We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is overpriced. it is a bit run down although the room was OK. Our key card didn't work and they couldn't fix it because the system was down. The staff did not seem overly concerned about this. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was told he wouldn't be in until Monday. We were leaving on Sunday. They finally were able to provide a working key but this was a great inconvenience. I would not stay there again. However, I have to say that it is in a great location; right in the middle of town but also right on the beach. A cab from the hotel to the cruise terminal is $7. From the airport to the hotel is $20.

Room Tip: Choose one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed at Holland House many times before, but it continues to get better each visit! From the rooms, to the beach staff, to the new beach and boardwalk bar, to the ever changing and advancing resturant menu and wine lists, this gem will not disappoint. There are only 52 rooms, so don't wait to book! Every member of the staff and management ( Paul, Robert , Kizzie, Jesse) will make you feel
part of the family! A must for your st Maarten trip plans!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethf686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This has everything I needed. Great in town location, plenty of restaurants nearby, right on a beach, and clean rooms. The staff took care of anything I asked for and I had a great breakfast each morning included with my room. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a beach view room which I can highly recommand. Room in a great shape staircase needs redecoration. Breakfast is good, dinner as well however expensive(as the island is in general) no pool but nice beach so we did not miss it. Restaurant and bar are situated directly on the beach, and bar staff was extremely friendly and effectiv. Town is very busy during The day (cruise ships), dead during night, and others said dangerous. We did not make negativ experienes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank all4witters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

During the dull Dutch wintermonth of December my wife and I love to travel to
a warm and sunny destination. This year's choice was St. Maarten. The HHBH appealed
to us because of it's location and the combination of city and beach.
We stayed at the hotel for over 2 weeks and had a great time. The staff was friendly, professional , accommodating and dedicated. The food was excellent and because of the duration of our stay we often were asked that if we would like something
beyond the regular menucard we just had to let the chef know. From the Hotel's central location
we toured the island, played some golf, visited St. Barth or just stayed close "at home " for
a lazy day on the beach. When we dined at the hotel we often finished our meal with
a cappucino and an after dinner drink ( for me ) at the bar. The moment we left our table
"my special " was already waiting for me on the counter.
We thank management and staff for making our stay at HHBH a most memorable en enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Holland House is about average for a Caribbean hotel and it does have some nice features. My lower rating is because I think it's way overpriced. I would give it a much better rating if the rates were reasonable. I think they either need to lower their rates or up their game to make their Hotel worth the cost.
Positives: breakfast is good, lots of food and variety; Service to the beach is very nice -- towel service, chairs and umbrellas complementary and very nice wait staff for drinks and food. Things they could improve: time to turn around rooms for check in is very slow -- either they need a better plan about which rooms to clean first, or change up the staffing -- it's just very slow - we had to wait until 4pm to get in to rooms (we got there at 10am and didn't expect to get in but after shopping and lunch we were tired - 4pm was too late- since they knew we were waiting, I couldn't figure out why they didn't do those rooms first); decor in the dining area is looking shabby- as were the cushons in the rooms; internet access is free but is VERY slow; mirrors should be added to the rooms (there are none outside of the bathroom).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulBoetekees, General Manager at Holland House Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Laura H, Of course we highly regret that you encountered a delay in checking in. Our official check in time is 15:00 so we do sincerely apologize for the delay. We fully understand that when you come in at 10:00 you would like to have your rooms early however since we are mostly fully booked, all rooms will have to go through a rigorous check out cleaning process and management inspection before they can be released for check in. I will certainly follow up with the housekeepers to see what can be done to improve this process and to safeguard a timely delivery especially for early arrivals. Please be assured that this matter does have our full attention. We do like to thank you for the nice comments about the staff in general and the service we provide. Kind regards, Paul Boetekees | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I spent New Year's Eve and 3 more additional nights in Jan '14 at this hotel. Located on the Frontstreet, with major shops at the doorstep of the hotel, HH's staff is great, dedicated, providing excellent service. Breakfast is great and is worth every penny. Location is great if one is taking a cruise ship or a ferry to St. Barths - walking distance. Highly recommend this hotel over others remotely located on the French side of the island. Dozens of taxis in front of the hotel with decent rates. If renting a car... watch out.. paper thin car doors are easily opened by "friends" who broke the car lock with a tool (not even a scratch to the paint) .. camera, cel and other things were taken out of the car, when visiting one of the many beaches on the French side on Jan 1st...
Great restaurants on the French side - better than ones at the casinos.

Room Tip: HH has 4 floors - we had issues of running water on the 4th floor. Maybe the demand for water was to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FabioSP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £164 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing