We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Miami Style Hotel in the Carribean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed there 6 nights for the first leg of our honeymoon. Checking-in was effortless and the front desk staff was very friendly. After they found out that it was our honeymoon, the manager said "send them a champagne" and they did!

Our room was perfect, on the first floor, beach view, biggest terrace right above the hotel lounge. It was great hanging out there in the early evenings, listening to lounge music and enjoying a glass of wine, while looking at the picturesque bay.

Given that it was low season, there weren't many restaurant options in the evening, but it was OK because the hotel restaurant was outstanding. We ate there twice, and both times food and service were great. Also, the breakfast options were great as well, only wish there was more options on fruit.

Two of the days we were there, the cruise ships arrived and it was a bit of a mad house around lunch time, but that didn't stop us of enjoying the beautiful beach and our vacation.

We didn't rent a car until our second leg of the trip, because we were going to be at the French side at the island. On the Dutch side, where the hotel is located we didn't need it. The hotel's location is central and we walked to many places (including Divi Little Bay) and the cab ride to Simpson bay was $15.

We also arranged a couple of activities through the hotel (Anguilla Catamaran Snorkeling Cruise and Dinner Cruise), both were fantastic!

Overall: Fantastic, contemporary hotel, (folks were stopping to take pictures of it), boutique feeling, great service!

Side note: evening cab fare goes up in cost, after 10pm it becomes $20 and after 12am it becomes $25.

Wish list- fitness facility.

Room Tip: Ocean view, first floor, room 103, has the biggest balcony. Also rooms located on the first floor, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexiTnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having been at this hotel for the past 4 nights I am quite sad to leave tomorrow morning. While there was a bit of a rocky start and a longer than usual check in process I truly have enjoyed my stay here. The location is fantastic... Right on front street could not be better! The beach while not fantastic is visually breath taking and simply laying on the complimentary chairs is a treat of itself. The food has been consistently enjoyable and the service, while not always on point from the front desk staff has been great from the restaurant staff and housekeeping. I would definitely return to this comfortable room with one the best showers any weary traveller can ask for!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Carnicherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Holland House which is located in the middle of Front Street, the main shopping district of Phillipsburg; with the Boardwalk and the beach to the front of the hotel. So if you are looking to do a bit of shopping as well as relaxing at the beach the Holland House is ideal. We stayed here in May 2012 and were upgraded to the Penthouse Suite which was absolutely wonderful. This time around we were not so lucky since the hotel appeared to be quite busy. Even so, we were very satisfied with our modern, spacious and comfortable Deluxe Ocean View Room located on the 3rd floor. Check-in was efficient and quick.

The staff is generally friendly and helpful, especially Esther at the front desk and Roy at the Beach Bar. The ladies at the main bar and Roy were very attentive to our needs. The Beach Bar is a relatively new addition which provides excellent food and beverage service while you lay on comfortable lounge chairs at the beach. Roy provided superb and prompt service as he brought us delicious burgers, salads, sandwiches and drinks while we soaked up the warmth of the sun.

We have eaten at different restaurants in Phillipsburg but we are of the opinion that none are as good as the food prepared by the chefs at the Holland House. A large complimentary breakfast is provided which is an advantage if you are on a budget. After a day of shopping, swimming or business guests can relax with a cocktail and finger foods at the Ocean Lounge, or have dinner at the restaurant which both overlook the Boardwalk and the sea. The ambience is inviting and romantic as the sun goes down.
Cons: wifi strength needs to be improved; hotel does not have a pool, gym or spa.

We would recommend this hotel to travelers who don't mind the bustle of shoppers and cruise ship tourists who crowd the beach and Front Street when the cruise ships dock.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the upper floors give you panoramic views of the Boardwalk, Cruise Ship Harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were walking along the beach front and wanted to sit down at a nice, outdoor restaurant for a good mid-day meal. What a pleasurable experience. Quiet, relaxing, great place to people watch, and the service was superior! The food, was served quickly with exceptional quality. If you are looking for a place to take a vacation from your vacation, this is the ideal spot!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel the last two weeks everything was perfect.
The rooms are very nice at beach side.
Breakfast you can ask what you want and it will be served.
The guys at the beach Roy Jeffrey and Patrick does all the best they can do for you to enjoy your stay.
Restaurant has a great menu card in one word perfect.
We will come back to this Hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room at sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed at the Holland House for 2 years in a row in February. It's a lovely spot located right on the beach boardwalk in Philipsburg. They serve a buffet breakfast that while pricey, has a good selection of everything you might want to eat. The rooms are always clean, the staff is friendly and you can watch the cable if you're from New England like me and be glad you missed some of the cold weather and snow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glassrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Service at Holland House is great and the relaxing and charming setting along the beach front is great. After shopping on the streets directly behind the hotel/restaurant you can relax and enjoy the view and watch life pass you by. I had fantastic tuna for lunch and although service is excellent the staff need to watch the tables t ensure glasses remain full the entire time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £166 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing