We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas on Great Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a week in Villa #1 over the Christmas holiday. The villa was as advertised ... clean, very nice decor, recently renovated, efficient air-conditioning, comfy beds, and facing the ocean. The owners were always quick to respond to any emailed queries prior to our stay. The supervisors, named Jim and Gina, were very helpful, no matter what the problem or question. The town of Philipsburg is a lot of fun to explore on foot, especially when the cruise ships are in. We rented a car and explored the rest of the island a bit. Lunch in any oceanside restaurant in Grand Case is particularly memorable. Also a visit to the beach by the airport is exciting when the big jets are taking off. We travel 2-3 times a year and try to go to different places rather than going back to the same place every year. In the Caribbean, we have previously visited Cuba, Jamaica, Mexico, Barbados, Bermuda, Bahamas, Puerto Rico, and Aruba. The Villa at St. Maarten is at the top of our list for the best accommodations that we have experienced in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello! First review of the year and again a satisfied guest! On behalf the owners and our managers let me thank you so much for your stunning words on our piece of paradise, we are all very proud you enjoyed the villas and their unique atmosphere. And of course, we wait for you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in villa #6 for the week of Christmas. What a nice place to stay. Away from all the congestion of staying in a resort. Only 12 Villas on the sight so its very quite. Jim and Gina manage the place and were so helpful. They really made it all happen for us. Great advice on places to eat and sights to see. I had read previous reviews about them before and wondered why everyone gave them such great reviews. Now i know. Our villa was 2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths. We took the front bedroom that overlooked the ocean and was great for watching the sun come up in the morning. We had a friend stay with us and she took the rear bedroom. It worked perfect for her because it was dark and allowed her to sleep in longer. The villa was fully equipped with everything you would need. Kitchen had lots of cooking supplies. Knives, utensils, tupperwear, pots, pans, glasses, mugs, etc. The facility is fully gated and secure with a security guy on site. Plus cameras throughout. As for the beach, we were only a few feet from walking out on the sand. But we spent most of our time by the pool. It was a nice bonus to our stay. Didn't think we needed a pool since we were traveling to a island, but it was nice to have. Short walk to the main Boardwalk of Phillipsburg. 2 small grocery stores are within 50 yards of the villas. limited selection of items, but we managed to find everything we needed for the week. They sold liquor in the stores and its not expensive. No need to drive around looking for liquor store or bringing your own. Its not expensive here. And beer is cheaper then water on the island. Larger grocery stores are a few blocks away. One note on prices in stores. We found the prices to be high. But then when we checked out at register we realized thats the local currency price. So in US dollars it was a lot cheaper. So it wasn't bad for groceries. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. No need for a rental car when staying here unless you want to go sight seeing. I recommend taking a taxi from airport and renting a car just for the days you want to go sightseeing. Jim and Gina can have the car delivered to your villa for no extra charge. My car was $70 for a day and we used it Christmas day when the island was slow. Honestly i wouldn't really want to drive around island on a normal day. Lots of traffic and no stop lights. So you really need to pay attention. We took Taxi or bus when needed. $20-$25 flat rate gets you around most places on island. They don't have a timer like the USA taxis. A bus is around $2-$4 dollars per person. Super safe taking bus and Taxi on island. I know this is a review of Villas. But i think the above items i talked about help in your stay. 3 must do's on your stay. Catamaran tour around island, Loterie farms zipline experience and take a bus or taxi to orient bay beach area and spend the day in the sun there. Bars and beach are different, but a must see.

Room Tip: If you have any questions ask Jim or Gina ahead of time. They are super helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hello Jesse, what a great review to receive before year end! On behalf Jim and Gina and all villas owners let me thank you for your kind words and for travel tips you left for upcoming new guests. Of course, we can't wait to have you again as preferred guest at our little piece of caribbean paradise! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in Villa 1. It is totally awesome. 85 degrees everyday and it's like being home, but much better. There is no stress only relaxation. The villa has the ocean camp type decoration, two bedrooms, 1 1/2 bathrooms, outside deck, a lanai outside the livingroom, an unbelievable view, and you can watch the cruise ships come in every morning. Its like being in heaven. If you come here once, you'll be hooked and want to come again and again. Jim & Gina the property managers will assist you in any way they can. You feel so spoiled. The owners of the villa are fantastic people to deal with. Any question you have they'll e-mail you back a.s.a.p. If you try this you will never want to go anywhere else
Paul & Linda Bouffard

Room Tip: Try the bus service. You can get to Maho for $2 per person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulbouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Hello Paul & Linda! We're so proud you had a great vacation at the villas. As other guests you got the point, no stress just relaxation. This is our concept of your "home away from home", just settled in a caribbean environment. On behalf owners and management let me thank your for your nice review and of course we wait for you again at the villas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Four of us shared a 2 bedroom Villa On Great Bay and loved it.Villa #2 is newly renovated and the views are beautiful.Spacious,comfortable,clean,safe and close to everything you could want in St.Maarten.The managers Jim&Gina were very accomodating and did fantastic job - Thank you guys!They keep the place real clean and the garden is beautiful.I would highly recommend Villas On Great Bay.It is nice place to stay.
Peter&Alina from Toronto,Canada
Kris&Mateusz Canada and Poland

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Peter, thank you so much! You got the key, we are exactly "home away from home"! We appreciate your words and can't wait to have you again at the villas. Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent two weeks in Villa #9 and are already planning when we can get back. The villa is spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The views are AMAZING! We spent hours sitting on the lanai watching the ocean. Villa #9 has a beautiful garden area which constantly has a nice breeze making cooking dinner on the grille very enjoyable. Stargazing off the upstairs deck was another favorite spot for us. The grounds around the Villa's are well maintained and the landscaping is very pretty. The pool area is very spacious and a nice way to both start and end your day. We spent a lot of time around the pool talking with the guests and owners of the other villas. Everyone is so friendly!
We did not rent a car and had no problems getting around either by using the local bus or a taxi. There is a grocery store just around the corner that will carry your stuff back for you if you need help. Just a short walk down the beach to the boardwalk where you will find plenty of shops and restaurants.
Property managers Jim and Gina do an outstanding job! On top of keeping everything ship-shape they always had time to answer any questions we had or just to stop and chat. They really made us feel at home.
I highly recommend the Villas on Great Bay!
Tom & Candy

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cotton32563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Candy and Tom,
we really appreciate your wonderful review! On behalf Jim & Gina and all owners let me thank you very much, we do our best to let guests feel at "home away from home" and your words give a special meaning to our efforts. We wait for your next caribbean escape in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was perhaps one of the best holidays we've ever had!
Thanks to Gina and Jim, we really felt we'd arrived in paradise. Our apartment was furnished well, in good repair and had everything you could ever need for such a great holiday.
The atmosphere is one of perpetual relaxation, and we spent many happy hours chatting with our hosts, and other guests, sharing cocktails round the pool!
Both Gina and Jim worked hard to ensure we had everything we needed, from restaurant recommendations to calling cabs, and still had time to stop and talk!
We had admired the Villas during a brief visit last year, and were determined to return, but had no idea how good it would be. We are already planning when our next visit could be!
I cannot recommend the Villas highly enough - if you are considering St Maarten then you could find no better place than here.
Thanks for a great time, Gina and Jim.
We'll be back!
Sharon and Gordon

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon_Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hello Sharon and Gordon!
On behalf Jim and Gina and all the villas owners I would like to thank you very much for your review. As many other satisfied guests you helped our caribbean dream to grow in reputation and popularity. We're #1 (of 44) among other accomodations in the entire island of Sxm and we work hard to mantain our top ranking. We wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were lucky enough to find Villa #2 of the Villas on Great Bay and can't wait to go back! it was a perfect location, as comfortable and well-stocked as staying with family, and Doug and Jim both were excellent with communication before, during, and after our stay. and did I mention the pool? and the beach?!?
we traveled to St. Martin from NYC this past May with our 3 year old and my parents. All of us fell in love with the island and the Villas. it was nice to stay in a house rather than in a fancy hotel when traveling with a little guy - much cheaper and more convenient to make breakfasts at home, etc. Villa #2 honestly had everything you could ever need - every detail, from beach bags to coolers, to coffee -was all there waiting for us. our vacation the year before was at a Club Med designed for families and I can definitely say that this vacation was much more fun and relaxing. we were able to walk right outside our door to the beach and the pool (which was key with a fickle toddler, we could take short trips and come back easily)and it was a short walk to shops and fun stuff in phillpsburgh. we enjoyed feeling more part of the island and really getting to experience it rather than being locked up in a resort. several of the neighbors were owners who stay long term and they also were very friendly and welcoming and gave us some good tips re- restaurants etc.
i would caution that while it was a fantastic spot for a 3 year old, it may not be great for a younger baby - the pool is for potty-trained kids only and the villa itself has a few features that might be dangerous for a very young child, specifically the stairs which have a dramatic opening and no gate or wall or anything on the 2nd floor. i can see a mom of a younger child worrying about that the whole vacation. but for older kids it's great. there is even a collection of sand and beach toys so you wouldn't have to waste suitcase space on those.
We loved everything about it - it was convenient for trips to other beaches but we spent a lot of time just relaxing and enjoying the villas! highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hello Katie, thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. We are proud to add new satisfied guests on our list: another family who enjoyed one of our villas and felt to be like at "home" away from home. We can't wait to have you again as our preferred guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
262 reviews
2.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on Great Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on Great Bay

Address: Front Street 211, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: £259 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas on Great Bay are located on Great Bay Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Philipsburg, the Dutch capital of St. Maarten, and about 20 minutes’ drive from the island airport. Within easy walking distance you’ll find restaurants, world class duty-free shopping, casinos and nightlife, and the lively boardwalk.We are a small, gated property with a security guard on duty throughout the night, and an on-site property manager to ensure your vacation is hassle-free. Each of our villas is privately owned, but each has the same basic layout – two bedrooms upstairs (some with ensuite bathrooms) and 1½ to 2½ bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, and each comes supplied with linens, including beach towels. Our nine beachfront villas have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, while the remaining two overlook our tropical gardens.We know how to make your visit to our beautiful island everything you’ve hoped for and expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villas on Great Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas On Great Bay Hotel Philipsburg
Villas On Great Bay St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing