We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will be a very nice Timeshare / Hotel once construction is complete!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This will be a very nice Timeshare / Hotel once construction is complete!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

**This Timeshare is under renovations right now so you can get a great deal but be prepared for construction. We stayed for 7 nights and had construction for 5 days. Some construction was light drilling but some was heavy jack hammering.

Now for the resort itself. The ocean front studios are very roomy. We had a kind size bed, desk, chair, couch and full size dining room table with plenty of room to move around comfortably. Units have full kitchens and cooking supplies for your use. These studios are much larger then US studios and have dividers to separate the bedroom from the living room areas. We had a first floor room so we literally were able to walk out our sliding door to the sand on the private beach. Our patios had full size tables with 4 chairs and a chase lounger. This location has a huge pool with chairs, towels and even a bar. The pool over looks the a second private beach with tiki huts to watch the sunset. There is a on site restaurant called Toppers that had good food but small portions. This resort will get better ratings once construction is complete!

Room Tip: There are three choices for rooms. One Ocean view, Two Pool/Garden view and Three Parking lot view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alamandaleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    536
    163
    73
    54
See reviews for
298
633
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Currently staying at this resort, we are half way through our vacation. The room is great for 2-4 people (2 adults, 2 kids), however this time around it is only the 2 of us with no kids. Room has full kitchen stove, frig, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, everything you need to prepare meals. The room has sliding separation doors between the sitting room and ktichen/bedroom. We enjoyed the room as it was spacious, but it is dated.

Now for the BAD NEWS, we've had TERRIBLE SERIVCE because of the following issues:

1. A letter informed us that they were changing the locks on our 4th level room on Tuesday, and required us to get a new key. However no one showed up on Tuesday, so we presumed that our lock did not require changing. When we came back on Wed the lock was changed, and we had to walk all the way back to the front desk to get new keys...not one apology for this inconvenience. The front desk staff even said "surprise when you got home!??" to imply it was funny...I then proceeded to comment that the letter stated that it was suppose to be done Tues and not Wed...I even have the letter to prove it,. Again no apology, thus NO ACCOUNTABILITY!

2. When we got to our room the first day, there was a card in our room indicating that we are to have 4 pool towels in the room and upon check out we are to have the 4 or we would get charged. Guess what...we had 3 towels, so I called down to get another pool towel delivered. It took them 24 hrs to deliver a towel, and we had to call down twice to get it. No apology, NO ACCOUNTABILITY!

3. We are staying one week here, checked in Sunday and out next Sunday. They indicated that our room would get cleaned on Wed. Typical of a timeshare place, we are use to that. Well guess what, no one cleaned our room on Wed. I called down and asked when they were suppose to clean it and they confirmed it was suppose to be today, which is Wed. Well it's 8:30 pm and no one has showned up. When I called down they didn't seem to care too much about this. Again no apology, NO ACCOUNTABILITY, AND NO SOLUTION. I'm going to see if they actually clean the room tomorrow. I'm not hopeful.

BOTTOM LINE:
I would NOT recommend staying here. I feel that this organization does not care about its customers. Do I blame the staff? Not sure, if all staff were trained well, this shouldn't happen, so is it the management? It usually goes top down. Go stay at the Simpson Bay Resort which is right next door. We stayed there last year and had excellent service and the renovated room was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5-Ohana-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thanks for bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for the highly unusual quality of service you’ve received from our teams thus far during your visit. Our teams intend to always be helpful, friendly, professional, and accommodating during every guest-team member interaction. We sincerely regret this level of service has not been represented by all our teams. We would like to have an opportunity to investigate these service shortfalls further so we can show you the level of hospitality we are known for and allow us the opportunity to turn this negative experience into a positive memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon (just returned yesterday, and still wish we were there) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. If possible, definitely try to request a beach-side room, as the views are awesome! Staff were friendly from the moment we arrived until check-out. This property is in a great location, somewhat removed off of the main road, but there are many restaurants within walking distance that serve a variety of different cuisines. The beach-side bar/restaurant (Toppers) is a must visit if you enjoy a cold beverage with an ocean view. We couldn't have asked for a better experience on our honeymoon! We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Beach-side on second floor or above to make sure that you get a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here two years ago...still hold this hotel and island on a pedestal! Great beach front location with beach bar. Great location; walk to many restaurants and market. The kitchenette saved us a ton! Ate our for dinner and made our own breakfast and lunch. People were great! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Beautiful beaches, a wonderful room in paradise with everything you could need, and the staff made just as much of an impact. From checking in to checking out and everything in between was a real pleasure. Every morning leaving our room some employee either up or down the hall had a sincere friendly greeting. After a early morning swim in the ocean we would lay by the pool and be amazed by the daily attention to detail of the grounds and pool staff. Afterwards off to Toppers (the beach bar and restaurant) for a great light breakfast, and there too the staff had a genuine interest in how the morning was going. I don't think I would consider staying anywhere else on
St Maarten.

Room Tip: pool view studio seemed to be the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dg2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First time staying in this place through RCI and it was great!! We had a lovely one bedroom unit overlooking Simpson Bay, thanks to Delano at the front desk finding me this room. The unit is clean and well stocked if you want to cook. The property itself is well maintained. Parking spaces though are a bit tight. Great location in Simpson Bay. You can walk to everything although the road is a bit hilly. All in all this is one place that i would definitely stay again if i go back to St. Martin.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are all facing the Simpson Bay. Also try to get one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retort69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We emailed to ask the difference between just a regular studio (faces the parking lot) and the Studio SYX (faces the pool!). They are both the same price and since the pool is right next to the beach, it means we had a view of the garden, the pool and the beach. Best of all, that meant we were in a building right next to the water, instead of up the hill, looking at pavement. The deal we found online was fantastic for such a great room. It was very clean and had a full kitchen complete with dishes and pots and pans, etc. Be forewarned that you will either need a car or be willing to walk a lot. We were willing to walk up and down the hill to get to the hotel, but if you have any mobility issues, consider renting a car or just staying at the hotel (I don't recommend the latter - too much good stuff to go do!). We were not fond of the restaurant on the premises, but there is another bakery/restaurant right behind it and a little convenience store with a deli counter.

Room Tip: SYX Studio means close to the pool and beach - best value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing