We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Reviewed 11 April 2014

First and foremost, I have to say, this was part of a package brought to my attention, an offer I couldn't refuse. Additionally, without implying anything, this is not the type of location I'd normally use.
However, despite being in party central of the island, our car park facing studio was surprisingly quiet. Speaking of the studio (which it is, rather than just a room), it probably won't blow you away... unless you're homeless but then you're probably not travelling. It isn't modern, sleek or up-to-date. None of those qualities describe it accurately. What it is, though, clean. Clean, functional, very generous in size although a bit dark as it (unit 7235) looks straight at a wall across the car park.
Is there anything negative about the place? Apart from the door lock working as efficiently as an Orang Utan at a secretary's desk, no. We'd gone through some ten key cards after a week, they just ceased operation. Apart from that, there is a LOT of free parking (I know that because I looked at it for a week), it's quiet, has very friendly staff and a nice beach right out front.
If you're a budget-conscious traveller, this might just be the place for you. If you value simple functionality over appearances and sleek finishes, this will be great.
I have no problem recommending Flamingo Beach Resort, it's a good place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thmsrbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

visited Sint Maarteen 3/31-4/4 this hotel was great. Yes it is a time share but the rooms we clean and staff very friendly. pool was great and the beaches were clean and private. Happy hour is 1-6. The resort is 5 minute walk from town. My wife and i went there on a short honeymoon and we were so pleased. We wanted to relax and have fun, and we got everything we wanted and more. this place was paradise. We plan returning here next year and many more times

Room Tip: ask for beach view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I travel to the Caribbean 3-4 times a years. Our ocean front view was beautiful. Great view of the beach, ocean, coconut trees, and banana trees.The room was well equipped with dishes, pots, pans, and blender. The beach is small but very nice with beautiful sand. There is a gift shop on the property and Marcie beach wear shop. The hotel is close to major restaurants in Simpson Bay. The hotel is very close to the airport which is an advantage on arrival day and departure day.
Disadvantages for this hotel is the fact that there is only one restaurant on the property and they continuously play American music from 1950, 1960's, maybe 1980;s. If you are waiting to hear local music with steel drums or reggae this is not going to happen. Despite the fact that the beach is nice, you have to be on the beach by 7 am if you want any hope to get a cabana. This was the first time that I had the beach staff requested that I get up from my beach recliner chair because the beach was closing and he had to stack up the beach recliner chairs! He did offered me a regular chair to sit in to watch the sunset; however, by that time my mood was not the same. We stayed from Monday to Friday. The room was supplied with plenty of towels and wash clothes; however, housekeeping came on Thursday to clean when our check out day was Friday.

Room Tip: Make sure you are aware of the various room types that are available to ensure what type of room you...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The rooms (I stayed in 2) were well equipped (the kitchen even has a blender designed to crush ice!) and the bed was comfortable. The layout was such that the sofa bed area could be made into its own room using a sliding wall. The furnishings themselves were not fancy. The air conditioning functioned fine and was not loud. Both of my rooms had a great view of the ocean and the beach.

Parking was not an issue and, contrary to a previous review, the main entrance does not close at 6 PM - just the service entrance. You do need your parking pass or you will not be let in.

Maid service is only once a week with a "refresh" after the third day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The TV channel that featured the CEO of the resort chain constantly talking was, well, creepy. It was easy to ignore, though.

Room Tip: The ocean view was worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Flamingo Beach Resort. Thank you for providing additional information about our parking area. You are correct, as our guests’ safety and well being is one of our top priorities; we do require guests to provide their parking pass before being allowed to enter the parking lot. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership Resort, we provide Housekeeping Services on a weekly basis. We were very glad to hear that our accommodations and customer service exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Entering the room was not easy because the front door was sticking. I went to see the view and the sliding glass was very hard to open. I noticed the floors were sticky, they were filthy. I turned on the lights and they were flickering. The outside Patio light did not work. The television did not work. The room smelled funny.There was no clock radio and the air conditioner did not work. A rusty screw holds the toilet seat together.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank truthtellerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for providing a detailed review of your most recent stay here at Flamingo Beach Resort. As we strive to provide exceptional hospitality, quality services, and offer comfortable, relaxing accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us; it is truly concerning to read that our accommodations and amenities did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry that our maintenance and housekeeping staffs did not properly prepare your room and its associated amenities before your arrival. This will be addressed internally with both staffs so that this kind of situation is not repeated. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression to you and your family. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived an hour early but the check in was a breeze. I had e-mailed the day before and got a roll away confirmed within minutes. In addition upon arrival we were able to get an oceanfront room. For no reserved beach spots I see people out there at before 6 am :-) The room has great kitchen stuff and overall we are completely satisfied.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank KrisVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just came back from a week in SXM and stayed at FBR (room 7344). Perfect views, clean, well appointed rooms with kitchen, sitting area, terrace, and large bathroom. Parking in the covered first floor was very convenient. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the beach attendants (fro chairs and umbrellas) did a great job (thanks Raymond !). We would recommend to others, and would return in the future.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was great .. with an Ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Simpson Bay
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: £82 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing