We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarind Hotel”
Review of Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Tamarind Hotel during my Easter vacation from school. It was an amazing trip and simply beautiful. The location of the Tamarind Hotel was excellent. It is a simple walk into the main town. The swimming pool was excellent and I loved spending my afternoons lounging by it. The weather was magnificent the whole time and we never had a bad day. Sleeping was not a problem. The beds were very comfortable and made it simple for an easy night sleep. The employees were very hospitable and made the trip very enjoyable. If we had questions about the area they were able to guide us in the correct direction. I hope my family and I can spend another break at the Tamarind Hotel.

Amy, Mount St. Mary's University

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

If you are lucky, you get a room/apt with pool view. If you have less luck, you end up besides a rooster raising place. It is not to blame to the owners of the place, wich are very nice and helpfull. It is to blame to the inconsequent SXM government which do not allow roosterfights but allow to raise them on a small spot making it hardly to sleep in the second bedroom after 3o clock nighttime when more than 15 roosters start their morning concert.

The apt itself are clean but somehow rundown. A good thing is, that apt. are with their own parking lot. But be aware that the only road to the hotel can be blocked for hours. So if you are planing to use the rental car, you should ask if roads are open on arival and departure date. Otherwise you end up with a packed car, wich you can't leave alone for a second.

If it happend, that your car gets cleared, to not think, that police is doing any effort, even if stolen mobile phones are easily traceable.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeguard1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul I, Manager at Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

In 2011 the current management company took over what was then a fading tamarind, now in 2015 the hotel as well as the area has so much more to offer, many rooms have been renovated and within 2 minutes walking distance there are now 3 supermarkets, within 10 minutes walk a Chinese restaurant and a very decent sea food orientated restaurant called Chesterfields. We consider the Tamarind to be in the higher end of the budget accommodation market. We are not pretending to be something we are not, what we offer is good decent, safe accommodation with free parking, free wifi, and 24hr desk and security. many of the apartments beside the chicken location have been fitted with hurricane proof windows which block out a lot of outside noise in 2015 we hope to complete all apartments with noise issues, so that this will no longer be an issue, we are always looking for new ways to improve our services and value customer feedback, both positive and negative.

Sincerely

Tamarind Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed in the Tamarind Hotel for 6 weeks. Its a nice and cozy hotel, great for relaxing and enjoying the sun by the pool. The service was great and the rooms are cleaned properly. The ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful as well as the rest of the staff. An excellent hotel if you want to have a great vacation!

Keith

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Tamarind is under new management which has resulted in many improvements- the grounds are improved with lots of new plants, trees and flowers, there is a handyman who lives on-site and responds to requests for any problems immediately- he works full-time, the apartments have been up-dated with new furniture where needed. The apartments are clean and well equiped, the staff friendly, the pool lovely. The prices are very reasonable. You are not on the beach so you really need to rent a car to get around the island.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for an apt. away from the rosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moxiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our favore island St. Maarten. We go there at least once a year. recently our friends recommended Tamarind hotel for its great value. we stayed there few months ago and we had a great time. for the money you spend you get great return. the units are clean, stuff is very friendly, nice clean pool, and beautiful flowers everywhere. you can't get better place for what you paying for. we be back for sure. i would recommend Tamarind to all my friends .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AsiaI60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I want to thank Paul Ingram and his wonderful staff for another great stay. We have been coming back to the the Tamarind for many many years and it's like visiting with family. A very comfortable and relaxing experience. Paul has recently taken over the management of the Tamarind and has been making significant improvements to the facilities. It's nice to see some TLC and updating being done to the grounds and units. We visit every February and it says something for the Tamarind that the friends we have made in past years are coming back again as well. I just got back yesterday and am missing my island family already... I am definitely looking forward to visiting again... B, London ON Canada

Room Tip: Basic, clean and friendly staff and management. The property behind the Tamarind raises fighting co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 8 days at the Tamarind Hotel and each day was nothing but fun from dawn to dusk. Every member of the staff we met where extremely pleasant and would gladly go out of their way to make our stay the best. Our room was very comfortable, immaculately clean and a pleasure to stay in. Paul, the managing director, has been lovingly upgrading the hotel and it is rapidly becoming something special. He is turning the grounds into botanical gardens with tropical plants to feast your eyes on. The Deli had excellent food to start off the day or enjoy for lunch. Each day we took the short walk into Phillipsburg to enjoy the boardwalk, beach and exceptional restaurants. We can't wait to return to St. Maarten and the Tamarind Hotel. We know it will once again be a very memorable vacation.
K and K, Old Lyme, CT

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.8 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
262 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hotel

Address: Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing