We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guana Bay Beach Villas
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Great honeymoon spot beside the ocean away from all the other tourist spots. Nice beach although not always great for swimming but nice pool as well. Beautiful 2 bedroom, 2 storey villa. Very quiet and relaxing and as the island is so small, we rented a car and got to see the whole country in an hour. Our toughest decision each day was which beach to head to but it was always nice to come back to the villa. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on the island. Very friendly staff (the Friendly Island after all), when we mentioned our toaster was broken, there was a replacement when we got back from the beach that very day. Overall a great place to stay and will visit again with friends.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MapleLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Great place, great location. Peace and quite. No one bothers you at all. We stayed 7 nights and I believe that the maid came every other day to change sheets and towels, take trash out, etc. Our paths only crossed a couple of times. She was in and out.

You need a car when you stay here. Villa is a bit off the main road and about 30 min drive from the airport ..... if you don't make any wrong turns. Try and arrive during daylight hours! When you are first trying to find this place you will likely make some wrong turns. By the time you leave, you will know the area around Guana Bay like the back of your hand. So rent a car. We used Alamo for 212 USD. It would have been 106 USD, but we opted for insurance. From the airport, your rental car agency will shuttle you to the main office where you will pick-up your car.

We were in the villa right above the manager's office / residence, unit 8B. Although there is parking available, it was not convenient, as we had to haul groceries, bech supplies, etc. Plus my wife and I had our 3 1/2 yr old son and my Mom who is 66 yrs. So we just pulled up right at the foot of the steps leading to our villa. The 2 dogs that belong to the manager (Max) were normally there to greet us. The little one is Ginger and the bigger one is Bobbie. Bobbie looks to be getting old and probably won't be around too much longer. Bobbie liked to lay down at the foot of our door and was often there when we arrived home or went to leave in the morning. Both are good dogs and did not bother us. If you are not a lover of dogs, you probably want a different villa.

Guana Bay Beach is nice. A bit rough, but very nice and secluded. The dogs like to go to the beach too. We hung out at Guana Bay Beach on the first and last day of our stay. Bring a beach bag, cooler with drinks and snacks and you will be set. It's just a short walk to and from the villa.

The pool area was ok too. Not great by any means, just ok. Everything was clean, but it was just old. Looked like it needed a new make over. New plaster, tile, etc. But who is there to use the pool anyway? We prefered the beaches.

The villa was very nice and clean. Had a sliding door leading to our balcony with table, 4 chairs and 2 loungers. Nice view of ocean, Guana Bay Beach, St Barth's island, etc.

The Kitchen was well equipped. Microvave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, but NO dishwasher, or oven. We cooked there quite often. Best place I found to buy groceries was Sangs. Take a left when you get to the main road which leads into town, towards the Shell gas station. Pass the Shell, head thru the round-about and keep going. Soon you will see Sangs on your left. It is a "real" store with everything you will need and great prices. Not one of the many hole in the wall supermarkets you will see. Steaks, shrimp, fish .... all adequately priced. Credit cards are taken there. The only place we encountered that would not take credit cards was the Shell gas station I mentioned earlier. Not a big deal. Beer is cheap too. They had Coors Light. We found Marlboro Lights 12 USD per carton, not at Sangs, but some other little grocery store I cannot remember the name of.

The Villa had 2 bedrooms. One upstairs with 2 single beds and the master downstairs with one double bed, TV, clock radio, armoir, in-room safe and master bathroom. There is another bathroom downstairs at the foot of the stairs. Both of the bathrooms are equipped with a shower ..... no tub.

Livingroom has couch, a couple chairs, coffee table, tv, dvd player, radio. There is cable tv there too.

A/C works fine. One unit is in master bedroom, one in upstairs bedroom and one in main living area.

We rented thru our vacation club and paid our standard rate. However, you will be charged an addition 50 USD for electricity.

Overall, I would recommend this place and we will go back.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Pool, no hot tub
  • Tips/Secrets — Get in the car and drive. Start early. Don't miss Pinel Island!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bschlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2005

My husband and I and a co-worker of my husband's and his wife rented a villa here for a week. The restaurant they said was onsite was closed due to the manager being on vacation. The surf was rough and no one was around but the beach was very private and nice. It rained the first 3 days. You need a car to get into town because the villa is so far out in an isolated area. The view was beautiful and the villa was more than I expected however. The place was spotless and our deck has the most beautiful view. The pool was average but no one was around during the day so we had it to ourselves. On the 4th day, our rental car was stolen from the parking lot right in front of our villa. We called the police and they came 3 hours later. They consider it petty crime and weren't too concerned. We got a ride to the police station from the manager of the villa who was as nice as could be (Max) and the stolen car had already been found stripped back at budget rental car where we rented it. We're thinking it was a scam because the rental car place hit the credit card for $5,000 even though it was reported stolen. We got another car and when we returned it, the original car was already put back together very conveniently and ready to be rented again! In all, the place was beautiful but due to so many unfortunate circumstances, the vacation was a nightmare. Did I mention our luggage was lost in San Juan and we didn't get it until the 2nd day!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank NRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Two girlfriends and I decided to celebrate our 37th Nursing School Graduation ...so we rebonded in St. Maarten...The Villas were a perfect place to stay..breakfast overlooking Guana Bay and the sunrise...the weather perfect, the food sublime, even came back with some money in our pockets from the casinos and some bling-bling...Definitely the perfect setting for a reunion...

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Collinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
2.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Bay Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Bay Beach Villas

Property: Guana Bay Beach Villas
Address: Guy Estates, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Guana Bay Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Guana Bay Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Bay Beach Villas Hotel Philipsburg
Guana Bay Beach Villas St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing