We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been to the island three times and tend to spend most of our time on the French side. Our flight was not scheduled to land SXM until approx. 10 pm so we decided to book the first two nights on the Dutch side. This resort was a wonderful surprise and we will likely stay there again for a few nights on our next trip.

An amazing staff-one of the managers actually drove us and another guest to the Royal Palm b/c he was concerned that the shuttle was taking too long to return (we had only waited 5 minutes!).

The room was great- newly updated on the first floor with a very nice terrace overlooking the pool. Several bars, restaurants, small grocery within walking distance. We only had drinks at the restaurant on the property but it was nice.

An excellent resort experience!

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kblazydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first trip to St. Maarten. The resort offered a great location on the beach. We had a 2nd floor corner room (7201) with a wrap around lanai. The room offered a great view of the beach, ocean & pool area. Our initial check-in was a little slow, but otherwise, the resort attended to all of our needs. The entire staff was friendly. I had emailed the resort several times prior to our arrival and the manager was very responsive to my emails and requests. I booked 4 rooms for other family members, and they all raved about the staff and accommodations. The studio rooms were much larger than we had anticipated. I was surprised to see the full kitchen and refrigerators. I have stayed at many hotels and timeshare properties, and this was by far the largest studio suite I have seen. Although the Flamingo Resort didn't have a fitness center, I was able to use the fitness room at the sister resort, Royal Palm Beach. The location is less than a mile away and the gym offers a nice mix of cardio, weights and an open area for flexibility type exercises.

Room Tip: Room 7101 & 7201 (corner suites) offer great beach and ocean views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

In spite that is well located sincerely do not understand why should wait until 4 pm to check in considering also check outt at 10 am.Rooms are cleaneed every third day.The rooms are well equiped and clean.Sincerely the resort does not offer nice beach and activities no good nevertheless main problem is that in spite of booking with a price offer at the end they charge 30% more for taxes and resort fees .I consider that prices should de define

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barroyo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Some friends and mine came across this wonderful hotel on Simpson Bay when searching for moderately priced accommodations in the often overpriced market of St. Maarten.

This place was amazing! Especially for the price! First off, the rooms are actually all full-suites! Meaning fully stocked kitchens with everything you could need from the Cuisinart appliances to dinnerware, pots, and even a dishwasher!

We had a King Suite for 3-people, which worked out beautifully! Two people took the King Bed and the other took the sofabed, which was surprisingly comfortable! I also loved it because the room was kind of split in two, so the king bed portion had the bathroom/kitchen/desk/tv and the sofabed/living room section had the in-room dining set, but also a separate tv and you could pull out these room dividers that literally made it like two separate rooms for added privacy!

For me, though, the highlight was the patio! It had a chaise lounger and a dinette and overlooked the gorgeous grounds, perfectly manicured pool, and Simpson Bay! Seriously, it was like something out of a postcard!

The location was also great! Within walking distance to Peli Deli, a little supermarket which was great to for cooking meals (especially breakfast) ensuite! We also walked to the main road and hit up many of the different bars and restaurants along the way!

I have to give a shout out to the staff here as well! They were just fantastic! From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out! Lily and Harold were especially gracious! And Lily was even kind enough to show us how to access their internet while in airplane mode so we didn't use out cellular data while out of country! What a lifesaver!

There is a separate $10 resort fee per day, but it is well worth it! The amenities are impressive as they have free wifi and beach towels and activities (water aerobics and bingo were fun!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

**This Timeshare is under renovations right now so you can get a great deal but be prepared for construction. We stayed for 7 nights and had construction for 5 days. Some construction was light drilling but some was heavy jack hammering.

Now for the resort itself. The ocean front studios are very roomy. We had a kind size bed, desk, chair, couch and full size dining room table with plenty of room to move around comfortably. Units have full kitchens and cooking supplies for your use. These studios are much larger then US studios and have dividers to separate the bedroom from the living room areas. We had a first floor room so we literally were able to walk out our sliding door to the sand on the private beach. Our patios had full size tables with 4 chairs and a chase lounger. This location has a huge pool with chairs, towels and even a bar. The pool over looks the a second private beach with tiki huts to watch the sunset. There is a on site restaurant called Toppers that had good food but small portions. This resort will get better ratings once construction is complete!

Room Tip: There are three choices for rooms. One Ocean view, Two Pool/Garden view and Three Parking lot view...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alamandaleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Currently staying at this resort, we are half way through our vacation. The room is great for 2-4 people (2 adults, 2 kids), however this time around it is only the 2 of us with no kids. Room has full kitchen stove, frig, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, everything you need to prepare meals. The room has sliding separation doors between the sitting room and ktichen/bedroom. We enjoyed the room as it was spacious, but it is dated.

Now for the BAD NEWS, we've had TERRIBLE SERIVCE because of the following issues:

1. A letter informed us that they were changing the locks on our 4th level room on Tuesday, and required us to get a new key. However no one showed up on Tuesday, so we presumed that our lock did not require changing. When we came back on Wed the lock was changed, and we had to walk all the way back to the front desk to get new keys...not one apology for this inconvenience. The front desk staff even said "surprise when you got home!??" to imply it was funny...I then proceeded to comment that the letter stated that it was suppose to be done Tues and not Wed...I even have the letter to prove it,. Again no apology, thus NO ACCOUNTABILITY!

2. When we got to our room the first day, there was a card in our room indicating that we are to have 4 pool towels in the room and upon check out we are to have the 4 or we would get charged. Guess what...we had 3 towels, so I called down to get another pool towel delivered. It took them 24 hrs to deliver a towel, and we had to call down twice to get it. No apology, NO ACCOUNTABILITY!

3. We are staying one week here, checked in Sunday and out next Sunday. They indicated that our room would get cleaned on Wed. Typical of a timeshare place, we are use to that. Well guess what, no one cleaned our room on Wed. I called down and asked when they were suppose to clean it and they confirmed it was suppose to be today, which is Wed. Well it's 8:30 pm and no one has showned up. When I called down they didn't seem to care too much about this. Again no apology, NO ACCOUNTABILITY, AND NO SOLUTION. I'm going to see if they actually clean the room tomorrow. I'm not hopeful.

BOTTOM LINE:
I would NOT recommend staying here. I feel that this organization does not care about its customers. Do I blame the staff? Not sure, if all staff were trained well, this shouldn't happen, so is it the management? It usually goes top down. Go stay at the Simpson Bay Resort which is right next door. We stayed there last year and had excellent service and the renovated room was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5-Ohana-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thanks for bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for the highly unusual quality of service you’ve received from our teams thus far during your visit. Our teams intend to always be helpful, friendly, professional, and accommodating during every guest-team member interaction. We sincerely regret this level of service has not been represented by all our teams. We would like to have an opportunity to investigate these service shortfalls further so we can show you the level of hospitality we are known for and allow us the opportunity to turn this negative experience into a positive memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon (just returned yesterday, and still wish we were there) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. If possible, definitely try to request a beach-side room, as the views are awesome! Staff were friendly from the moment we arrived until check-out. This property is in a great location, somewhat removed off of the main road, but there are many restaurants within walking distance that serve a variety of different cuisines. The beach-side bar/restaurant (Toppers) is a must visit if you enjoy a cold beverage with an ocean view. We couldn't have asked for a better experience on our honeymoon! We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Beach-side on second floor or above to make sure that you get a good view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Simpson Bay
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: £81 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing