We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One island, two countries, one great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had an awesome time at Holland House. Definitely worth the upgrade to a room with a view of the beach and boardwalk. Good food and drink, but slow service in the restaurant and bar in the evenings and yes we know all about island time. If only everyone was as efficient as Roy on the beach, fast and friendly service there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed there for 2 night on my trip to St. Maarten. The hotel is on one side facing the beach and the other side the front street with shops. the service is fantastic, staff are so friendly and help full, food is good and the rooms are clean. so if you go to St. Maartin don't bother to look for another hotel just simply book Holland House beach Hotel and your stay will be unforgettable. next time I go back to St. Maartin I will be staying there again and again.

Room Tip: I does not matter what room you have - the they each have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Julietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed a few days there, thought just to book a hotel near the pier, but that turned out to fall in love with the entire hotel, the signature drinks, the tasty food and the warmhearted staff.

A real catch,that's why we came back after 2 weeks sailing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okaloosa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Love the convenience! Rooms are great, service is awesome. Luciana planned our entire getaway and the staff is super helpful. My recommendation- get an aloe massage on the beach from Norma with the orange hat!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pm3292003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our two year wedding anniversary in St. Maarten. I think that it is important that readers understand what to expect if staying at the Holland House. There are both pros and cons to consider and I will try to evenly highlight both. First off, the Holland House is obviously not a five star hotel. If that is what you are expecting, stay elsewhere. I must admit, from reading the reviews, I expected much more from the basic ocean view room before I arrived. Me and my husband were disappointed when we arrived in our ocean view room. The room was rather small, a bit dated, and had a strange, unpleasant odor. We immediately called down to the front desk to see what could be done about the room. To our surprise, the management upgraded us to the Junior Suite. This room was sooooo much better. It smelled very clean and was very spacious. The balcony also offered a great view of the beach. I realize that this room is much more expensive than the others, but if you are staying at the Holland House and want a spacious, comfortable, and modern room, book the Junior Suite. The regular ocean view doesn't even compare. If you are ok with a small and dated looking room, try the street or ocean view. The Junior Suite has two televisions and an amazing ceiling fan that goes at such a high speed, sometimes a/c was not necessary. The only con to this room was that there was a strange sewage smell that came from the bathroom during the evening on two different occasions. The smell lasted for about half an hour each time, and eventually fully dissipated. This may have been due to some issue within the entire hotel, I am not sure. Overall, this was a very good room. I cannot stress enough, if you are picky about your living quarters, book the Junior Suite!! It is even more modern that the Penthouse Suite. We had an issue with our key during our stay and management offered to upgrade us again to the Penthouse. While it was very large and roomy, it was definitely more dated than the smaller Junior Suite, so we opted to stay in the Junior Suite.

The breakfast buffet was included in our booking and it was awesome. Along with the buffet, we were able to have the kitchen prepare another complimentary item each morning. We mostly asked for omelettes, and on one occasion we had french toast which was delicious. The area where you eat is very nice and offers a great view of the beach and board walk. Ceiling fans were on to keep the area cool. The eating and lounging areas are some of the nicest things about the hotel.

The people at the front desk were great about helping request a taxi for us whenever we needed to go out for a distance. They also sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne on the night of our anniversary, which was very nice.

All in all, staying in the Holland House is all about what you are expecting. Again, if you want a five star experience, you should probably look at the more expensive places on the island. If you are looking for comfort and great access to the beach, boardwalk, and Frontstreet, stay at the Holland House and request the Junior Suite.

Room Tip: I cannot stress enough, if you want to be comfortable book the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank candice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I would like to thank all of the staff and management for making my fiancé and I feel like a home away from home. The service is OUTSTANDING and the employees are amazing. Thank Roy at the bar, Keisha at the Resturant, and Luisanny at the Front Desk for amazing service. I also would like to thank the gentleman (can't remember his name) who made sure the lobby was cleaned. Housekeeping kept our room clean and said good morning/afternoon everyday. We will be back and recommend this Hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shacazia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I traveled end of June 2014 for business. I stayed at HHBH for 5 nights. The pictures from the web site represent well the Hotel. Beach Front, Near many shopping stores. A quick drive to almost anywhere on the island. My room was clean I had a ocean view (very nice). Near the cruise ships dock. So when ships are In, it brings a lot of people, but always have a place on the beach, since the Hotel have a reserved section with chairs & umbrellas for the Hotel Guest.

The Food is Amazing at the Hotel Restaurant, I try many things and they we're all good. I would definitely be back to HHBH.

You can also get service directly on the beach, they can serve you your drinks even meals.

Special Hello To Roy (Bartender) Orange Juice & Club Soda ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
760 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: £159 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing