We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“One of the better business hotels of St. Maarten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This one of the few hotels in St. Maarten that is on the beach and not
a resort. It's located in Philipsburg with Front Street on one side and
the wonderful Great Bay beach on the other. I liked the lounge/breakfast
area a lot, but the service could be better. The rooms are big, make sure
to get one on the beach side. These are bit more expensive, but offer
beautiful views of the bay and the cruise ships. The street side can get
very busy with construction on the road during nights ! Wireless internet was
available and ok. The staff are friendly and try to be helpful, from my
experience that's already a lot for St. Maarten standards...

I

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view offer fantastic views and have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caturman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you are going to St. Maarten for shopping, then the perfect place to stay is at Holland House Beach Hotel.

The traffic to get to the heart of shopping on the Dutch Side which is basically on Front Street is horrendous. Holland House is at the heart of it all, so you can shop, drop your bags off and go again. When you get tired....just go to the Beach, as the hotel is located on a beach front as well. The restaurant offers a perfect dinner with a wonderful wines. The staff was responsive to our needs. There is a refurbished part of the hotel and the beds are luxurious.

You can watch the cruise ships come in from the beach view location. This is the side of the hotel to be on.

This side of the island however offers little or no night life, so if you are looking for that you will have to hop a taxi or stay on the Simpson Bay side.

I will certainly stay at Holland House again.

Room Tip: Choose a beach front room. The 2nd floor rooms appear to be all refurbished. Work is still going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugarplantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Rooms are average and need more maintenance/cleanliness, especially the bathroom.
Staff isn't friendly nor helpful and breakfast is very limited. For example, the orange juice isn't fresh and isn't good.

The hotel itself doesn't offer a lot besides the location. They offer beach chairs and beach towels. But the location is the most important part! Right on the beach and close to the main stores. Also close to the port.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-Searcher-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

After a nine our flight we arrived at the beach Hotel. Unfortunately our/ or just a room was not available. We had to stay in the lobby or go in to town. That was for me disappointing because of the long travel. The desk was friendly, but that was it. Same for the weather, we just arrived after Tropical Storm Emily, so the weather wasn't that good. But the stay in the hotel was nice, extremely good breakfast and service. Rooms are average, if you are a frequent hotel-er. The area was nice if you like to shop jewelery. After three days we left. Friendly staff, average/good room.Nice area, although the street side, the rooms was quiet enough!

Room Tip: We had the streetroom, ocean view is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice, first for a night before taking the ferry to Saba for a dive trip, and again for three nights on the way home before flying back to the States.

The front desk staff and the housekeeping staff are wonderful, and the rooms we had on both occasions were large and comfortable with excellent air conditioning. I have no issues with the lodging.

However, the hotel restaurant was very expensive and not all that good, the desserts were nice looking but extremely small, and the restaurant served and charged us full price for cheap cuts of meat that were "substituted" for those that we ordered from the menu.

However, we did not suffer in silence. When we talked to the hotel's financial manager, Marc van Iersel, about the discrepancies between what was ordered and what was served, he graciously comped us for all of the meals we had there. I guess the take-home lesson is "Check what you get on your plate and speak to management if you're not happy, but be nice about it."

Be aware that the only time most of the shops and restaurants near Holland House are open is when there are cruise ships in port. At other times, many local businesses are closed, especially in the evening. A good option for those times is the Hard Rock Cafe, less than 2 minutes' walk up the beach. It was open in the evenings even when there weren't any cruise ships around. It had large portions and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the beach side instead of the very noisy street side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glewbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We booked 2 nights at Holland House prior to transferring to Anguilla. I wanted a place right in Philipsburg for shopping and some place where my husband could just chill out with a beach view. This hotel had the perfect combination being downtown in the midst of the shops and on the boardwalk/beach with oceanfront lounge. After reading other reviews we booked a deluxe oceanfront room.
When our documents arrived from our travel agent, I noticed that the arrival/departure dates were incorrect. I called her the same day and she contacted the hotel rep who then made the change and faxed and mailed new confirmations (about a week out). Fortunately, I thought to get the name of the rep. from my agent.
Upon arrival by taxi ($18) from the airport at 9 pm we were told by Esther at reception that we had no reservation. I produced the documents and the name of the rep but was told no one worked there by that name, but that she "supposed she would have to give us a room." She told us that she could only give us a street front room on the 4th floor where remodeling was going on and we would be awakened at 8 am by construction. Of course we had to take it. She also said she couldn't guarantee that we could get moved to a different room for the next night. There was no apology:it was as if we had done something wrong. It also turned out to have 2 double beds instead of a king. Because my agent is a friend, I immediately called her at home and she got right on it the next morning. It turns out the rep is also on the island, so it is hard to imagine that her name was unknown despite her not working in the hotel itself.
We had been traveling since 8 am at that point so went down to Ocean Lounge for dinner. The chef provided a fabulous amuse bouche and my husband had tuna (B+) and I had the red snapper (very disappointing- an extremely thin fillet which seemed that it had been frozen). The service was fine throughout or time there. We experienced NONE of the problems mentioned previously regarding service staff.
We were awakened at 5:40 AM by the construction crew. Other than not being what we had paid for, the newly remodeled room was very nice with a balcony that overlooked a salt pond beyond the main shopping street.
The next AM when we came to the desk we anticipated having to explain our situation all over again. There we met Kezzy who was on the phone with the rep and knew all about what had taken place. (The rep told our agent she had sent over the correction by email a week prior and no one had read it, but we will never know what happened.) She gave us breakfast vouchers which started to turn the situation around.
I highly recommend breakfast there, just to have the almond croissants or the chocolate pastry (better than we had at Cap Juluca on Anguilla), even if that is all you have or if you share an entree. We loved the open air dining overlooking Great Bay.
I repacked our suitcase in anticipation of a different room and went off shopping and my husband stayed behind. Our room was changed to a spacious, superdeluxe ocean front room (one of 4 in the hotel). Our agent called and said that we were also to be given a dinner voucher. Instead, we were given another breakfast voucher, so we went off property for dinner. We felt very safe on the boardwalk and noted uniformed security presence. We came back and had a drink in the oceanfront outdoor lounge section and again experienced good service. My husband also had good bar/snack service during the day.
When we returned to our room at 9 pm we received a call from Esther in reception saying she was sending security up with a breakfast voucher. I explained that we already had one for the next am also, but that we had been told we were to receive a dinner voucher, so perhaps that was the confusion. She asked if we wanted a dinner voucher and I said we had already eaten. I suggested that we be credited for our previous night's dinner and she agreed to take $60 off of our bill. The next AM when our bill was slipped under the door the charge was not removed. I called to the desk and spoke to a gentleman who knew nothing about our situation. However, by the time we checked out a few hours later, Kezzy was there (so we felt better) and the gentleman had fixed our bill and all was well.
I feel as though the hotel made a genuine effort to correct an error and to compensate us and we appreciated their efforts. My advice would be to stay here but to reconfirm reservations and always get the name of the person you are speaking to and bring along documentation. Regarding the key fee, as long as you return the key, it is taken off.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in June. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean and everything worked and as others have said, nice views (ocean front rooms). Location is good. i agree that the bar and restaurant staff could be a bit more cordial, they're not bad but not really very welcoming. The food is definitely overpriced. go down the boardwalk to the Green House restaurant and bar - about a 5 minute walk - for very good food and drink at much better prices.

All in all a good stay, I'd go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £171 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing