We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and supportive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location and supportive staff”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent four days in an ocean view room. Exquisite view from balcony, kingsize bed, large shower head and spectacular service from the staff made our stay superb. The location was perfect; we walked to restaurants and beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailorslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    323
    61
    32
    20
See reviews for
87
431
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We recently visited this hotel with a 1.5 year old toddler, and enjoyed our stay tremendously.
The best features of this hotel were: very modern, spacious, comfortable rooms with gorgeous views of the beach and cruise ships entering/leaving the port (King-bed suite), very convenient location if you wish to be in Philisburg (one side facing the Boardwalk - beach, restaurants, bars, other side facing the main duty-free shopping street), very nice breakfast (complimentary) & very nice restaurant (overall we found St. Maarten dining to be affordable compared to other Caribbean islands, ).
The only draw-back we experienced at the hotel itself, was that at times the front-desk was only staffed by one person, and there was no dedicated concierge/guest relations person, so if you had questions or needed recommendations about things to do, places to visit etc, you could end up waiting for a very long time while they attend to persons checking in/out. My husband and I actually had to wait for about 30 minutes one day to get some simple advice about activities to do. I also felt that the front-desk staff had limited knowledge about things to do on the island, which was disappointing, compared to other places we visited (Barbados, Curacao etc) where the hotel guest relations person was very instrumental in recommending & booking our various activities.
The other point to note is not specific to the hotel, but rather the location on the Boardwalk. As mentioned by others, it's a very odd place in that while the cruise ships are in, all stores & restaurants are open, but once the ships are gone most places are closed.....especially in the evenings. One night we walked the entire Boardwalk looking for a nice place to have dinner and only found 3 restaurants open...!!! This said, it is still a beautiful location, and nice for evening strolls even though it's a bit deserted.

Room Tip: We loved our ocean view, so if you don't mind spending a few extra dollars, I think it's wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTSP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent two days (one night) at the Holland House before boarding the Seabourn Spirit and we extremely impressed with the service, location and accommodations. We opted for a beach view which allowed us to see our ship come into port. As for the atrium bar, the appetizers were not only outstanding, but well presented. Our only disappointment was not adding additional days at the Holland before our cruise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsFeb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Can't think of one reason why I would not stay here again. Great shopping and food near by. For a group of 7 friends, it was the perfect kick-off night before our cruise. Would certainly do this again.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean, not that bad on city side when were there. It was just not the gorgeous breeze and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson,Az
Level Contributor
574 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had 18 hours in Phillipsburg before heading to Orient Bay so spent the night at Holland House. Very glad we did. At check in there was a glitch and it showed we had reserved a room w/ 2 small beds instead of the Q or K I thought. However, very friendly woman at front desk instead upgraded us to a suite. Great room with a view to the bay. Next, after seeing how far the car rentals were from the hotel (by the airport 20 minutes away w/ traffic) we went back to the front desk and she arraigned a rental from a local company down the street. Worked out great. Paid a little more but well worth the convenience.Orient Bay is in the other direction. We saved an hour plus and on return he drove us in rental to airport 5 days later, Had dinner at Ocean Lounge restaurant at hotel and it was a terrific dinner. Portions a little small for the apps (tiger shrimp and crab cakes). Lamp excellent and the Caesar salad plated in unusual manner. HH is right in the middle of shopping. We were able to have breakfast and beat the cruise ships crowds before getting our car. Would definitely stay again if the need ever arose. If coming from a ship you are 15 minutes from about anywhere on the island

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sccrref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here before boarding a cruise. Hotel is close to port, downtown shopping, and beach. Room is spacious and clean. Staff was very helpful and I was able to pre-order a birthday cake for my husband which was waiting in our room to make the trip special.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vepaw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

All of my visits to Holland House Beach Hotel have been enjoyable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fresh and clean. The reservation manager takes time to make certain each visit is enjoyable and easily booked.
The balcony rooms facing the ocean are exceptional.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms facing the ocean are quite enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clinician2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, West Indies, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing