We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Service at Holland House is great and the relaxing and charming setting along the beach front is great. After shopping on the streets directly behind the hotel/restaurant you can relax and enjoy the view and watch life pass you by. I had fantastic tuna for lunch and although service is excellent the staff need to watch the tables t ensure glasses remain full the entire time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great service, relaxed meal in a charming setting on the beachfront. A lovely shady spot with a choice of comfortable loungers. Not the cheapest restaurant along the boardwalk but maybe one of the most stylish. Let's see what the rat of St Maarten has to offer over the next two weeks....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Holland House Beach Resort last Thursday on our layover in St. Maarten (after staying in Saba) before heading back to the States on Friday. The Holland House was a diamond in the rough in Phillipsburg.

The hotel was very clean and modern. We had a beach-side room and really enjoyed the room and our deck looking out at the ocean. We had a very nice morning hanging out, drinking coffee just enjoying the ocean view.

After first trying to dine at Shear, but finding it closed, we ate dinner at the Ocean Lounge in the hotel, and it was outstanding. We did the Chef's Surprise, where the chef chose the courses after we eliminated a few things we don't like. It was fantastic. Service in the restaurant was top notch, and we had a wonderful evening looking at the beach.

The Rough part is the stretch of beach in Phillipsburg and the section of town that the hotel was situated in. We stayed there because we didn't want to trek to the other side of the island for a single night stay, but it was not a location that we really enjoyed, Close to where the cruise ships dock, the streets around the hotel are filled with jewel stores and t shirt shops and little else. The beach was lined with bad burger joints and bars with loud music pouring out of them. The beach was crowded and their were locals walking around asking the beach goers if they wanted a massage every ten minutes. The bar service from the hotel was top notch, Roy did a great job, but other than that we didn't find it to be a very relaxing beach. I think this was my fault, as I knew the cruise ships came in close to there, but it still was a pretty poor experience.

Finally, i'll be generous and call the service at the front desk when we arrived curt. She was not very helpful and was down right rude to us when we tried to check in early. However, other people win the hotel were polite, if not exactly downright friendly, so it may just been the bad luck on the first person we talked to. Overall, based on the rooms and the great Ocean Lounge, it still was a good place to stay if you find yourself forced to stay the night in Phillipsburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean facing room and really enjoyed the view from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This quaint hotel is simply wonderful - It's right in the heart of everything - Front St. -
Shopping, restaurants ,gambling - Steps away from the beach - Staff is wonderful especially
Luisanna thank you so so much for helping me.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

On a solo mission to relax and explore this was the perfect location. You can walk the streets of downtown to do some local shopping. The beach is just steps away from the hotel and area dedicated just for hotel visitors. Lots of restaurants to try if you don't opt for the hotels pricey menu. Try the BBC drink at the bar and tap into your free wifi.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed down the beach at a different resort but we ate at this restaurant twice it was so good. We ordered this Seafood Platter…. It was SSOOO good. Gotta try this restaurant if you are in St. Maarten

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few days before we went to anguilla , staff is super nice and rooms clean , food at the restaurant was very good especially the breakfast buffet , your steps from shopping if that's your thing , wifi worked awesome , tv channels were very limited if that matters to anyone

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gopens6687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £165 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing