no dealers everything is electronic. No nightclub. No watersports equipment. Ample amount of umbrellas and beach chairs poolside and on the beach---sand on beach is not soft but course. Hotel is not for small children - no children activities and did not see any inside game rooms for bad weather days. Hotel is a 10 minute walk into town--lots of jewelry stores but better prices at the hotels jewelry store. My husband & I enjoyed ourselves - loved the infinity pool, the view and the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronniew1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I had an amazing week at this hotel. The view was to die for, the hotel staff was top notch, the food was amazing and the general feel of the hotel was great. The area was safe for walking and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The people at this resort were wonderful. Richard was great.. always with a smile on his face and willing to help in any way. Kailya the resort activities coordinator... wonderful, energeric and sooo friendly. Smilely...the server at the grill,, his name is his personality... always smiling. The food was delicious, the grilled swordfish was outstanding, and the unlimited drinks were fabulous. This was a great mother-daughter get away... loved the beach, beautiful water,& of course the great weather. LOVE THIS PLACE... Would recommend the Blue Safaris snorkeling & island tour to Angulla, prickley pear and little bay... wonderful excursion... will love to go back and visit again,..

Room Tip: upgrade definitely to a ocean view.... totally worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bendzuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Bendzuck


Thank you for sharing your great experience with us.


It is such a great pleasure to hear that you and your daughter had a wonderful experience at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Casino & Spa. Thank you for highlighting the fact that we provide great food and service in this absolutely amazing and tranquil atmosphere. Please note that we are happy to hear of your kind mentions in regards to our professional and courteous employees. We already congratulated Richard, Smiley, and Kiaya on a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and don’t forget to invite a few more friends and family for your next trip! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We are planning on staying here next April..only chose July 2014 because had to....and wondering if can walk to the Sunset Bar and Grill to watch the planes land...or would we have to hire a taxi ?? would it be better to stay at their sister resort..Sonesta Maho ?

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Marti H,

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort is about a 20 minute drive to Sunset Bar and Grill depending on the traffic, of course, but it is within walking distance of our sister resort; Sonesta Maho Beach Resort. The great thing about our Resorts, is that you can stay at one and play at two. So if you do stay with us at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, you could always spend the days over at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort to experience the airplanes coming in at Sunset or if you would prefer to stay at that Resort, that's perfectly fine as well. If you have any other questions to help make your decision easier, please feel free to let us know.

We're looking forward to seeing you next year!

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,800 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing