We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two week stay- great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Two week stay- great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed hete for two weeks and overall had a great experience! The first week we stayed in a stuido facing the street, but it also had side views of the ocean. The room was basic, but very clean and met our needs. The oven was a big downfall- all of the grates were tilted, it was difficult to cook on, but we made due. Thanks for supplying coffee filters!!

The second week, we stayed in a 1 bedroom ocean front unit with 2 bathrooms. Wow, what an amazing view. Again a clean, basic room. The fridge was located at an odd spot, and opening it was difficult because you had to move out of the way while trying to open the door- i think larger people would have a hard time with this. The oven was better in this unit.

Also the wifi for both rooms was VERY slow, is probably my biggest complaint about the property. That and no parking. We didnt rent a car and made due with the bus service- the bus stop was a short walk from sea palace which is very nice.

The staff was wonderful, especially Eddie. He is the happiest guy I have ever met. He was always willing to lend a hand, or offer a suggestion. He is a huge addition to Sea Palace and is a great guy.

Yes- they are doing upgrades, but the noise didn't bother us at all. I wish more things in Phillipsburg stayed open past 6pm. The town really empties out after the ships leave. We were warned not to walk in allies at night and to be careful- the neighborhood isnt horrible, but you just have to use common sense- its way better than Jamaica, where you are not supposed to leave the resort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alicia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    72
    44
    22
    22
See reviews for
54
84
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Suites with terraces overlooking the Great Bay can't be beat. Our unit consisted of one bedroom, two baths, a living room, dining area and kitchen with two terraces, one facing south and one west. They are in the process of gutting every suite down to bare walls. A brand new kitchen, baths, windows, doors, tile flors, appliances, washer/dryer were here for us to enjoy. The Sea Palace is just a short walk to the best shoppong in the Caribbean and dozens of restaurants from fine dining to local fare. We spent our days immediately outside our door on white sand beaches with lounge chairs and umbrellas. An incredible day was spent on the "Quality Time" catamarran circling the entire island with four stops to snorkel, swim and dine. Rum punch flowed and champagne topped off the day spent with the most fantastically friendly crew of four.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank decdentom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
WOW! Your week sounds absolutely amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experiences here on the island! We hope that you will be back for more rum punch in the Caribbean breeze!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I exchanged into this property. We had a huge 1bedroom unit. 2 baths. Full kitchen. It featured a magnificent balcony that overlooked the beach and bay. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way to be of assistance. The tile in the baths was dated and needed to be replaced. But for the cost, a great choice!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mwpyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are also happy to let you know that we are in the process of totally renovating every unit from top to bottom so the bathrooms and kitchens are going to be brand new with beautiful tile and granite! Please come back and see us after the renovations to enjoy the change :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is a cozy vacation spot for the summer. The beach is amazing , warm water and amazing weather. We had peter come and offer some great meals and chocolate drinks . This stay in our 6 people penthouse is must visit. Very spacious, hospitality is worth the visit. Beautiful, spacious two bathrooms, sleeps six to be accurate. Excellent balcony to over see the beach area. A Beautiful way to wake up in the morning. Go for a jog on the boardwalk. Ask "Eddie" for any good eats, drinks and activities to do. A must try is the resorts restraunt "pink pearl" Howard (manager) is awesome, friendly and personable. The Cantonese style dishes try: lemon chicken, sweet & sour chicken made w/fresh veggies! And the all time delicious shrimp fry rice(no soy sauce need). I definitely recommend this resort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Debkal4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback and tips for travelers! We appreciate the time you took to share all this great information! We love our beach too and are thrilled that you had an enjoyable time! We hope to have you back at the Sea Palace again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our party of 7 stayed in the "Penthouse" - 6th floor - the view was amazing, the location perfect -- we had our quiet end of the beach as we watched the cruise ships come in almost every day. We could walk to the shops, the restaurants, the church. The water was perfect. My elderly parents were on the trip with us, and they had an excellent vacation. My entire family wants to take our hats off to "Eddie," the night desk employee. He was so very kind and thoughtful, always friendly and ready to lend a hand with my dad, and maneuvering his wheelchair. I hope the Sea Palace management will promote Eddie to the day shift. I know he plays the keyboard...so all he needs is a keyboard there next to the welcome desk, to entertain everyone whenever the desk work is slow! That would be a great addition to the lobby ambiance! I highly recommend the Sea Palace!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Nancy, thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that your whole family had a great vacation! We will definitely share with everyone, including Eddie, your glowing comments about him and see what we can do! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the Sea Palace from 5/17-5/24 2014. Designated parking would have been a great benefit since renting a car is the BEST way to get around the island. Just rent the car when you get to the airport. Go with who you know or like Avis,Budget or Hertz, we used Budget and it was a 90's toyota. the Staff is attentive, friendly, and efficeint. The Sea Palace is obiviously retro,It is also clean. Our room had an ocean view that was amazing, we were on the fifth floor. Joe knows what he is doing and really tries to make sure everything runs smoothly. They had brand new washers and dryers delivered the day we left, so strides are being made to update. I think it is best to rent a car, stay at the sea palace on front street, and visit the french side as often as you like since SXM is only 37 miles, that should be everyday, have a great time 721

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us! You are correct that we are updating - absolutely everything is getting completely remodeled! Joe has been with us a long time and is very knowledgeable and a huge asset so thank you for the compliment! We hope to have you back with us at the Sea Palace in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here for a week and really enjoyed the location. It was near the end of Front Street, so it was quiet. Right on the beach, and the views out the balcony at night were stunning. Great Staff, very polite and accommodating. Room was nice and clean and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff! Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.4 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#10 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Property: Sea Palace Hotel
Address: Front St 147, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Philipsburg
Hotel Sea Palace
Sea Palace Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing