We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I loved staying at the Holland House Beach Hotel in St. Maarten. It's perfectly located in the center of the best shopping area in Philipsburg and it's on the beach. The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and modern. (Try to get a room with a beach view.) The hotel also has a good restaurant and a nice bar in the lobby. I recommend arranging to have breakfast there daily during your stay.

The staff was friendly, but I owe the biggest and warmest thanks to Luisanny who works at the front desk. I was traveling alone and she went out of her way to help me plan activities, which included arranging transportation, and she periodically called to see how I was doing. She really cared. When I admired a pair of earrings that she had on, she went to the store, which was nearby, when I told her that they didn't have them. It turns out that they did and I am wearing them now. On the last night of my stay, she recommended a restaurant where I could order in. We both ordered and she offered to eat with me so that I wouldn't have to eat alone again. (Now, I wish that I could find those stuffed crabs here in New York City.) Thank you very much for everything Luisanny! You were a Godsend. :-)
I also want to thank the friendly staff in the restaurant who served breakfast and Georgina (I hope I have that name right. It may be Georgette), the hostess who greeted me when I had dinner there. Also, thank you to the housekeeping staff. They were very friendly and efficient.

I hope that I will have the opportunity to visit St. Maarten and stay at this hotel again and I will definitely recommend it to my friends. I will tell them to look for you Luisanny. :-)

Paulette B.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    323
    63
    32
    21
See reviews for
87
438
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Holland House on the beach at St Maarten - a wonderful place to stay - always a good choice! A Boutique Hotel - not your Westin or Samana, but definitely a GREAT place to stay when traveling to St Maarten for business or pleasure. Right on the beach on the Dutch side, walking distance to Front Street shops and restaurants. Ask for a room with an oceanfront view - you will love the cruise ships afar, the sunsets, the palm trees, the sailboats, etc. The staff have always been helpful and courteous - good food & drinks too!

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view room - totally worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location is Prime, The Food is Gourmet and the Restaurant Manager is of the Finest Caliber , The staff is very Helpful and Professional. The NEW Ocean Bar is Amazing with a great Bartender, Roy who made our beach service very pleasant. This is undoubtedly the best stay in St Maarten The room was comfortable and clean. We will definitely come back again to stay.
Quinn

Room Tip: Rooms with the ocean views are especially great as you are directly on the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had an awesome time at Holland House. Definitely worth the upgrade to a room with a view of the beach and boardwalk. Good food and drink, but slow service in the restaurant and bar in the evenings and yes we know all about island time. If only everyone was as efficient as Roy on the beach, fast and friendly service there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed there for 2 night on my trip to St. Maarten. The hotel is on one side facing the beach and the other side the front street with shops. the service is fantastic, staff are so friendly and help full, food is good and the rooms are clean. so if you go to St. Maartin don't bother to look for another hotel just simply book Holland House beach Hotel and your stay will be unforgettable. next time I go back to St. Maartin I will be staying there again and again.

Room Tip: I does not matter what room you have - the they each have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Esther, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed a few days there, thought just to book a hotel near the pier, but that turned out to fall in love with the entire hotel, the signature drinks, the tasty food and the warmhearted staff.

A real catch,that's why we came back after 2 weeks sailing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okaloosa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Love the convenience! Rooms are great, service is awesome. Luciana planned our entire getaway and the staff is super helpful. My recommendation- get an aloe massage on the beach from Norma with the orange hat!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pm3292003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, West Indies, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing