We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for the buck.”
Review of Vista Al Puerto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista Al Puerto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here through our vacation club last March. No, this is not a luxury resort. It was clean and well kept. The pool is small and intimate. The view is great.
Carlos and Jackie were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. Rent the beach chairs from Carlos and find your own patch of paradise on a quiet beach, and there are many.
You really need a rent-a-car if you stay here. It's out of the way on the other side of the ship docks.
If quiet and peaceful is more your taste than someone tap dancing in the unit upstairs at 4AM or whatever next door than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Vista Al Puerto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Last minute trip to the Island to meet with family. Family was in Maho Beach so we were too far away. Made for a lot of commuting. Great view and awesome porch on our 1 bedroom unit but otherwise was disappointed with the accommodations. There were 4 of us. 2 couples. We arrived mid afternoon. There was no warm greeting from Carlos ( our room was still being cleaned ) no welcome drink. The area around the pool was still not completed and while beautiful - it is not a swimming pool. The bathroom and shower in our unit was moldy and mid week linen charge we were told came with a fee. The kitchen was poorly equipped. Luckily we never cooked a meal there. While there were glasses, There was not 4 plates, not 4 sets of silverware .... Carlos was somewhat helpful in setting up a fishing trip and making local recommendations, but often difficult to find. The wifi was not working well which made keeping in touch with our business back home quite difficult. We will definitely go back to the island, but will plan better and stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I traveled to St. Maarten for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We were first time visitors to the island and had no real idea of what to expect. We got much more than we bargained for. We received kindness, laughter, fun and beauty just to name a few things, and this was all before leaving our unit. Vista Al Puerto is not on a beach, now having said that, it is located cliff side with the most majestic views. If being "in the hustle and bustle" is what you're looking for, this is not your place. But if having beautiful views in a relaxing environment works. Vista Al Puerto nails it. Carlos & Jackie were phenomenal! They were gracious in not only answering my questions prior to our arrival, but continued to provide expert advise about the island, even referring us to the perfect dive company. Every need was addressed and then some, and let me tell ya, I'm not the easiest person to please. I spoke with Carlos upon our arrival on the island and we were greeted by him in person the minute we pulled in the lot. I found Vista Al Puerto charming, restful and lovely. It reminded me of a quaint Spanish hacienda. The infinity style pool that also overlooks the sea far below is such a stylish, artistic addition to the property. We drove the island several times over and never once saw the prison another reviewer referred to. While we knew of its existence, it is not a neighboring property of Vista Al Puerto. I would say estimate a 5-7 minute drive down the hillside to Phillipsburg, so be aware that a car is essential. But I believe a car is necessary anywhere on the island. St. Maarten is not a large island, and many properties are located quite close together in rather tight spaces. That is something I really liked about Vista Al Puerto, the provincial setting, the rustic feeling I got. It was nice being in a small complex that allowed me to be able to be myself and not have to worry that I might disturb a group of people. That's not what we were looking for here. First and foremost, we wanted a gorgeous view and we got a view that is untouchable by any "resort style property" on the island. And the bonus were Carlos & Jackie. 2 very dear people who made sure we were comfortable and content. Carlos & Jackie are the most gracious hosts and Vista Al Puerto was a delightful property with absolutely stunning views from virtually anywhere on site. As long as you are aware of the location of the property, Vista Al Puerto will not disappoint. I will be referring friends & colleges.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Carlos the owner lacks professionalism and does not run his hospitality business as someone who cares about his guest. When I arrived at the villa I had to wait 25 minutes for someone to awake Carlos. His response was, he fell asleep so he didn't hear the 6 telephone calls made to the office phone. I informed Carlos of my arrival time and had expected that I would be greeted as indicated in my Welcome Packet. After expressing my displeasure at having to wait 25 minutes for him to be awakened and I don't feel comfortable to continue with my reservation, Carlos response was, " if you don't want to stay, I can go back to sleep; it's all good".

The taxi driver was in complete shock at our experience with Carlos the owner of Vista Al Puerto, and said that he will file a complaint with St. Maarten Tourism Board and while I am here in St. Maarten, I too will file a complaint wit the Tourism board.

The location of Vista Al Puerto is not great and it neighbors a prison. The compound looks like a construction site, no signs indicating the name of the business and no sign for the office. Thankfully our driver got out and asked for who and where is the owner. It is too removed from a beach, and very secluded, maybe that's why the prison is located in the same area.

Room Tip: Location of Villa is appears unsafe and Carlos the owners lacks professionalism.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Giana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arun j, Owner at Vista Al Puerto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Just to clarify, Carlos is NOT the owner, I am. Carlos is a full time concierge who lives on site at Vista Al Puerto, him and his partner Jackie are here to help all our guests get the most out of their vacation experience and enjoy St. Maarten to the fullest.

Its unfortunate that this guest had an unpleasant experience when they arrived at our property, I can appreciate their frustration... In NO WAY do I approve of Carlos's actions that evening, but I know him well enough to know that he is extremely service oriented... Carlos is normally outside waiting with a cold drink to welcome our guests for check in... it is my understanding in this case their expected arrival time to the property was suppose to be 7pm, but in fact they did not arrive at the property until after 10pm... Carlos dozed off while he was waiting for them...

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that was experienced by this guest, but in no way is it an accurate reflection of our operation or level of service that our guests experience while staying with us. We are a boutique operation with only 7 suites - all with ocean views - and we pride ourselves on offering a very personalized experience... Carlos normally contacts all guest days before arrival so that he can get an understanding of their expectations and offer some helpful suggestions as to how they can best enjoy their vacation here in Sunny St. Maarten!

I take this negative review very seriously and have spoken with Carlos to ensure something like this never occurs at our property again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jorge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.7 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
464 reviews
3.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.6 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Al Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Al Puerto

Address: Mountain Dove Road 22 | Point Blanche, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Vista Al Puerto St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing