We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Friendly helpful people in a beautiful location. The perfect place to relax and just unwind on your own beach. I went in low season with my girlfriend and it was basically a private beach.

Many thanks to Tori, Esther and Chris for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Beach view room is fantastic. If available chose that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCAVersteeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBoetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Mr. Versteeg, Thank you very much for your nice comments about the hotel! It is very much appreciated by all of us. We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and the beach and we certainly hope to welcome you back! Kind regards, Holland House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    328
    64
    32
    21
See reviews for
88
443
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I had an amazing time at the Holland House. In the heart of Philipsburg on Front St., this hotel offers an amazing beach, very friendly, helpful staff, and delectable food and drink. The open air theme on the first floor creates a relaxing, seductive aura. We sat at the bar and extended lounge area many nights, enjoying the wide array of island cocktails while listening to the waves move in and out.

The hotel is right in the heart of the Philipsburg shopping center, located directly on Front street. The convenience of being able to walk to all the shops can't be understated, as the traffic in Philipsburg, even during the slow season, is fairly congested. Additionally, being able to walk to the casinos at night was nice as well. Although I have read reviews of Philiipsburg not being safe at night, I found nothing to support this claim.

Finally, the beach and cabana service were really nice too. Crystal waters with a Caribbean green hue, and a fairly fine sand grain. It is quickly apparent that of the hotels on this bay, the Holland House offers the best beach experience.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if possible. The balcony provided in every room is thrice as nice with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBoetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Clarence A, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor! Of course we very much appreciate your positive and kind words about the hotel. We will keep on improving where we can and look forward to hopefully be able to welcome you back at the hotel! With kind regards, Holland House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Holland House is in the middle of Philipsburg on the water on the Dutch side. We had a great view of the ocean. Rooms were decent size with good bathrooms and balcony was great. We dined and had drinks a couple of times as well. The area surrounding was safe enough, we didn't go out too much at night, but lots of shops and bars/restaurants. The only thing I can really say was a negative was mixed customer service. One bartender/bar-back was really nice and the other two were okay. The front desk was okay, they were always talking to each other as we approached but overall the service didn't affect our stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

a girlfriend and I were rudely greeted at lunch here. the waitress forgot to bring my beverage and when we asked for a cocktail menu she dropped it off for 2minutes then snatched it back up w/o taking our order. Is it something we did? the $18 sandwich we ordered was something out of a gas station fridge. the location is nicely situation on the boardwalk and the decor is modern but this is one if those places you have to pay $1 to use the restroom when in reality they should be paying you to even tolerate mediocre overpriced food w/ awful service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This is my second trip to the island and my second stay at the best Hotel on the island.MY husband and I enjoy the warmth of the staff,the amazing views and the spectacular room(we take an ocean view room which is worth the extra penny). Did I mention the blue waters and white sand which are only steps away from the hotel. Having lunch on the beach was a first and great experience. Another plus is the shopping on FRont street is only a few footsteps away from the lobby. The hotel is on the boardwalk which means there are restaurants everywhere and the food is excellent. I totally recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a private getaway on the island. The friendly,helpful and caring staff will take care of u. There is no need to leave once you have arrived!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Beautiful, clean, neat European style hotel in the heart of St Maarten. The staff is personable, courteous and very helpful. I lead a group of 16 divers that was meeting the Caribbean Explorer dive boat in St Maarten. There were a couple of minor reservation issues; the staff quickly resolved the issue to everyone's satisfaction without being prompted. The Holland House was the perfect location for our short stay. Out the front door in either direction your in the shopping district of St Maarten. From the open air lounge and bar you are on the board walk along the beach with shops to the right and plenty of small local eateries and bars along the board walk. Chesterfield's a better restaurant is just a short walk away. The hotel restaurant is very good too. For a long stay this probably isn't where I'd want to be, but for a short stay it a great central location. One minor issue, there is only one small elevator which was a problem with a big group checking arriving at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Pat & I have stayed here on many trips and have never been disappointed - from the friendly greeting from Ester upon arrival, to the restaurant staff it was a wonderful 10 day celebration! We tend to look for the smaller hotels on our travels, and we keep coming back to this facility. The restaurant and ocean lounge area is inviting, breezy, show casing spectacular views and excellent dining experience. The beach & bay is just a few steps away, the beer is chilled, and did I mention the view? Francene or Lucia were there to greet us for breakfast, and Nathan spent some time in the foyer as we began our day. The hotel is on the Dutch side of the island, close to taxi's or the local bus, a short trip from the airport. You should check it out on your next visit ... a very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IaJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,800 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing