We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Joshua Rose Guest House
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A 2 minute walk from the beach and boardwalk, Joshua Rose Guesthouse is perfectly placed at the entrance to Back Street, an easy place to catch a bus or a taxi. Unlike most luxury resorts, this guesthouse is family run and has the charm of a Florida beach hotel from the 1980's in the heart of the Carribean. There is nothing to complain about, the price is decent, rooms are air conditionned with free Wifi and the location is perfect. One of the great secret places in SXM.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Joshua Rose Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent a night at Joshua Rose Guest House and were not too excited. The bed linen and towels were clean but there was no toilet paper and the room was a bit dirty. The fridge was filthy and probably hasn't been working for some time. The room was a bit noisy because of other guests passing by. The corners around the guesthouse were a bit dodgy at night but probably aren't really that dangerous. Overall, Joshua Rose is a bit overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JP7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

So, This is NOT a 5 star hotel, however I found that it met all of my needs adequately..... but then again I only need a hotel room to sleep in and don't spend tons of time in the room. That being said there are some downsides.... there are only 8 or nine channels on the TV. The staff will be happy to clean the room, but generally only if you request it. The hotel DOES NOT take credit cards (regardless of what you read online or what travelocity says).... so be sure to bring cash or be prepared to go to an ATM.

There are quite a few positives too! The hotel is quite friendly and secure. They have a gate they close and lock at night (every guest has a key). The ground level is a convenience store which stocks pretty much anything you might need at reasonable prices (again cash only). They are incredibly well located.... being right on the end of Back Street was great.... right in the middle of all the action. Within waling distance in all direction is great restaurants, fine shopping, and much more. The internet here is pretty good, though it does go out from time to time for a few moments.

Over all I would highly recommend this for the seasoned traveler. However, if you are one of those people than needs everything to be perfect and expects to be pampered.... well then, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is bare bones... less than 8 channels on the cable, a little noisy,could use a coat of paint, and new sheets. I give a very good rating for overall. The staff was welcoming and helpful to us. The proximity to the front street shops,beach,restaurants and bars is less than 5 minutes walk. We did our diving at Caribbean dive college and its less than ten minutes away. The bus is $2 stops directly in front or anywhere you flag them down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

If you book a room on expedia or Travelocity you get a charge on your credit card even "payment is due at check-in". (Fyi they only accept cash there) Neither travelocity nor hotel could track the charge. (it was about $55 in my case) We still don't understand why the rate was a lot more than it says on Travelocity.

However this place is in very convenient location (you can take a bus for $2 from/to the airport, marigot, maho etc) and the room was ok for the price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The rooms are quite large, have decent beds and a decent airconditioning. There was no daily cleaning or breakfast, but you can call if cleaning is needed and you can have breakfast at the boardwalk. There is free wifi.
The location of this guesthouse is perfect, on Backstreet, just behind Frontstreet and the Boardwalk. The area wakes up early and you are in the middle of a busy street, so it can be a bit noisy. When the shops close it get's quite quiet. You can't park your car at the property, but there is free parking at the pond, maybe a 5 minute walk. There is no receptiondesk, you have to go into the supermarket with the same name. You can only use cash for payment.
There was actually no contact with staff, so I can't tell if they are helpful or not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place was loud and noisy, and the staff was absolutely unhelpful. I had a corner room right by the ice machine and was treated to noisy children stampeding back and forth across the balcony from 5 pm onward. I disliked checking in at the supermarket and being hit on by the grocery stockers. I also disliked being brushed off by the cashiers, made to wait for my check-in until the last minute, and having my reservation lost. The place was dirty and I stayed simply to make life easier for myself as I planned to vegetate on the beach most of the time, anyway. I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrookeAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.3 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
228 reviews
2.7 mi away
Carl's Unique Inn
Carl's Unique Inn
#2 of 2 in Cole Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Rose Guest House

Address: Back Street 7, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Joshua Rose Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Joshua Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joshua Rose Guest House Hotel Philipsburg
Joshua Rose Guest House St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing