We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER FANTASTIC STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ANOTHER FANTASTIC STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This is my second trip to the island and my second stay at the best Hotel on the island.MY husband and I enjoy the warmth of the staff,the amazing views and the spectacular room(we take an ocean view room which is worth the extra penny). Did I mention the blue waters and white sand which are only steps away from the hotel. Having lunch on the beach was a first and great experience. Another plus is the shopping on FRont street is only a few footsteps away from the lobby. The hotel is on the boardwalk which means there are restaurants everywhere and the food is excellent. I totally recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a private getaway on the island. The friendly,helpful and caring staff will take care of u. There is no need to leave once you have arrived!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    320
    61
    32
    20
See reviews for
84
426
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Beautiful, clean, neat European style hotel in the heart of St Maarten. The staff is personable, courteous and very helpful. I lead a group of 16 divers that was meeting the Caribbean Explorer dive boat in St Maarten. There were a couple of minor reservation issues; the staff quickly resolved the issue to everyone's satisfaction without being prompted. The Holland House was the perfect location for our short stay. Out the front door in either direction your in the shopping district of St Maarten. From the open air lounge and bar you are on the board walk along the beach with shops to the right and plenty of small local eateries and bars along the board walk. Chesterfield's a better restaurant is just a short walk away. The hotel restaurant is very good too. For a long stay this probably isn't where I'd want to be, but for a short stay it a great central location. One minor issue, there is only one small elevator which was a problem with a big group checking arriving at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Pat & I have stayed here on many trips and have never been disappointed - from the friendly greeting from Ester upon arrival, to the restaurant staff it was a wonderful 10 day celebration! We tend to look for the smaller hotels on our travels, and we keep coming back to this facility. The restaurant and ocean lounge area is inviting, breezy, show casing spectacular views and excellent dining experience. The beach & bay is just a few steps away, the beer is chilled, and did I mention the view? Francene or Lucia were there to greet us for breakfast, and Nathan spent some time in the foyer as we began our day. The hotel is on the Dutch side of the island, close to taxi's or the local bus, a short trip from the airport. You should check it out on your next visit ... a very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IaJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Holland House is very nice, clean, reasonably priced hotel. Located in downtown Philipsburg, it is within seconds of cruise-ship style shopping. The hotel is home to a waterfront bar and restaurant, which sit right on the shoreline. The hotel is especially quiet when there isn't a cruise ship in the port. Service was nice. There was a little mix up with our room booking. The staff dealt with the situation quickly and courteously and provided us with a complementary meal. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLZ_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel does not have a very good beach--many cruise passengers who do not explore the island will use this beach as it is closest to where the cruise ships leave the passengers. The best aspect of this hotel is it is where visitors will find jewelry and other stores. If you are looking for quality jewelry at a great price do shop downtown Phillipsburg. If your priority is a fabulous beach I would suggest staying on the French side of the island. Food is a good reason to go to St Maarten, but the best food is on the French side--I would recommend going to the town of Grand Case. There are at least thirty gourmet restaurants in Grand Case. Also no matter where you stay rent a car. Taxi rides are very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsaintmarteeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I visited Holland House for a Charity event called " Art Saves Lives", and even though I was only there for a short time, I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. The building and premises itself are clean and beautiful, and the decor is very inviting. For a hotel that is located in the heart of town, from the time you step onto the property, you feel as though you are in a beach front hotel, as the scenic beach view is breath taking. The staff was very accommodating and the food was delicious. Congrats to the managers for the consistent upkeep! Even though I was only there for a short time, Holland House has made such an impression, that I will stay there on my next trip to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed there three days on a business trip. The room was clean quite comfortable. Breakfast was decent and the restaurant/ocean lounge area is very nice and breezy and comfortable with the view of the bay. Good hang out spot if you are on vacation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SS-BIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, West Indies, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing