We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
104
250
107
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
250
107
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewmarigot bayair transatminute walkgrand casenoisy roadbuffet breakfaststreet sidefort louisthe hotel offerssmall fridgevacation packageice machinelocal busesdesk staffsint maartenclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our 2nd time to St. Martin. First time we stayed on the Dutch side, Simpson Bay, loved it.

I was a little apprehensive, trying another place, but we were not disappointed. I loved Beach Plaza from the moment we drove up. It has a distinctly French vibe and the architecture is just part of this.

We stayed in an oceanfront room, 3rd floor. What views. We loved sitting on our balcony looking at all the boats that were anchored right out front our door.

All staff were very pleasant. English is our first and only language, but at no time did we feel uncomfortable. Always helpful when we had a navigation question.

The beach is smaller, but that was of no concern to us. Usually just a few people there at one time and same for the pool, which we used more often. You are so close to the water in these oceanfront rooms, that even with doors shut at night we could hear the waves....awesome.

We thought the included breakfast was very good. Typical, coffee, cappuccinos, expresso, several kinds of juices, bagels, English muffins, toast, different selection of fruit breads, assorted jams. Did not see peanut butter, for any who must have :). Pancakes, crepes, hash browns, bacon, sausage, yogurt, cereals. Many lovely fruits. Bananas, kiwi, pineapple, melon. Cheeses and some cold meats. Once we were seated we were served a small basket of sweet buns & croissants! We also took part in the Lobster Buffet. There was a very good selection of seafood.

Location is walking distance to Port Royale, which we did several times for lunch and dinner. Had excellent food at Le Croissanterie, Tropicana and Le Galion.

We again rented a car. Best way to see the island.

If cookie cutter, brand name hotel is your thing, perhaps not the hotel for you. But for us, it is now our new favourite and we are definitely going to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NannyofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our first time over at St Maarten Beach Plaza. We were traveling with a group that has consistently stayed here over the years. When we first got here i was actually kind of put off. This is not your 4 star or 5 star hotel. But as we parked our cars and made our way in to the hotel my thoughts were changed. The front Desk was awesome. They upgraded us from Island to Ocean rooms. One couple in the group actually got a suite ( just a large corner room ) Gave us free drinks upon check in. The Veiws from the balcony room we had was impressive. To see the boats out on the water .. see the marina.. yes it was worth it. This may not be the luxury hotel people are looking for but it was a great hotel with great staff. Everyone was very helpful and very polite. Breakfast is complimentary, and its a pretty good choice of eggs pancakes fruit bacon NUTELLA . Ok so my only complaint here is the coffee is well ITs not my Keurig. They consider a long coffee AMERICAN COFFEE.. its really a expresso and i have to add warm milk. I will tell you make sure you bring you converter for your iPhones and Hairdryers. But if you forget you can always ask the front desk for them. We had a car so we drove all over the island. Who ever said there was not good food they are RIDICULOUS. apparently they didnt go over to the Marigot Marina. The restaurants are fantastic. We happen to dine at Le Galion and let me say this My husband is a chef and he was in food coma. Rent a car and get out on go around the french side. Grand Case has great restaurants and hands down the best BBQ .(go on tues night ) Over all we love the Island Beach Plaza.. we had a great time at the CARNIVALE and the Regatta Races and were going back !

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony rooms, The island Veiw is parking lot.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanymph68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first floor room was comfortable, bright, clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Marigot. It contained a small refrigerator and a television that got about 6 channels, all in French but CNN, in English. There were ice machines on all the floors but only the one on the third floor actually worked. The exercise room was furnished with just 3 machines and a television. The water temperature in the shower was inconsistent, mostly lukewarm. The pool was small and didn't appear to be heavily used. The small beach was furnished with plenty of loungers for sunbathing; as was the sundeck. The water was gorgeous, crystal clear and pleasant for swimming. The breakfast was included in the room rate and first rate. It included a table of fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, pancakes, cereals, juices,an array of coffees and teas and a table of breads. The croissants served at our table are delicious. There was a piano bar for entertainment. Missed the lobster buffet which was served on Friday nights. The charge was 49 euros per person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulu5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is dated, but has class and elegance, without the snootiness of class distinction that make me feel like a fish out of water. The front desk staff was very helpful with all the questions we had at the beginning of our stay. Everyone greeted us as they passed in the hallways, right down to the chambermaids loaded down with cleaning carts. The breakfast buffet, included in the very reasonable price of the room, had everything you might want for breakfast. I could have sat on the covered veranda overlooking the beach all day, listening to the surf and cooling off in the ocean breeze. The air-conditioning with our own remote control was a nice touch. It was a short walk to downtown Marigot and from there, an easy bus-ride to either Phillipsburg, or on to another bus going to Simpson Bay from the Kruithof Round-about. All in all, a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a beach-side room so you can enjoy the marvellous view, although the street-side had its up-side when the parade went by on the street below, and being on the shady side made the really hot time of the day tolerable.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We left Anguilla on a Saturday to head back up to the snow and cold when the hated United Airlines left us hanging for an entire day only to tell us at 8:00 p.m. that there would be no flight today and they would arrange to put us up in a hotel. Five years ago American Airlines did the same thing and put us up in some faded Soviet Era looking dive that was sketchy, reeked from cigarettes, and had inedible food. That's why they had rooms in high season when all the highly rated places were booked. So imagine our expectations.

They bused about 15 couples and the staff were waiting to process everyone at once which they did so expeditiously and with good humor. They had already told their restaurant to stay open later and they served everyone from the plane. Again, the restaurant staff although a little short handed was wonderful. After that, to the bar with Tony the bartender from France. He turned a lousy day into a great ending. Next morning the front desk staff were helpful and patient with the arrangements to get us back to the airport. And yes, they had a buffet breakfast. We were not charged for dinner or breakfast.

The hotel is an older 3 part structure that sits right on Marigot bay. The entire first floor common areas including restaurant and pool are completely open to the million dollar view. The hotel is in the middle of restorations. All the furniture in our room was new, as were the glass windows and doors. The bathroom was still "tre retro" as was the little 13" cathode ray tube TV. But you don't come to stay in your room.

Instead of spending a fortune on a hotel on the beach, stay here, rent a car, hang out in the evening watching the sunset. You're walking distance from loads of great restaurants. And the "Simply" grocery store on the next block has more french cheeses and charcuterie and breads than any other mainstream store on the island!

And just so you know, 2 other groups of passengers went to 2 other hotels and had less than happy experiences. So HBP is special. Thanks, again and a well deserved 5 stars to you.

Room Tip: Face the harbor!!!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews