We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious setting with personalized service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gracious setting with personalized service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Warning: I'm really tired of the resort hotels with thousands of guests all trying to do the same thing at the same time.
If you're still with me, then you should consider this hotel.
First, the view. Though neither of us are sailors, my husband became very interested in watching the bay action from our balcony. Marigot Bay is shallow, so no cruise ships, no crowds, just lovely sailboats and yachts anchored in the bay or going out to sea. The shoreline is barely 20 feet from the hotel, bringing the sound of surf all night.
Second, it's a walking location. Some of Marigot's best restaurants and shops front the Marina port la Royale which is 2 blocks away. A block in the other direction is a large (for the island) grocery store. The market in downtown Marigot is just a walk along the shore. The bus goes by all the time but there's also plenty of off-street parking. The hotel's beach with sandy shore always had plenty of open lounge chairs, not to mention the tanning on the dock extended into the bay. (see photo.) Also plenty of chairs by the pool and cushy wicker chairs facing the bay, one of our favorite places because of the nice breeze. There's a hotel lending library with books in 6 languages.
The rooms are ample, with a mini refrigerator, desk, armoire, and tiled bath. Nothing exotic; it's an older hotel but not built cheaply. It has good bones and it's quite clean. The air conditioning could chill a ballroom but is easily controlled with a remote and is silent. Most of the time we just opened the patio doors.
I liked the buffet breakfast that was provided with the room: no checking badges or scrambling for a restaurant reservation, just an oceanside space with courteous staff and a menu that's clearly meant to cover the preferences of their guests. Traditional sliced cheese/meat/yogurt for the Europeans; eggs bacon sausage and potatoes for the Americans/English; cereals, fresh breads, pastry, coffee, juice and a big fresh fruit spread.
Most evenings there was an musician in the main area but we didn't stay around much; there's lots to see in Marigot. There's also a big lobster buffet on Fridays at the hotel but we didn't go. Thursday night at the Marina Royale was a festival with live music, performers and crafts, plus the shops stayed open during the evening. There's a similar event on Tuesday evenings in Grand Case.
The staff spoke English and those at the lobby bar were thoughtful and informative, offering ideas about the area as well as attentive service. Ask for the crushed ice lemonade--non alcoholic but refreshing.
We made the trip to Orient Bay a couple times and drove through the hotels, villas and condos built in that area; we concluded that we made the right choice for our interests.

Room Tip: All Oceanfront rooms are great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    244
    106
    36
    22
See reviews for
52
263
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We went for our 30TH ANNIVERSARY and were very happy with hotel and area.
We arrived at night and were checked in right away to a clean and functional room. We were given a free drink at the bar and had a look around what a view from the wrap around deck. just beautiful. The breakfast buffet was good offering most breakfast items and over the two weeks we tried them all. The fresh buns were great with an expresso while we watched the sailboats and ships on the veranda.The restaurant was great at making sure everything was continually being replenished.The view was breathtaking and although their beach wasn't big it was okay and they also had a huge sunning deck if the beach wasn't your thing.The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English which was great for us. Elodie was especially wonderful from her genuine sweet manner to her greetings and going that extra to ensure us a great stay. The town of Marigot was beautiful to its quaint little shops and great restaurants. Everyone was so friendly and outgoing giving us travel tips and ideas to help us make the most of our stay. The hotel is situated near everything within a 5-10 min walk and has an incredible view. We would like to thank everyone for our great holiday and will definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We did overlook parking lot but being on the third floor all we noticed was the marina, just beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberly1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a lovely older hotel. It is not a resort.
1. We had a luxe island view room, with what I considered a nice view over the lagoon. No road noise at night. Room was very clean. Flat screen tv with CNN being the only English speaking station, however we were in a French speaking country, so we really didn't expect any more. We were given a room "key", and I'm quite sure that if you didn't want to carry it with you when going out, you could leave it at the reception desk.
2. Reception staff were marvellous. Could not have been more helpful.
3. Breakfast provided was great. About four different cheeses, scrambled eggs, pancakes, bagels, English muffins, French bread, toast, a huge fresh platter of fruit, bacon, sausage, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fancy coffees, tea, juices - and probably I've missed a few things.
4. The beach is small, but very nice. Lots of lounging chairs provided. A great place for a swim after spending the day exploring the island. Beach towels provided.
5. We ate dinner in the restaurant once. It was fine. The restaurants at the Marina Royale were more to our liking. Just a quick walk from the hotel.
6. There is a Simply Grocery store within a 3 minute walk where you can buy beer, wine,water, fresh made sandwiches etc. In the other direction fron the hotel there is a pizza shop that was great for a "stay in the room" .
This is a nice quiet hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place away from the crowds.
Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraCampbellRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have stayed here four years now we were told that they were renovating. The only thing changed is main lobby painted,and new chairs in dining area. The rooms are still the same except we had a flat screen tv but still no more channels and only one English that being cnn.towels are now one for the whole stay or they charge a euro per towel to exchange each time. Breakfast is included but nothing exciting they now charge for fried eggs or omlet 4$ . I. Recommend walking to nearby grocery store and getting pop and water for much more reasonable and put in room fridge. All I can say is they need to learn what renovations really are and do some soon as there looking tired.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsandlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

You can't beat the beach front location, lap pool and quick pedestrian access to charming French side, Marigot.
Our room, 268, had anew pedestal sink and the tub/shower now have new hand held shower equipment. The staff are wonderful and the breakfasts (included) were very good. I appreciated the homemade French bread, pastries and the two Illy Expresso machines.
Much prefer the old world charm of Marigot and the scale of this hotel to the Westin in Phillipsburgh.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here about three years ago and it was okay. Fast forward three years to a December 2013 visit and it was beyond horrible. Old, outdated, and just plain bad. We arrived and the front desk person called up to the maid to see if our room was ready. She said yes. So we hauled our bags up three flights of stairs as the elevator was busy and when we get there, the maid was just going into the room to make it up. So we had to haul our bags down three flights again. The front desk person told us she hates when the maids do that to her. Clearly it was a pattern.

We went out for lunch and came back. The room was horribly old and outdated. We asked about the lobster buffet dinner they used to have on Friday nights and they said they no longer had it. There seemed to be no plan about whether the restaurant was open for dinner or not. I went to the room and around 7:30 p.m. my husband (who was in the lobby with his sister and brother in law) came back and said the restaurant was starting to open for dinner. I skipped it.

The next morning we took showers but after I was done, the water handle wouldn't turn off and the water kept running. We called the front desk and their solution was to just turn off ALL water to our room versus bring in pliers and just trying to turn off the handle as clearly the faucet handle had been stripped. So how were we to wash our hands or go to the bathroom?

Breakfast was beyond disgusting. The eggs were bad. The coffee pots were foaming which meant that they had washed them with soap and didn't rinse them out well so the soap foamed up the coffee. There was nothing to eat there that was any good. I had nothing.

When we were trying to check out, my husband got in the elevator with his bag and the doors closed so fast, I couldn't get in with him. I figured I would just wait until it came back up. It didn't! He was stuck in the elevator. He pressed the "alarm" button and I could hear a phone ringing at the front desk but they couldn't bother to answer it and no one came to help him. He pried the doors open like Bruce Willis in Die Hard and got out!

This hotel needs a bad renovation. Its workers are disinterested and they just shouldn't be open for business. The locals in St. Maarten seem to like it but if you are from off the island, don't bother.

Room Tip: Don't pick any room! Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingGal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marigot hotels

Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
209 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked it at a prime rate date. New Years! Big mistake!!! Hotel staff was so hostile upon our arrival we kept wondering if this place was the actual correctional service in the island.
Rooms are very, very old and outdated. Bathroom is rusty and 17th century style. Water in the shower was weak.
Internet didn`t work and we were handed out a mobile modem which didn`t even turned on. I do have to say that breakfast was really good, but as we found out later every place offer super good breakfast! It is a hotel worth $79 rather than $300 a night

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
5.1 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Property: Le Beach Hotel
Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing