We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed for two nights on my trip. The receptionist was excellent, friendly staff and breakfast was great.Free Wi-Fi and the rooms was very clean and fully air conditioned. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I Stayed there 3 nights. People at the reception are very friendly and helpfull. Free Wi-Fi in room and lobby. Italië works perfect. Great location, naar the beach and near the Frontstreet. Reception made the reservation airport transportation for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vapelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hotel is right along the boardwalk and the beach.
If you are not looking for a 5 + * hotel, this would be it. There are many choices for Restaurants within minutes of walking. My daughter and myself stayed here on a Scuba Diving Trip. Rooms are clean, air conditioned, the Breakfast is freshly cooked.
Again, don't look for a 5* place, this it is not, but they never pretend to be one either.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swisschef216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed at the seaview for three nights in a double room looking out at the bay,room was very nice ,very clean ,comfy clean bed and bathroom/shower large and clean.
good location in philipsburg as beach goes and shopping but at night the town is dead.
one minor problem ,I was on the second level where there was a table and chairs in the walkway
outside the rooms and people would sit there late at night and early in the morning talking loudly ,other than that i would stay again on my next trip to philipsburg.

Room Tip: room 60 was nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevshar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I could fairly give this a 1 star or a 5 star review, but 4 seems appropriate.
You enter through a simple narrow door from the street. The entire hotel is above a casino. The best way to get to the boardwalk/beach is to walk down the street from the front, then cut down an alley. They have a deal with the guy who rents beach chairs, so you don't have to pay the normal $8 or so they usually charge.
I didn't experience any problems with water pressure. However, my toilet did overflow. They had it fixed within an hour. Wifi is spotty in the rooms, but great in the lobby.
The room was simple, but nice, which is the way I like it. For reasons I can't explain, I got the best room in the house (at $90/night). Room 50: on a corner, with one window facing the beach and the other up the boardwalk. I left the windows open all night and listened to the surf (Philipsburg is pretty quiet once the cruise ships depart).
Holland House is a big step up, with a nice lobby, etc. - but it's 2.5 times as expensive.
I'm not sure which of the two I'll stay at next time, but this place was a great bargain.

Room Tip: Room 50 - corner facing the beach and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed here two nights--one before our cruise and another a week later. It is conveniently located with easy access to the beach, boardwalkand town. During the day it is noisy outside with people enjoying the beach and Caribbean music screaming from loudspeakers. By 6 pm the people are off the beach and by 9 pm the music is off. The $5 breakfast served in the morning is a good value. The bad is that the showers, particulary on the first stay, dribbled out warm water. There is no hair dryer (need to ask at the front desk), no shampoo, and no safe. We didn't use the TV or refrigerator. We paid $159 for each night for beach front but only got that one night. The second night we took an ocean view room so we could get into a room at their advertised check-in time. The beds aren't bad. Their are only 2 pillows. One room had bedside lights for reading and one room had only an overhead light. The ocean view rooms are down halls that can be noisy as other guests come and go from their rooms. On the other hand, our beach front room had someone sitting and talking at the table outside of our room early in the morning. The gate to the beach is locked about 6 pm. After that you need to walk down a dark side street to get to the front of the hotel. The hotel was clean. The front desk crew tried to be helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SeaStar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The building needs to be torn down and rebuilt. The bed was uncomfortable, the sink just dribbled lukewarm to cold water even though the faucet was open 100%. Same for the showwer. Our fridge didn't work and the staff did nothing when it was reported. We faced a wall with 20 AC units and was as loud as being on a tarmac. No safe, no shampoo, no ice. No threshold on the door became a concern when I saw what looked like rats running outside of the fence at the hotel. WiFi available in certain areas only. This hotel is appropriate for the Casino patrons who want to sleep it off - NOT for vacationers. Even though there was direct access to the beach and boardwalk, it is not worth staying there. There are others that provide the same access.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gelicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Philipsburg
821 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor.Our Breakfast Dining Room opens daily from 7:30am-11:00am. Sea View Beach Hotel has been recently converted to non-smoking with designated smoking areas within the property.High Speed Internet is Available at an Additional Cost.Sorry no pets allowed, check out time is 12:00 noon and check in time is 1:00pm.Must be 18 years or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing